the importance of a shareholders' agreement for your company, also under the new company law

Agreements between shareholders come in many shapes and sizes. A shareholders' agreement is a frequently used and very useful instrument for giving shape to these agreements. Read below what a shareholders' agreement can mean for you.

WHAT IS A SHAREHOLDERS AGREEMENT?

A shareholders' agreement has no fixed pattern. Shareholders have the greatest possible freedom – subject to a number of legal restrictions – to make mutual agreements. The shareholders' agreement will usually describe the general framework of the cooperation, but will also contain specific provisions regarding the operation and management of the company, the transferability of the shares, the manner of exercising the voting right, the distribution of profits, the prevention of and resolving disputes between the directors or between the shareholders, and the like.

The scope of the shareholders' agreement is entirely determined by the shareholders concerned. A shareholders' agreement can be comprehensive, but can also only describe a limited number of specific agreements.

WHAT AGREEMENTS ARE USEFUL FOR MY BUSINESS?

The drafting of a shareholders' agreement is tailor-made and requires an analysis of the different interests of the shareholders and the company itself. The relevance of certain frequently occurring clauses depends, for example, on the legal form of your company and the relationship between the shareholders.

In a public limited company, the shares are by definition freely transferable. It may be useful to contractually limit the transferability of the shares between shareholders. For example, a shareholder may wish to avoid that his co-shareholder transfers shares to an unknown third party. This can be avoided by subjecting such transfer to the approval of the other shareholders and/or by requiring the transferor to offer these shares to them first.

The reverse applies in private limited companies (such as the bvba): in principle, the shares are not transferable, but the shareholders can allow a limited transferability of the shares to specifically designated persons.

The relationship between the shareholders also plays a role in the drafting of the shareholders' agreement. In companies in which more than half of the shares are owned by a single shareholder, there are various techniques for protecting the minority shareholder.

For example, the directors are always appointed by the general meeting, and thus de facto by the majority shareholder. A shareholders' agreement may grant one or more shareholders the right to appoint or have a director appointed.

The law also allows to deviate from the principle that the board of directors decides collectively and that each director has one vote. For example, special majorities or even veto rights can be included in the shareholders' agreement for important decisions, such as for major investments or the formulation of general policy.

But a majority shareholder can also be protected under a shareholders' agreement. For example, a follow-up clause can be provided whereby the minority shareholder is obliged to sell his shares if the majority shareholder so requests. This prevents a buyer who is only interested in the entire company from dropping out because of the presence of a minority shareholder.

Even if you work with one or more shareholders in an equal proportion (50% – 50%), the above mechanisms remain useful. In addition, in the latter case, it is all the more important to provide a technique to counteract deadlocks in the board of directors or between shareholders. A casting vote or an option scheme are just a few examples of clauses that can remove a blocking situation.

If you entered a company because of the special expertise of a co-shareholder or because of the personal nature of the cooperation, it can be foreseen that the shares of one or more shareholders cannot be transferred during a certain period. In this way you can be sure that specific shareholders will remain on board for a certain period of time.

In short, a good shareholders' agreement anticipates all possible concerns of shareholders in the specific context of the company.

MY COMPANY ARTICLES ALREADY CONTAIN SHAREHOLDER AGREEMENTS. IS A SHAREHOLDERS AGREEMENT STILL BENEFICIAL?

Of course. Contrary to the articles of association, agreements in a shareholders' agreement can, for example, be limited in time or concluded between some shareholders, to the exclusion of the others (such as between a specific shareholder group).

As a minority shareholder, a shareholders' agreement also offers you the comfort that the agreements made cannot be changed without your permission. An amendment to the articles of association, on the other hand, only requires a three-fourths majority of the votes.

An additional advantage of a shareholders' agreement is discretion. Certain clauses, such as options to buy and sell shares, planned projects or (financial) sanctions for violating agreements, are usually not shared with third parties. You can therefore choose to include these agreements in a shareholders' agreement, and not in the articles of association.

