nick-wessaert-kZ5lgy2xRvs-unsplash

Legal Clinic

legal clinic

VSA has been working with the Legal Clinic Human Rights and Migration Law of Ghent University since 2019. This pro bono initiative is led by Johan Heymans, assisted by Yasmina El Kaddouri.

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world, indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." – Margaret Mead

purpose

The aim of the Legal Clinic is to immerse a limited group of driven Master-students with a profound passion for human rights for an entire academic year in the world of human rights law. The Legal Clinic is a highly intensive and practice-oriented programme that, through one-on-one coaching, creative brainstorming sessions and with the input of civil society, gives the lawyers of tomorrow a unique opportunity to sharpen their (creative) reasoning, knowledge and communication and writing skills by working on concrete human rights cases.

In the past, students have worked on various discrimination cases, on the Turkey Tribunal, on a complaint for the International Criminal Court, and so on.

vision

VSA hopes to inspire young human rights lawyers and to show them that, with the necessary dedication and knowledge, anyone can tackle important human rights issues and bring about social change. Even after completing the work at the Legal Clinic, VSA tries to act as a catalyst to encourage these alumni students to continue fighting for human rights in their legal careers.

Contact

For further questions regarding this initiative, please contact johan.heymans@vsadvocaten.be.

YE en JH 1
"We were for a year guided in a unique and personal way through the reality of strategic human rights litigation. The Legal Clinic also gave us a real perspective on the social change this work can bring about."
Lore Roels
Phd fellow
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Through the Legal Clinic, I realised that the legal profession also plays an important role in the enforcement of human rights. In addition, the direct cooperation with VSA gave me all kinds of tips and tricks that are now useful to me every day as a starting lawyer."
Jente Konings
Attorney at law
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Through the Legal Clinic on Human Rights, I realised that the legal profession also plays an important role in the enforcement of human rights. In addition, the direct cooperation with VSA gave me all kinds of tips and tricks that are now useful to me every day as a trainee lawyer."
Leen De Ruck
Attorney at law
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"For a whole year, we had the opportunity to learn directly from a prestigious law firm how conclusions are drafted and how clients are assisted. In short, we got to experience the ins and outs of Van Steenbrugge Advocaten for a year."
Océane Dieu
Master student Cyber Crime & Terrorism
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"In a very pleasant working atmosphere, I learned from scratch how legal actions against human rights violations work in practice. Richer in legal knowledge, practical and strategic tips, like-minded friends and ready for the legal adventure, I was able to finish this beautiful experience."
Silke Van Maele
Attorney at law
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
en_GBEN

nick-wessaert-kZ5lgy2xRvs-unsplash

Legal Clinic

Legal Clinic

En 2019, une coopération a été mise en place entre VSA et ‘the Legal Clinic Human Rights and Migration Law’ de l'Université de Gand. Cette initiative pro bono est pilotée par Johan Heymans, assisté de Yasmina El Kaddouri.

"Ne doutez jamais qu'un petit groupe de citoyens réfléchis et engagés puisse changer le monde, en fait, c'est la seule chose qui l'ait jamais fait." –Margaret Mead

objectif

L'objectif de ‘Legal Clinic’ est d'immerger pendant une année académique un groupe limité d'étudiants (Master) motivés et passionnés par les droits de l'homme dans le monde du contentieux des droits de l'homme. Le ‘Legal Clinic’ est un programme très intensif et axé sur la pratique qui, par d'un coaching individuel, de sessions de brainstorming créatives et avec la contribution de la société civile, donne aux avocats de demain une occasion unique de développer leur raisonnement (créatif), leurs connaissances et leurs compétences en matière de communication et de rédaction en travaillant sur des cas concrets de droits de l'homme.

Dans le passé, les étudiants ont travaillé sur diverses affaires de discrimination, sur le ‘Turkey Tribunal’, sur la rédaction d'une plainte pour la Cour pénale internationale,...

vision

De cette manière, VSA espère d’encourager des jeunes avocats spécialisés dans les droits de l'homme et surtout de leur montrer qu'avec le dévouement et les connaissances nécessaires, tout le monde peut se battre pour la protection des droits de l'homme et apporter des changements sociaux importants. Même après avoir terminé le ‘Legal Clinic’, VSA essaie de continuer à agir en tant qu’un catalyseur pour encourager ces anciens étudiants à continuer à se battre pour les droits de l'homme dans leur carrière juridique.

Contact

Pour toute question sur cette initiative, veuillez contacter johan.heymans@vsadvocaten.be.

YE en JH 1
"Non seulement nous avons été coachés d'une manière unique et personnelle pendant un an à travers la réalité des litiges stratégiques en matière de droits de l'homme. La Clinique nous a également donné une réelle perspective sur le changement social que ce travail peut apporter."
Lore Roels
Phd fellow
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Nous avons appris non seulement les aspects pratiques et le contenu de la profession d'avocat, mais aussi la responsabilité et l'importance de cette profession."
Jente Konings
Avocat
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Grâce au ‘Legal Clinic’, j'ai réalisé que la profession juridique joue également un rôle important dans l'application des droits de l'homme. En outre, la coopération directe avec VSA m'a permis d'obtenir toutes sortes de conseils qui me sont désormais utiles au quotidien en tant qu'avocat stagiaire."
Leen De Ruck
Avocat
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Pendant une année entière, nous avons eu l'occasion d'apprendre directement d'un prestigieux cabinet d'avocats comment les conclusions sont rédigées et comment les clients sont assistés. En bref, nous avons pu découvrir les tenants et aboutissants de Van Steenbrugge Advocaten pendant un an"
Océane Dieu
Etudiante en master Cyber Crime & Terrorisme
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
"Dans une atmosphère de travail très agréable, j'ai appris de but en blanc comment fonctionnent en pratique les actions en justice contre les violations des droits de l'homme. Plus riche en connaissances juridiques, en conseils pratiques et stratégiques, en amis partageant les mêmes idées et prête pour l'aventure juridique, j'ai pu conclure cette belle expérience."
Silke Van Maele
Avocat
Legal Clinic 2019-2020
fr_BEFR