Corona must not affect the rule of law

The corona crisis forced the government to announce far-reaching mandatory and urgent measures in the context of our safety, health and well-being. No problem, is our first impression, as these measures will hopefully help to fight and overcome the coronavirus. However, some of these measures curtail our fundamental freedoms and even impair them in a blatant and inadmissible way. The critical thinker's sense of justice begins to gnaw and rebel. Are we going to blindly comply with and undergo all measures, or do we still dare to question their proportionality and the motives behind them?

Drones flying by that check for gatherings, the police that raid houses without the necessary mandate with or without a battering ram to check that a lockdown party is not going on, drones with heat sensors and 'click lines' to pick up second residences on the coast and in holiday parks traces,… These are just a few examples of practices that have taken place in recent days and that have been verbally supported by the Minister of the Interior and the West Flemish provincial governor.

In our view, the dividing line between correct and efficient control to protect the population and a police state that violates fundamental rights is blurring dangerously.

Let's go back to Article 17 of the BUPO Treaty, Article 8 of the ECHR and Article 22 of the Constitution regarding the right to privacy and respect for family and private life, and the inviolability of our home. This right can only be restricted if certain – legally specified – conditions are observed:

“No interference by any public authority is permitted with regard to the exercise of this right except as provided by law (legal principle) and is necessary in a democratic society (principle of proportionality) in the interest of the country's security, public safety, or the economic well-being of the country, the protection of public order and the prevention of criminal offences, the protection of health or morals, or for the protection of rights and freedoms of others (principle of finality)”, according to Article 8 ECHR.

Interference with the right to privacy for the sake of health protection is therefore possible, insofar as it is provided for by law, in a law that is accessible, sufficiently precise and foreseeable, and such interference is proportionate.

In Belgium, a search (without permission) is in principle only possible if a search warrant issued by the investigating judge has been carefully considered and motivated. It must be an exceptional measure.

A house search by the police is possible earlier in the case of a crime discovered in the act. The 'click lines' that spot a lockdown party in a home could in this way initiate such a search by the police, but the intervention of the Public Prosecutor or an officer of the judicial police is always necessary in that case.

Since August 31, 2018, our legislation includes another ground for exception (Article 27 of the Police Service Act) on the basis of which the police could enter a residence autonomously (and without a mandate from an investigating judge or the consent of a Public Prosecutor) without permission from the person who really enjoys it. In this way the police can in an emergency “In the event of a serious and imminent danger of disaster, disaster or damage or when the life or physical integrity of persons is seriously threatened, search buildings both during the night and during the day, when the danger reported to them at that location is extremely serious and imminent (read: threatening) has a character that threatens the life or physical integrity of persons and cannot be averted in any other way”.

That the Board of Prosecutors General (which determines the prosecution policy in Belgium) reported that the aforementioned ground for exception “With some creativity, it may be possible to apply to the corona measures as the virus is a serious threat to public health”, arouses suspicion that this ground for exception could today be very frequently and unjustly invoked and even abused. The law must be strict and predictable. Creativity or reasoning by analogy is not allowed.

The legal subject benefits from legal certainty and not from arbitrariness. The complaints received in this regard by the Standing Police Supervision Committee (Committee P) are a barometer of the unrest regarding the current unclear enforcement policy: what can/should not and what is not.

After all, a ground for exception must be interpreted restrictively. An interpretation that is too broad could encourage safe conduct for less pressing and non-legislative situations (think of the abuse of the Patriot Act by the United States after 9/11). Vigilance and alertness to protect our privacy is required. And certainly the legal basis for an invasion of privacy and for sanctions must always be clear and unambiguous.

Fear of the coronavirus should not affect our critical thinking.

en_GBEN

Corona mag geen afbreuk doen aan de rechtsstaat

La crise corona a contraint le gouvernement à annoncer des mesures obligatoires et urgentes de grande envergure dans le contexte de notre sécurité, de notre santé et de notre bien-être. Pas de problème, est notre première impression, car ces mesures aideront, espérons-le, à combattre et à vaincre le coronavirus. Cependant, certaines de ces mesures restreignent nos libertés fondamentales et même les portent atteinte de manière flagrante et non autorisée. Le sens de la justice du penseur critique commence à ronger et à se rebeller. Allons-nous respecter et subir aveuglément toutes les mesures, ou osons-nous encore remettre en question leur proportionnalité et les motivations qui les sous-tendent ?