Shareholder agreements do not need to be published. Nevertheless, it is highly recommended to avoid conflicts between the shareholders' agreement and the articles of association.

DOES A SHAREHOLDERS AGREEMENT STILL HAVE INTEREST UNDER THE NEW COMPANY LAW?

Even under the newly voted new company law, which will come into effect on 1 May 2019, the importance of shareholders' agreements for your company remains high.

Flexibility in company law is one of the fundamental pillars of the reform. The introduction of multiple voting rights and the principle of the transferability of shares in most company forms, among other things, give shareholders extensive options for contractually defining the framework of their cooperation with complete freedom. The more flexible entry and exit of shareholders also broadens the freedom of choice to resolve disputes within the company. Shareholders' agreements therefore play an important role in this.

Are you considering concluding a shareholders' agreement in your company? We are happy to work out a custom design for your company (info@vsadvocaten.be)

en_GBEN

l'importance d'un pacte d'actionnaires pour votre entreprise, également en vertu du nouveau droit des sociétés

Les accords entre actionnaires se présentent sous de nombreuses formes et tailles. Le pacte d'actionnaires est un instrument fréquemment utilisé et très utile pour donner forme à ces pactes. Lisez ci-dessous ce qu'un pacte d'actionnaires peut signifier pour vous.

QU'EST-CE QU'UN PACTE D'ACTIONNAIRES ?

Un pacte d'actionnaires n'a pas de modèle fixe. Les actionnaires ont la plus grande liberté possible – sous réserve d'un certain nombre de restrictions légales – de conclure des accords mutuels. Le pacte d'actionnaires décrira généralement le cadre général de la coopération, mais contiendra également des dispositions spécifiques concernant le fonctionnement et la gestion de la société, la cessibilité des actions, les modalités d'exercice du droit de vote, la répartition des bénéfices, la prévention et résoudre les différends entre les administrateurs ou entre les actionnaires, etc.

La portée du pacte d'actionnaires est entièrement déterminée par les actionnaires concernés. Un pacte d'actionnaires peut être global, mais ne peut également décrire qu'un nombre limité d'accords spécifiques.

QUELS ACCORDS SONT UTILES POUR MON ENTREPRISE ?

La rédaction d'un pacte d'actionnaires est faite sur mesure et nécessite une analyse des différents intérêts des actionnaires et de l'entreprise elle-même. La pertinence de certaines clauses fréquentes dépend par exemple de la forme juridique de votre société et des relations entre les actionnaires.

Dans une société anonyme, les actions sont par définition librement cessibles. Il peut être utile de limiter contractuellement la transférabilité des actions entre actionnaires. Par exemple, un actionnaire peut souhaiter éviter que son coactionnaire transfère des actions à un tiers inconnu. Ceci peut être évité en soumettant ce transfert à l'approbation des autres actionnaires et/ou en obligeant le cédant à leur offrir ces actions au préalable.

L'inverse s'applique dans les sociétés à responsabilité limitée (telles que la bvba) : en principe, les actions ne sont pas transférables, mais les actionnaires peuvent autoriser une transférabilité limitée des actions à des personnes spécifiquement désignées.

La relation entre les actionnaires joue également un rôle dans la rédaction du pacte d'actionnaires. Dans les sociétés dont plus de la moitié des actions sont détenues par un seul actionnaire, il existe différentes techniques pour protéger l'actionnaire minoritaire.

Par exemple, les administrateurs sont toujours nommés par l'assemblée générale, et donc de facto par l'actionnaire majoritaire. Un pacte d'actionnaires peut conférer à un ou plusieurs actionnaires le droit de nommer ou de faire nommer un administrateur.

La loi permet également de déroger au principe selon lequel le conseil d'administration décide collectivement et que chaque administrateur dispose d'une voix. Par exemple, le pacte d'actionnaires peut inclure des majorités spéciales ou même des droits de veto pour des décisions importantes, telles que des investissements importants ou la formulation de la politique générale.

