chan-lin-nvcOabDz3tc-unsplash_.width-1920.jpegquality-75

Criminal law

Walter Van Steenbrugge and Christine Mussche managed to build a strong reputation together as criminal lawyers. Their complementary approach influences the work of the team of lawyers that populate the punishment cell. In their assistance to both victims and perpetrators, these lawyers take the utmost care.

The team of lawyers around partners Walter Van Steenbrugge and Christine Mussche defends perpetrators and victims and/or their relatives with an open mind. To their legal knowledge they add the benefit of other areas of expertise, including neurology, psychiatry, psychology and sociology, and they work together with traffic experts, toxicologists, medical specialists and accountants.

To clear away one preconception right at the start, this unit does not only deal with murder cases before the criminal court in which life imprisonment is at stake: our firm is just as passionate about defending those accused of traffic offences before the police court. Because even in those circumstances, the impact on your personal, professional or financial life can be huge. Don’t forget that you may be entitled to a free lawyer of your choice.

You can contact us if you are a suspect or victim of, among other things:

  • Indecent assault
  • Extortion
  • harassment
  • Arson
  • Theft and Healing
  • drug facts
  • Organized Crime
  • Human trafficking
  • Misuse of corporate assets
  • Murder and manslaughter
  • Fornication and prostitution
  • Scams and Abuse of Trust
  • Intentional and unintentional blows or injuries
  • Private and public bribery
  • Breach of professional secrecy
  • Traffic violations
  • Rape
  • Forgery and use of false documents
  • money laundering

What’s more, cases don’t always relate to offences in the conventional categories; anyone can come up against areas of specialised criminal law such as:

  • Social criminal law
  • Criminal TAX law
  • Environmental criminal law
  • Urban planning violations
  • Bankruptcy Crimes
  • Corporate criminal law

Do not wait to long

It can make all the difference if you are assisted in time by legal counsel, whether you are a victim or perpetrator. This is already possible for simple strategic advice without the associated legal procedure. In Belgium, the right to assistance during or prior to an interrogation also applies, and we notice in practice how much that is worth. We assist you in the criminal investigation or if you are summoned for an interrogation by the police or the investigating judge. We can mediate for you with the perpetrator or victim, or request an amicable settlement from the Public Prosecution Service. After the legal proceedings, we are at your side in the execution of your sentence or if you, as a victim, want to make your voice heard before the sentence enforcement court. Finally, we can also use our expertise in disciplinary proceedings, which are sometimes the result of criminal proceedings. We act throughout Belgium and abroad before the Police Courts, the Correctional Courts, the Courts of Appeal and the Courts of Assize. At the highest national level, we conduct the proceedings before the Court of Cassation and the Constitutional Court. Our office has several lawyers who have the required certificate to conduct criminal proceedings before the Court of Cassation. At an international level, we defend your interests before the European Court of Human Rights.

We have special expertise in:

Cassation in criminal cases: several lawyers with the required certificates, a more than thorough analysis ..., our results do not lie.

Advice to lawyers: our specialists regularly assist colleagues.

– Investigations and procedures.

Legal counsel.

The emphasis is always on respect for fundamental human rights. It is fought with style, but hard. Criminal law revolves around people and their lives, from the smallest traffic offense to the most serious assize case. Whether you are an individual or an entrepreneur.

Our fight to uphold human rights can take various different forms.

Read more about the “Human Right Unltd: the Fried van Hoof aWard”.

Read more about the convictions of the Belgian state for the treatment of internees.

Read more about it file Chalice and the efforts for victims of clergy child abuse.


No one is complete
well, nobody is
completely bad.

en_GBEN

chan-lin-nvcOabDz3tc-unsplash_.width-1920.jpegquality-75

Droit pénal

Walter Van Steenbrugge et Christine Mussche ont acquis une solide réputation en tant qu’avocats pénalistes. Leur approche complémentaire influence le travail de l’équipe d’avocats qui compose la Cellule Pénal. Le travail de ces avocats est extrêmement méticuleux tant dans l’aide aux victimes qu’aux auteurs.

