Internment

Our office is setting beacons for internees. That is also necessary. Internees are mentally ill people who commit crimes as a result of their illness and often end up in prison without hope and without the required medical care. Inhumane conditions of which the Belgian state is guilty. Below are two striking cases. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten is suing the state, the European Court of Human Rights has condemned it.

Luke B.

“Master Walter Van Steenbrugge defended Luc B. (49), who had previously been convicted of theft, possession of weapons and rape of his underage daughter. The European Court in Strasbourg agreed with Luc B.. 'A deprivation of liberty of someone who is psychiatrically ill can only be done in a clinic or a care institution, not in a prison. If that does happen, then that deprivation of liberty is illegal," Strasbourg concluded."

From: Dwangsom against justice, article from the Gazet van Antwerpen of 8 October 2012. You can read the full article here.

The Clippel case

In a landmark judgment of 6 December 2011, the European Court of Human Rights has ordered the Belgian State to pay compensation of 50,000 euros to Tom De Clippel's parents. Tom struggled with a drug problem in his teens and was later diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia. He was interned, first treated in De Sleutel in Ghent and later transferred to Sleidinge. When he did not register there for a few days for the compulsory day therapy, the Public Prosecution Service referred Tom to the psychiatric annex of the prison in Ghent. But due to lack of space, he ended up in an ordinary cell with three inmates. Tom didn't understand why he had to go to jail without a crime, struggled, and was isolated in a solitary cell. Less than a week later, on August 6, 2001, after the psychiatrist adjusted his medication and referred him to an individual cell, Tom committed suicide.

You can read more about the De Clippel case on the links below:

The judgment by the European Court of Human Rights

Press release from the European Court of Human Rights

The discussion of the judgment

“Belgium convicted of suicide prisoner”, De Morgen, 7 December 2011

9999

Ellen Vermeulen made a haunting documentary about the fate of internees in Belgian prisons under the title '9999'. For this she won, among other things, the prize co-presented by our office Human Rights Unltd. Fried van Hoof aWard.

en_GBEN

Internements

Notre bureau met des balises pour les internés. C'est aussi nécessaire. Les internés sont des malades mentaux qui commettent des crimes en raison de leur maladie et finissent souvent en prison sans espoir et sans les soins médicaux requis. Conditions inhumaines dont l'Etat belge se rend coupable. Ci-dessous, deux cas frappants. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten poursuit l'État, la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme l'a condamné.

Luc B.

« Maître Walter Van Steenbrugge a défendu Luc B. (49 ans), qui avait auparavant été condamné pour vol, possession d'armes et viol sur sa fille mineure. La Cour européenne de Strasbourg a donné raison à Luc B.. « Une privation de liberté d'une personne souffrant d'un trouble psychiatrique ne peut être effectuée que dans une clinique ou un établissement de soins, pas dans une prison. Si cela se produit, alors cette privation de liberté est illégale", a conclu Strasbourg.

Extrait de : Dwangsom against justice, article du Gazet van Antwerpen du 8 octobre 2012. Vous pouvez lire l'intégralité de l'article ici.

L'affaire Clippel

Dans un arrêt historique du 6 décembre 2011, la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme a condamné l'État belge à verser une indemnité de 50 000 euros aux parents de Tom De Clippel. Tom a lutté avec un problème de drogue dans son adolescence et a plus tard été diagnostiqué avec la schizophrénie paranoïde. Il a été interné, d'abord soigné à De Sleutel à Gand, puis transféré à Sleidinge. Lorsqu'il ne s'y est pas inscrit pendant quelques jours pour la thérapie de jour obligatoire, le ministère public a référé Tom à l'annexe psychiatrique de la prison de Gand. Mais faute de place, il s'est retrouvé dans une cellule ordinaire avec trois détenus. Tom ne comprenait pas pourquoi il devait aller en prison sans crime, luttait et était isolé dans une cellule d'isolement. Moins d'une semaine plus tard, le 6 août 2001, après que le psychiatre a ajusté sa médication et l'a référé à une cellule individuelle, Tom s'est suicidé.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur l'affaire De Clippel sur les liens ci-dessous :

L'arrêt de la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme

Communiqué de presse de la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme

La discussion du jugement

« La Belgique condamnée pour prisonnier suicide », De Morgen, 7 décembre 2011

9999

Ellen Vermeulen a réalisé un documentaire obsédant sur le sort des internés dans les prisons belges sous le titre '9999'. Pour cela, elle a remporté le prix décerné en partie par notre bureau Human Rights Unltd. Prix Fried van Hoof.

fr_BEFR