Des drones survolant ce contrôle pour les rassemblements, la police qui fait des descentes dans des maisons sans le mandat nécessaire avec ou sans bélier pour vérifier qu'une fête de verrouillage n'a pas lieu, des drones avec des capteurs de chaleur et des « lignes de clic » pour ramasser des résidences secondaires sur le littoral et dans les traces des parcs de vacances,… Ce ne sont là que quelques exemples de pratiques qui ont eu lieu ces derniers jours et qui ont été soutenues verbalement par le ministre de l'Intérieur et le gouverneur de province de Flandre occidentale.

À notre avis, la ligne de démarcation entre un contrôle correct et efficace pour protéger la population et un État policier qui viole les droits fondamentaux s'estompe dangereusement.

Revenons à l'article 17 du traité BUPO, à l'article 8 de la CEDH et à l'article 22 de la Constitution concernant le droit à la vie privée et au respect de la vie familiale et privée, et l'inviolabilité de notre domicile. Ce droit ne peut être restreint que si certaines conditions – prévues par la loi – sont respectées :

« Aucune ingérence d'aucune autorité publique n'est autorisée dans l'exercice de ce droit, sauf dans les cas prévus par la loi. (principe juridique) et est nécessaire dans une société démocratique (principe de proportionnalité) dans l'intérêt de la sécurité du pays, de la sûreté publique ou du bien-être économique du pays, la protection de l'ordre public et la prévention des infractions pénales, la protection de la santé ou de la morale, ou pour la protection des droits et libertés d'autrui (principe de finalité) », conformément à l'article 8 CEDH.

Une ingérence dans le droit à la vie privée au nom de la protection de la santé est donc possible, dans la mesure où elle est prévue par la loi, dans une loi accessible, suffisamment précise et prévisible, et cette ingérence est proportionnée.

En Belgique, une perquisition (sans autorisation) n'est en principe possible que si un mandat de perquisition délivré par le juge d'instruction a été soigneusement examiné et motivé. Ce doit être une mesure exceptionnelle.

Une perquisition domiciliaire par la police est possible plus tôt dans le cas d'un crime découvert sur le fait. Les « lignes de clic » qui repèrent une fête de confinement dans un domicile pourraient ainsi déclencher une telle perquisition par la police, mais l'intervention du procureur de la République ou d'un officier de police judiciaire est toujours nécessaire dans ce cas.

Depuis le 31 août 2018, notre législation prévoit un autre motif d'exception (article 27 de la loi sur le service de police) sur la base duquel la police pourrait entrer dans une résidence de manière autonome (et sans mandat d'un juge d'instruction ou l'accord d'un procureur de la République). ) sans l'autorisation de la personne qui l'apprécie vraiment. De cette façon, la police peut en cas d'urgence « En cas de danger grave et imminent de catastrophe, de catastrophe ou de dommages ou lorsque la vie ou l'intégrité physique des personnes est gravement menacée, fouiller les bâtiments aussi bien de nuit que de jour, lorsque le danger qui leur est signalé à cet endroit est extrêmement grave et imminent (lire : menaçant) a un caractère qui menace la vie ou l'intégrité physique des personnes et ne peut être évité d'aucune autre manière ».

Que le Collège des procureurs généraux (qui détermine la politique de poursuite en Belgique) a indiqué que le motif d'exception susmentionné "Avec un peu de créativité, il sera peut-être possible d'appliquer les mesures corona car le virus est une menace sérieuse pour la santé publique", fait soupçonner que ce motif d'exception pourrait aujourd'hui être très fréquemment et injustement invoqué et même abusé. La loi doit être stricte et prévisible. La créativité ou le raisonnement par analogie ne sont pas autorisés.

Le sujet de droit bénéficie de la sécurité juridique et non de l'arbitraire. Les plaintes reçues à cet égard par le Comité permanent de surveillance de la police (Comité P) sont un baromètre des troubles concernant la politique actuelle d'application peu claire : ce qui peut/ne doit pas et ce qui ne l'est pas.

Après tout, un motif d'exception doit être interprété de manière restrictive. Une interprétation trop large pourrait encourager un sauf-conduit pour des situations moins urgentes et non législatives (pensez à l'abus du Patriot Act par les États-Unis après le 11 septembre). La vigilance et la vigilance pour protéger notre vie privée sont requises. Et il est certain que la base juridique d'une atteinte à la vie privée et des sanctions doit toujours être claire et sans ambiguïté.

La peur du coronavirus ne devrait pas affecter notre esprit critique.

fr_BEFR