Mais un actionnaire majoritaire peut également être protégé par un pacte d'actionnaires. Par exemple, une clause de suivi peut être prévue en vertu de laquelle l'actionnaire minoritaire est obligé de vendre ses actions si l'actionnaire majoritaire le demande. Cela évite qu'un repreneur qui ne s'intéresse qu'à l'ensemble de l'entreprise ne décroche en raison de la présence d'un actionnaire minoritaire.

Même si vous travaillez avec un ou plusieurs actionnaires à parts égales (50% – 50%), les mécanismes ci-dessus restent utiles. De plus, dans ce dernier cas, il est d'autant plus important de prévoir une technique pour pallier les blocages au sein du conseil d'administration ou entre actionnaires. Une voix prépondérante ou un régime d'options ne sont que quelques exemples de clauses qui peuvent lever une situation de blocage.

Si vous êtes entré dans une société en raison de l'expertise particulière d'un co-actionnaire ou en raison du caractère personnel de la coopération, il peut être prévu que les actions d'un ou plusieurs actionnaires ne puissent être transférées pendant une certaine période. De cette façon, vous pouvez être sûr que des actionnaires spécifiques resteront à bord pendant une certaine période de temps.

Bref, un bon pacte d'actionnaires anticipe toutes les préoccupations possibles des actionnaires dans le contexte particulier de l'entreprise.

LES ARTICLES DE MON ENTREPRISE CONTIENNENT DÉJÀ DES ACCORDS D'ACTIONNAIRES. UN PACTE D'ACTIONNAIRES EST-IL TOUJOURS BÉNÉFIQUE ?

Bien sûr. Contrairement aux statuts, les accords d'un pacte d'actionnaires peuvent, par exemple, être limités dans le temps ou conclus entre certains actionnaires, à l'exclusion des autres (comme entre un groupe d'actionnaires spécifique).

En tant qu'actionnaire minoritaire, un pacte d'actionnaires vous offre également l'assurance que les accords conclus ne peuvent être modifiés sans votre autorisation. En revanche, une modification des statuts ne requiert qu'une majorité des trois quarts des voix.

Un avantage supplémentaire d'un pacte d'actionnaires est la discrétion. Certaines clauses, telles que les options d'achat et de vente d'actions, les projets envisagés ou les sanctions (financières) en cas de violation d'accords, ne sont généralement pas partagées avec des tiers. Vous pouvez donc choisir d'inclure ces accords dans un pacte d'actionnaires, et non dans les statuts.

Les conventions d'actionnaires n'ont pas besoin d'être publiées. Néanmoins, il est fortement recommandé d'éviter les conflits entre le pacte d'actionnaires et les statuts.

UN PACTE D'ACTIONNAIRES A-T-IL TOUJOURS UN INTÉRÊT EN VERTU DU NOUVEAU DROIT DES SOCIÉTÉS ?

Même en vertu de la nouvelle loi sur les sociétés récemment votée, qui entrera en vigueur le 1er mai 2019, l'importance des pactes d'actionnaires pour votre entreprise reste élevée.

La flexibilité du droit des sociétés est l'un des piliers fondamentaux de la réforme. L'introduction du droit de vote multiple et le principe de la transférabilité des actions dans la plupart des formes de sociétés, entre autres, offrent aux actionnaires de larges possibilités pour définir contractuellement le cadre de leur coopération en toute liberté. L'entrée et la sortie plus souples des actionnaires élargissent également la liberté de choix pour résoudre les litiges au sein de l'entreprise. Les pactes d'actionnaires jouent donc un rôle important à cet égard.

Vous envisagez de conclure un pacte d'actionnaires dans votre entreprise ? Nous sommes heureux d'élaborer un design personnalisé pour votre entreprise (info@vsadvocaten.be)

fr_BEFR