WORKING WITH STUDENTS: SOME POINTS TO CONSIDER

Employment of students

The summer vacation has now started. This traditionally means that many students have a holiday job. Although the student agreement is an ordinary employment agreement for blue-collar workers, employees or sales representatives, the student agreement deviates from an ordinary employment agreement on certain points. Additional conditions apply.

A company that wants to appeal to job students must therefore realize that this form of employment is strictly regulated. If the legal provisions are not observed, sanctions may follow.

A few important aspects in the context of student work are explained below.

The student agreement

An employer who wishes to employ a student - who is at least 15 years old - is obliged to conclude a written student agreement of a definite term, at the latest at the time of commencement of employment. In contrast to an ordinary fixed-term employment contract, the student contract must contain a whole series of legally required information, such as the working hours, a (brief) job description, the place of employment, the salary, the competent joint committee, etc.

The student must also receive a copy of the applicable work regulations of the company upon commencement of employment.

Just as for regular employees, the employer must also file a Dimona declaration for a student, no later than the moment the student enters employment.

Sanctions for non-compliance with legal obligations

If the employer does not respect the legal obligations, the student is considered to be bound by an employment contract of indefinite duration. This means that if the employer wishes to terminate the student agreement, he will have to apply the normal termination rules instead of the reduced notice periods as provided for under the student agreement.

In addition, the employer exposes itself to criminal or administrative sanctions of level 2 of the social criminal code[1]. If the employer does not file a Dimona declaration, then it concerns a sanction of level 4[2].

In the event of non-compliance with the legal obligations by the employer, the student will be able to terminate the student agreement at any time without notice or termination compensation.

Student contingent: limited social security contributions

A student can work a maximum of 475 working hours per calendar year on which reduced social security contributions are due. For those hours, only a solidarity contribution of 8.13% is due. Of this, 5.42% is borne by the employer and 2.71% is borne by the student.

Corona support measure

Finally, it should be remembered that, within the framework of the corona support measures, the student quota will be neutralized for the third quarter of 2021. This means that the hours of student work performed in the period from 1 July 2021 to 30 September 2021 will not be charged on the quota of 475 hours per calendar year.

In contrast to the past three quarters, this neutralization applies to all students at all employers.


This newsletter only deals with a number of aspects of student work. If you have any questions about student work, or if you would like help drafting a student agreement, please do not hesitate to contact us (gael.vandersteene@vsadvocaten.be).


[1] Level 2: an administrative fine of EUR 200 to 2,000, or a criminal fine of EUR 400 to 4,000.
[2] Level 4: An administrative fine of EUR 2,400 to EUR 24,000, or a criminal fine of EUR 4,800 to 48,000 and/or a prison sentence of 6 months to 3 years.

en_GBEN

TRAVAILLER AVEC LES ÉTUDIANTS : QUELQUES POINTS À CONSIDÉRER

Emploi des étudiants

Les vacances d'été ont maintenant commencé. Cela signifie traditionnellement que de nombreux étudiants ont un travail de vacances. Bien que le contrat étudiant soit un contrat de travail ordinaire pour les ouvriers, les salariés ou les commerciaux, le contrat étudiant s'écarte du contrat de travail ordinaire sur certains points. Des conditions supplémentaires s'appliquent.

Une entreprise qui souhaite faire appel à des étudiants en emploi doit donc se rendre compte que cette forme d'emploi est strictement réglementée. Si les dispositions légales ne sont pas respectées, des sanctions peuvent s'ensuivre.

Quelques aspects importants dans le contexte du travail des étudiants sont expliqués ci-dessous.

La convention étudiante

Un employeur qui souhaite embaucher un étudiant - âgé d'au moins 15 ans - est tenu de conclure un accord étudiant écrit d'une durée déterminée, au plus tard au moment du début de l'emploi. Contrairement à un contrat de travail à durée déterminée ordinaire, le contrat d'étudiant doit contenir toute une série d'informations requises par la loi, telles que les heures de travail, une (brève) description de poste, le lieu de travail, le salaire, la commission paritaire compétente, etc.

L'étudiant doit également recevoir une copie du règlement de travail applicable de l'entreprise au début de son emploi.

Tout comme pour les salariés réguliers, l'employeur doit également déposer une déclaration Dimona pour un étudiant, au plus tard au moment de l'entrée en emploi de l'étudiant.

Sanctions en cas de non-respect des obligations légales

Si l'employeur ne respecte pas les obligations légales, l'étudiant est considéré comme lié par un contrat de travail à durée indéterminée. Cela signifie que si l'employeur souhaite résilier le contrat étudiant, il devra appliquer les règles normales de résiliation au lieu des délais de préavis réduits prévus par le contrat étudiant.

De plus, l'employeur s'expose à des sanctions pénales ou administratives de niveau 2 du code pénal social[1]. Si l'employeur ne dépose pas de déclaration Dimona, il s'agit alors d'une sanction de niveau 4[2].

En cas de non-respect des obligations légales par l'employeur, l'étudiant pourra résilier le contrat étudiant à tout moment sans préavis ni indemnité de rupture.

Contingent étudiant : cotisations sociales limitées

Un étudiant peut travailler un maximum de 475 heures de travail par année civile pour lesquelles des cotisations sociales réduites sont dues. Pour ces heures, seule une cotisation de solidarité de 8.13% est due. Sur ce total, 5 42% sont à la charge de l'employeur et 2 71% sont à la charge de l'étudiant.

Mesure de soutien Corona

Enfin, il convient de rappeler que, dans le cadre des mesures de soutien corona, le quota étudiant sera neutralisé pour le troisième trimestre 2021. Cela signifie que les heures de travail étudiant effectuées dans la période du 1er juillet 2021 au 30 septembre 2021 ne seront pas facturés sur le quota de 475 heures par année civile.

Contrairement aux trois trimestres précédents, cette neutralisation s'applique à tous les étudiants de tous les employeurs.


Ce bulletin ne traite que d'un certain nombre d'aspects du travail des étudiants. Si vous avez des questions sur le travail étudiant, ou si vous souhaitez de l'aide pour rédiger une convention d'étudiant, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter (gael.vandersteene@vsadvocaten.be).


[1] Niveau 2 : une amende administrative de 200 à 2 000 euros, ou une amende pénale de 400 à 4 000 euros.
[2] Niveau 4 : Une amende administrative de 2 400 à 24 000 euros, ou une amende pénale de 4 800 à 48 000 euros et/ou une peine d'emprisonnement de 6 mois à 3 ans.

fr_BEFR