Finally! The complaint committees in the prisons are operational

As early as 2005, the legal possibility was created for a detainee to file a complaint against a so-called disciplinary decision by the prison management with the 'Complaints Committee' of the prison where the disciplinary decision was made.

By repeatedly postponing the entry into force of the articles of law, detainees wishing to challenge a disciplinary sanction could only conduct – expensive and lengthy – proceedings before the Council of State or the Court of First Instance. Needless to say, these procedures were almost never used.

This situation has finally changed recently.

The Complaints Committees became operational on 1 October 2020. This offers the possibility to submit a complaint within 7 days after becoming aware of a disciplinary sanction. The Complaints Committee is only competent for decisions: i) taken by the director or in his name, ii) with regard to the complainant (individual decision), and iii) on the basis of the law.

A complaint submitted after the 7-day period has expired may still be admissible if it appears, taking into account all circumstances, that the detainee submitted the complaint as soon as could reasonably be expected of him/her. This already seems necessary if one also wants to offer the detainee the opportunity to consult a lawyer.

The procedure is simple: on the website of the 'Central Supervisory Board for the Prisons' (www.ctrg.belgium.be) the pre-printed complaint form can be downloaded and then completed and emailed (Dutch: complaints@ctrg- complaints.be, French: plaintes@ccsp-plaintes.be).

The detainee who wishes to submit his/her complaint can request a complaint form at the prison, and can deposit it in the letterbox of the Supervisory Committee, among other things.

If the complaint is not found to be manifestly inadmissible or unfounded, the complaint will be forwarded to the prison management with a request for a defense and any willingness to mediate. The Complaints Committee may decide to hear the parties and/or to obtain oral or written information from third parties. A decision will be made within 14 days of receipt of the complaint.

A new feature is that the Complaints Committee can transfer the complaint to the monthly commissioner[1] in order to facilitate mediation between the director and the detainee. The focus is therefore on mediation and that is certainly a good thing since there is a bond of authority between the two parties involved.

If mediation does not bring solace or is not desired by the prison management, the Complaints Committee may declare the complaint well-founded if it is of the opinion that the contested decision is contrary to a statutory regulation applicable in prison, or is unreasonable or unfair after considering the all eligible interests.

If the complaint is upheld, the Complaints Committee annuls the decision and can:

1° instruct the director to take a new decision;
2° determine that its decision takes the place of the annulled decision;
3° are limited to a complete or partial annulment of the decision.

The decision can still be challenged with the Appeals Committee of the Central Council.

We hope that balanced decisions will be made, really taking into account all relevant interests with a view to a more humane detention.

* * *

[1] The monthly commissioner is a monthly appointed member of the Supervisory Committee established at each prison and is responsible for the follow-up of the detainees, including with regard to their living conditions.

en_GBEN

Finalement! Les comités de plaintes dans les prisons sont opérationnels

Dès 2005, la possibilité légale a été créée pour un détenu de déposer une plainte contre une décision dite disciplinaire de la direction pénitentiaire auprès de la « Commission des plaintes » de la prison où la décision disciplinaire a été prise.

En repoussant à plusieurs reprises l'entrée en vigueur des articles de loi, les détenus souhaitant contester une sanction disciplinaire ne pouvaient mener qu'une procédure – coûteuse et longue – devant le Conseil d'État ou le Tribunal de première instance. Inutile de dire que ces procédures n'ont presque jamais été utilisées.

Cette situation a finalement changé récemment.

Les commissions de réclamations sont devenues opérationnelles le 1er octobre 2020. Cela offre la possibilité de déposer une plainte dans les 7 jours après avoir pris connaissance d'une sanction disciplinaire. La Commission des réclamations n'est compétente que pour les décisions : i) prises par le directeur ou en son nom, ii) à l'égard du plaignant (décision individuelle), et iii) sur la base de la loi.

Une plainte déposée après l'expiration du délai de 7 jours peut toujours être recevable s'il apparaît, compte tenu de toutes les circonstances, que le détenu a déposé la plainte dès que l'on pouvait raisonnablement l'attendre de lui. Cela semble déjà nécessaire si l'on veut aussi offrir au détenu la possibilité de consulter un avocat.

La procédure est simple : sur le site de la 'Conseil central de surveillance des prisons' (www.ctrg.belgium.be) le formulaire de réclamation pré-imprimé peut être téléchargé puis complété et envoyé par e-mail (néerlandais : plaintes@ctrg-plaintes.be, Français: plaintes@ccsp-plaintes.be).

Le détenu qui souhaite déposer sa plainte peut demander un formulaire de plainte à la prison, et peut le déposer dans la boîte aux lettres du Comité de surveillance, entre autres.

Si la plainte n'est pas jugée manifestement irrecevable ou infondée, la plainte sera transmise à la direction de la prison avec une demande de défense et toute volonté de médiation. La Commission des réclamations peut décider d'entendre les parties et/ou d'obtenir des informations orales ou écrites de tiers. Une décision sera prise dans les 14 jours suivant la réception de la plainte.

Une nouveauté est que la Commission des plaintes peut transmettre la plainte au commissaire mensuel[1] afin de faciliter la médiation entre le directeur et le détenu. L'accent est donc mis sur la médiation, ce qui est certainement une bonne chose, puisqu'il existe un lien d'autorité entre les deux parties impliquées.

Si la médiation n'apporte pas de réconfort ou n'est pas souhaitée par la direction pénitentiaire, la Commission des réclamations peut déclarer la réclamation fondée si elle est d'avis que la décision contestée est contraire à une réglementation légale applicable en prison, ou est déraisonnable ou injuste après avoir examiné tous les intérêts éligibles.

Si la réclamation est accueillie, la Commission des réclamations annule la décision et peut :

1° charger le directeur de prendre une nouvelle décision ;
2° constater que sa décision tient lieu de la décision annulée ;
3° sont limités à une annulation totale ou partielle de la décision.

La décision peut encore être contestée devant la Commission de recours du Conseil central.

Nous espérons que des décisions équilibrées seront prises, prenant réellement en compte tous les intérêts pertinents en vue d'une détention plus humaine.

* * *

[1] Le commissaire mensuel est un membre nommé mensuellement du Comité de surveillance mis en place dans chaque prison et est chargé du suivi des détenus, y compris en ce qui concerne leurs conditions de vie.

fr_BEFR