COVID-19 AND PRISON OVERPOPULATION: OIL ON THE FIRE

Overcrowding in Belgian prisons is an old problem. It is a problem with which the Belgian government has been struggling since the 1980s. However, fruitful solutions have not yet been found, as evidenced by the rising – but above all harrowing – figures. Today, no fewer than 148 inmates sleep on a mattress on the floor.

A lack of infrastructure and capacity means that inmates have to share an already small prison cell, intended for one person, with two or three people. If they are lucky through the use of bunk beds, but also through mattresses on the floor. The current pandemic is exacerbating the situation considerably: several prisons have to go into quarantine, with the result that prisoners are locked up in their prison cells for weeks on end. In addition to frustrations between inmates and inmates and prison staff, these conditions also lead to significant lack of privacy, violation of security standards, reduced social activities and limited access to welfare services.

The fact that overcrowding in Belgian prisons is an old problem is evident from the various convictions that the Belgian state has to deal with. Both our own courts and the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) condemned our country because of the inhumane conditions in the prisons. After all, the circumstances are in stark contrast to Article 3 of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR), which prohibits torture and inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment. Although detention in itself is not contrary to Article 3 of the ECHR, detention is when its modalities are incompatible with respect for human dignity and from the moment when the suffering and humiliation go beyond what is strictly necessary.

The ECtHR takes into account several elements to determine a violation of Article 3 ECHR: every detainee must have his or her own (sleeping) space of approximately 3 m², whereby one must be able to move freely between the furniture. Furthermore, the court also takes into account hygienic conditions and the possibility to participate in activities outside the prison cell and in the open air.

A violation of Article 3 ECHR is usually the result of a combination of circumstances, in which prison overcrowding is a constitutive element. This is all the more true in the context of a pandemic – such as the current COVID-19 outbreak – where the risk of contamination endangers the health and life of the entire prison population. It is therefore up to the state to guarantee humane detention conditions to detainees.

It is undeniable that in the current circumstances there is an even greater obligation on states to prevent human rights violations by detainees. The overcrowding in Belgian prisons must be tackled quickly and must be structurally avoided. The fundamental rights and freedoms guaranteed by the ECHR do not disappear at the prison gate: detainees must continue to be assured of their fundamental rights. After all, they may not be subjected to inhuman or degrading conditions that are contrary to Article 3 ECHR.

It is therefore necessary for the Belgian government to ensure that it does not incur any additional convictions.

en_GBEN

COVID-19 ET SURPOPULATION DES PRISONS : DE L'HUILE SUR LE FEU

La surpopulation dans les prisons belges est un vieux problème. C'est un problème avec lequel le gouvernement belge se débat depuis les années 1980. Cependant, des solutions fructueuses n'ont pas encore été trouvées, comme en témoignent les chiffres en hausse – mais surtout poignants. Aujourd'hui, pas moins de 148 détenus dorment sur un matelas à même le sol.

Un manque d'infrastructures et de capacités signifie que les détenus doivent partager une cellule de prison déjà petite, prévue pour une personne, avec deux ou trois personnes. S'ils ont de la chance grâce à l'utilisation de lits superposés, mais aussi grâce à des matelas au sol. La pandémie actuelle aggrave considérablement la situation : plusieurs prisons doivent entrer en quarantaine, de sorte que les détenus sont enfermés dans leurs cellules pendant des semaines. En plus des frustrations entre les détenus et les détenus et le personnel pénitentiaire, ces conditions entraînent également un manque important d'intimité, une violation des normes de sécurité, une réduction des activités sociales et un accès limité aux services sociaux.

Le fait que la surpopulation carcérale belge soit un problème ancien ressort des diverses condamnations auxquelles l'Etat belge doit faire face. Nos propres tribunaux et la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme (CEDH) ont condamné notre pays en raison des conditions inhumaines dans les prisons. Après tout, les circonstances contrastent fortement avec l'article 3 de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme (CEDH), qui interdit la torture et les peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants. Bien que la détention en elle-même ne soit pas contraire à l'article 3 de la CEDH, la détention a lieu lorsque ses modalités sont incompatibles avec le respect de la dignité humaine et à partir du moment où la souffrance et l'humiliation dépassent le strict nécessaire.

La Cour EDH prend en compte plusieurs éléments pour déterminer une violation de l'article 3 CEDH : chaque détenu doit disposer de son propre espace (de couchage) d'environ 3 m², où il doit pouvoir se déplacer librement entre les meubles. En outre, le tribunal prend également en compte les conditions d'hygiène et la possibilité de participer à des activités en dehors de la cellule de prison et en plein air.

Une violation de l'article 3 CEDH résulte généralement d'un concours de circonstances, dont la surpopulation carcérale est un élément constitutif. Ceci est d'autant plus vrai dans le contexte d'une pandémie - comme l'épidémie actuelle de COVID-19 - où le risque de contamination met en danger la santé et la vie de l'ensemble de la population carcérale. Il appartient donc à l'État de garantir des conditions de détention humaines aux détenus.

Il est indéniable que dans les circonstances actuelles, les États ont une obligation encore plus grande de prévenir les violations des droits humains par les détenus. La surpopulation carcérale belge doit être combattue rapidement et doit être structurellement évitée. Les droits et libertés fondamentaux garantis par la CEDH ne disparaissent pas à la porte de la prison : les détenus doivent continuer à être assurés de leurs droits fondamentaux. Après tout, ils ne peuvent être soumis à des conditions inhumaines ou dégradantes contraires à l'article 3 CEDH.

Il est donc nécessaire que le gouvernement belge veille à ne pas encourir de condamnations supplémentaires.

fr_BEFR