pexels-ekaterina-bolovtsova-6077861

Criminal due diligence

The economic world is increasingly subjected to detailed regulations in various fields, the violations of which are subject to criminal sanctions. As a result, companies and their directors and appointees run criminal risks on a daily basis, often without realising it. These risks can manifest themselves through weaknesses in company law structures, applicable policies, communication channels and/or supervisory mechanisms, among other things. The sanctions imposed can then affect both the company (reputational damage and depreciation) and individuals (fines and even (suspended) imprisonment).

So that companies and their directors are aware of these risks and can mitigate them - sometimes through relatively simple adjustments to their structure or policy - VSA offers criminal due diligence, providing tailor-made advice. This involves, on the one hand, clearly identifying and evaluating the possible risk factors specific to the activities of the company concerned and, on the other, making recommendations regarding possible risk-management measures and their implementation.

If it ever comes to the point where the company and/or its directors have to answer to the criminal court, the criminal court will attach importance to the extent to which the company has taken preventive measures as part of (criminal) risk management. Contact us for more information on this.

Our specialists

en_GBEN

pexels-ekaterina-bolovtsova-6077861

Diligence raisonnable en matière pénale

Le monde économique est de plus en plus soumis à des réglementations détaillées dans divers domaines, dont les violations sont passibles de sanctions pénales. Par conséquent, les entreprises, leurs dirigeants et les personnes qu'elles désignent courent quotidiennement des risques criminels, souvent sans s'en rendre compte. Ces risques peuvent se manifester par des faiblesses dans les structures du droit des sociétés, les politiques applicables, les canaux de communication et/ou les mécanismes de surveillance, entre autres. Les sanctions imposées peuvent alors toucher aussi bien l'entreprise (atteinte à la réputation et dépréciation) que les individus (amendes, voire emprisonnement (avec sursis)).

Pour que les entreprises et leurs dirigeants soient conscients de ces risques et puissent les atténuer - parfois par des ajustements relativement simples de leur structure ou de leur politique - VSA propose un contrôle préalable en matière pénale, en fournissant des conseils sur mesure. Il s'agit, d'une part, d'identifier clairement et d'évaluer les éventuels facteurs de risque spécifiques aux activités de l'entreprise concernée et, d'autre part, de formuler des recommandations concernant les éventuelles mesures de gestion des risques et leur mise en œuvre.

Si l'entreprise et/ou ses dirigeants doivent un jour répondre devant le tribunal pénal, ce dernier attachera de l'importance à la mesure dans laquelle l'entreprise a pris des mesures préventives dans le cadre de la gestion du risque (pénal). Nous contacter pour plus d'informations à ce sujet.

Nos spécialistes

fr_BEFR