L’équipe d’avocats entourant les associés Walter Van Steenbrugge et Christine Mussche défend les auteurs et victimes et/ou leurs proches, l’esprit ouvert. Ils laissent d’autres expertises nourrir leurs connaissances juridiques : neurologie, psychiatrie, psychologie, sociologie… Et ils collaborent avec des experts de la circulation, des toxicologues, des médecins spécialisés et des experts-comptables.

Pour couper directement court aux préjugés : cette cellule ne se penche pas seulement sur des meurtres jugés devant la Cour d’assises avec un emprisonnement à vie à la clé. Notre cabinet défend avec autant de passion les infractions de roulage devant le tribunal de police. En effet, là aussi, l’impact sur votre vie personnelle, professionnelle ou financière peut être considérable. N’oubliez d’ailleurs pas que, dans ce contexte, vous pouvez avoir droit à un avocat gratuit de votre choix.

Suspect ou victime, vous pouvez vous adresser à nous dans les domaines suivants, entre autres :

  • Attentat à la pudeur
  • Extorsion
  • Harcèlement
  • Incendie volontaire
  • Vol et recel
  • Faits de drogue
  • Criminalité organisée
  • Traite des êtres humains
  • Abus de biens sociaux
  • Meurtre et homicide
  • Débauche et prostitution
  • Escroquerie et abus de confiance
  • Coups et blessures volontaires et non involontaires
  • Corruption privée et publique
  • Violation du secret professionnel
  • Infractions de circulation
  • Viol
  • Faux en écritures et usage de faux documents
  • Blanchiment

Il ne s'agit d'ailleurs pas toujours de thèmes classiques, mais aussi de droit pénal particulier spécialisé auquel tout le monde peut être confronté :

  • Droit pénal social
  • Droit pénal fiscal
  • Droit pénal en matière environnementale
  • Infractions urbanistiques
  • Délits de faillite
  • Droit pénal des affaires

N'attendez pas trop longtemps

Se faire assister à temps par un conseil, que vous soyez victime ou auteur, peut faire la différence. Il peut s’agir d’un simple conseil stratégique sans procédure judiciaire en perspective. En Belgique, le droit à l’assistance pendant ou avant une audition s’applique également et la pratique nous montre à quel point ce droit est précieux. Nous vous assistons pendant l’instruction ou si vous êtes convoqué à une audition par la police ou le juge d’instruction. Nous pouvons négocier pour vous avec l’auteur ou la victime ou demander une conciliation au Ministère public. Après la procédure judiciaire, nous sommes à vos côtés lors de l’exécution de votre peine ou si vous souhaitez faire entendre votre voix en tant que victime devant le tribunal de l’application des peines. Pour terminer, nous pouvons également mettre notre expertise au service de procédures disciplinaires, qui, parfois, sont un corollaire d’une procédure pénale. Nous intervenons dans toute la Belgique et à l’étranger devant les Tribunaux de police, les Tribunaux correctionnels, les Cours d’Appel et les Cours d’Assises. Au niveau le plus élevé, nous menons des procédures devant la Cour de Cassation et la Cour constitutionnelle. Notre cabinet compte plusieurs avocats qui disposent du certificat requis pour mener des procédures pénales devant la Cour de Cassation. Au niveau international, nous défendons vos intérêts devant la Cour européenne des Droits de l’Homme.

Nous possédons une expertise particulière dans les domaines suivants:

Cassation en matière pénale: plusieurs avocats possédant les certificats requis, une analyse plus qu’approfondie... nos résultats ne mentent pas.

Conseils aux avocats: nos spécialistes assistent régulièrement des confrères.

– Instructions et procédures.

Protection juridique.

L’accent est toujours mis sur le respect des droits de l’homme fondamentaux. Nous nous battons pour eux avec élégance, mais vigueur. Le droit pénal concerne les êtres humains et la vie, de la plus petite infraction de circulation au cas d’assises le plus grave. Que vous soyez particulier ou entrepreneur.

Notre combat pour le respect des droits de l’homme s’exprime de différentes manières.

En savoir plus sur le "Human Right Unltd: de Fried van Hoof aWard”.

En savoir plus sur le condamnations de l’État belge en matière de traitement des internés.

En savoir plus sur le dossier Église et les efforts pour les victimes d’abus sexuels commis par des ecclésiastiques sur des enfants.


Personne n'est complet
eh bien, personne n'est
complètement mauvais.

fr_BEFR