Making a will by a protected person

To make a will, in particular a donation or a will, a person must be competent (Article 1108 of the Civil Code).

If a justice of the peace orders the administration of a person's goods, then this person is deemed to be incapable of making a will. This personal act is not subject to representation, which means that the administrator cannot take any action here either.

However, the justice of the peace may, at the request of the person placed under guardianship, grant authorisation to draw up a will (Article 905 of the Civil Code). It is then the justice of the peace who judges on the capacity of the protected person.

The Constitutional Court has already defined legal capacity as "....to assess the capacity to form a valid legal will in the light of the mental capacity".. Case law has decided, among other things, that a low IQ of the protected person does not necessarily exclude the presence of a free will, but that the protected person must not only have a necessary awareness of the meaning of a will, but also of the nature and scope of his estate. The assessment of the will's capacity will be based on the detailed medical certificate which must accompany the application and will be further verified during the compulsory hearing of the protected person by the justice of the peace (art. 1244, §2, Judicial Code).

Please note that if authorisation is subsequently granted by the justice of the peace for the drawing up of a will, this does not mean that the protected person is restored to his or her incapacity to testify. If a change needs to be made in the future, a new authorisation must be obtained.

The drawing up of a will in the case of an authorisation must always be done by authentic instrument (Article 905, third paragraph of the Civil Code). However, the person under administration does not have to submit a draft will to the justice of the peace, so that the latter will not be concerned by the wishes of the person under administration. The justice of the peace will therefore not judge the appropriateness of the intended legal act (authorisation of the administrator). in abstracto).

In order to draw up a grant, the justice of the peace will want to receive a draft of the grant (authorisation in concrete terms), as he or she can refuse the authorisation if the donation threatens to make the protected person or his or her maintenance creditors needy (Article 905, fifth paragraph of the Civil Code).

Finally, the notary will also judge at the time of execution of the deed whether the donor / testator is of sound mind. If you have any questions about this, do not hesitate to contact Stefan De Plus of our office: stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be

en_GBEN

Rédaction d'un testament par une personne protégée

Pour faire un testament, notamment une donation ou un testament, une personne doit être compétente (article 1108 du code civil).

Si un juge de paix ordonne l'administration des biens d'une personne, alors cette personne est considérée comme incapable de faire un testament. Cet acte personnel n'est pas soumis à la représentation, ce qui signifie que l'administrateur ne peut pas non plus intervenir ici.

Toutefois, le juge de paix peut, à la demande de la personne placée sous tutelle, accorder l'autorisation de rédiger un testament (article 905 du code civil). C'est alors le juge de paix qui juge de la capacité de la personne protégée.

La Cour constitutionnelle a déjà défini la capacité juridique comme "....".d'évaluer la capacité de former un testament légal valide à la lumière de la capacité mentale".. La jurisprudence a décidé, entre autres, qu'un faible QI de la personne protégée n'exclut pas nécessairement la présence d'un libre arbitre, mais que la personne protégée doit avoir une conscience de la nature et de l'étendue de son patrimoine, en plus d'une nécessaire conscience de la signification d'un testament. L'appréciation de la capacité de la personne protégée se fera sur base du certificat médical détaillé qui doit accompagner la demande et sera encore vérifiée lors de l'audition obligatoire de la personne protégée par le juge de paix (art. 1244, §2, Code judiciaire).

Veuillez noter que si l'autorisation est ensuite accordée par le juge de paix pour la rédaction d'un testament, cela ne signifie pas que la personne protégée est rétablie dans son incapacité à témoigner. Si une modification doit être apportée à l'avenir, une nouvelle autorisation doit être obtenue.

L'établissement d'un testament en cas d'autorisation doit toujours se faire par acte authentique (article 905, troisième alinéa du code civil). Toutefois, la personne sous administration n'est pas tenue de soumettre un projet de testament au juge de paix, de sorte que ce dernier ne sera pas concerné par les souhaits de la personne sous administration. Le juge de paix ne jugera donc pas de l'opportunité de l'acte juridique envisagé (autorisation de l'administrateur). in abstracto).

Afin d'établir une subvention, le juge de paix voudra recevoir un projet de subvention (autorisation en termes concrets), car il peut refuser l'autorisation si la donation menace de rendre la personne protégée ou ses créanciers alimentaires indigents (article 905, paragraphe 5, du code civil).

Enfin, le notaire jugera également au moment de la passation de l'acte si le donateur/testateur est sain d'esprit. Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, n'hésitez pas à contacter Stefan De Plus de notre bureau : stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be.

fr_BEFR