Sarah Roobrouck

Junior Employee Criminal Law

Sarah Roobrouck is an enthusiastic and creative lawyer who does not shy away from challenges. She joined the Criminal Law Unit at Van Steenbrugge Advocaten in 2021 and works in criminal law in the broad sense.

Sarah Roobrouck gained her master’s degree in law from KU Leuven in June 2015, after which she specialised in European law, successfully completing a Master of Laws (LL.M.) at the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) in June 2016. During her studies she gained wide and varied experience, completing an internship at the Court of Cassation (civil chamber), participating in the Mertens de Wilmars competition (competition law) and, together with her teammates, and representing ULB in the 2016 European Law Moot Court Competition in Fribourg (European law) and winning the ‘best written memorials' prize.

During the first four years of her career, Sarah focused on company and association law at the law firm Eubelius in Brussels, including a temporary secondment to the regulatory team of the pharmaceutical company Johnson & Johnson in 2019. Sarah was eventually drawn to criminal law by her profound fascination with people and society. She joined the Criminal Law Unit at Van Steenbrugge Advocaten in 2021. The knowledge and experience Sarah gained at Eubelius have proved particularly useful in the cases relating to criminal business law that she handles at Van Steenbrugge Advocaten.

Degrees and qualifications

LL.M in European economic law, Université Libre de Bruxelles, 2016
Master's in Law, KU Leuven, 2015
Exchange Programme at the University of Copenhagen (Denmark), 2013

Internships

Eubelius in Brussels

Experience

Registered at the Brussels Bar from 2016-2020
Registered at the Ghent Bar since 2021

Specialisations

General and specialised criminal law
Criminal business law
Human rights
Legal advice for perpetrators and victims of crime
Association law
Company law

Opinion & blog

Being forgotten: a human right (part 1)

Languages

Dutch, French, English

Contact

0032 (0)9 269 10 69
sarah.roobrouck@vsadvocaten.be
personal assistant: Aurélie Depré, aurelie.depre@vsadvocaten.be – 0032 (0)9 269 10 63

en_GBEN

Sarah Roobrouck

Collaboratrice junior en droit pénal

Engagée et créative, Sarah Roobrouck est une avocate qui n'hésite pas à relever les défis. Elle a rejoint la cellule Droit pénal chez Van Steenbrugge Advocaten en 2021 et exerce ses talents dans le domaine du droit pénal au sens large.

Sarah Roobrouck a décroché son Master en droit à l'Université catholique de Louvain (KUL) en juin 2015, après quoi elle s'est spécialisée dans le droit européen en achevant avec succès un Master of Laws (LL.M.) à l'Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) en juin 2016. Durant ces études, elle a su se forger une expérience à la fois solide et variée. C'est ainsi que Sarah a notamment effectué un stage à la Cour de Cassation (chambre civile), pris part au concours de plaidoiries Mertens de Wilmars (droit de la concurrence) et représenté, avec ses coéquipiers, l'ULB lors de l'European Law Moot Court Competition de 2016 à Fribourg (droit européen), où elle a remporté le prix des "best written memorials".

Durant les quatre premières années de sa carrière, Sarah s'est consacrée au droit des sociétés et des associations dans le cabinet Eubelius à Bruxelles, pour lequel elle a notamment épaulé temporairement (en tant que secondee) la Regulatory Team de l'entreprise pharmaceutique Johnson & Johnson en 2019. Sa profonde fascination pour la nature humaine et la société, a tout naturellement conduit Sarah au droit pénal. En 2021, elle a rejoint la cellule Droit pénal de Van Steenbrugge Advocaten. Les connaissances et l'expérience qu'a acquises Sarah chez Eubelius lui sont particulièrement utiles dans les dossiers touchant au droit pénal des entreprises que traite Van Steenbrugge Advocaten.

diplômes

LL.M en droit européen économique, Université Libre de Bruxelles, 2016
Master en droit, KU Leuven, 2015
Programme d'échange avec l'Université de Copenhague (Danemark), 2013

Lieu de stage

Eubelius à Bruxelles

expérience

Inscrit au Barreau de Bruxelles de 2016-2020
Inscrit au Barreau de Gand depuis 2021

Spécialisations

Droit pénal général et spécial
Droit pénal des entreprises
Droits de l’homme
Assistance aux auteurs et victimes de délits
Droit des associations
Droit des sociétés

opinion & blog

Être oublié : un droit de l'homme (partie 1)

Langues

néerlandais, français, anglais

Contact

0032 (0)9 269 10 69
sarah.roobrouck@vsadvocaten.be
assistante personnelle : Aurélie Depré, aurelie.depre@vsadvocaten.be – 0032 (0)9 269 10 63

fr_BEFR