What if your articles of association have not yet been amended?

Since January 1, 2020, the new Companies and Associations Code applies to all companies and associations

With the turn of the year, the second phase of the entry into force of the new Code of Companies and Associations (CCA) is also announced. From January 1, 2020, the CAC will apply to every company and association [*1]. However, this does not mean that all companies had to adapt their articles of association to the CAC by 1 January 2020. The legislator allowed time until 1 January 2024 for this [*2]. But is this delay a curse or a blessing?

HOWEVER, MANDATORY LAW TAKES PRIORITY OVER YOUR ARTICLES…

If you have not yet amended the articles of association of your company, caution is advised. The mandatory provisions of the CAC that relate to your company will from now on take precedence over your articles of association. So inform yourself in good time about the legal validity of your articles of association under the new law, and do not just assume that the decisions of your administrative body or your general meeting have been legally taken under the new CAC.

Some striking changes for the bvba

A BVBA is automatically subject to the mandatory provisions of the BV. Uncertainty is an advantage in this area: after all, the legislator did not determine in an exhaustive manner which provisions are mandatory in nature. The Explanatory Memorandum to the CAC does provide a certain direction.

  • From now on, every bvba must use the legal form BV on invoices and other documents.
  • Directors of companies and associations are now jointly and severally liable for all errors made by the directors in the performance of their duties. Under the old regime, joint and several liability only existed for violations of the law or of the statutes. Although the liability of the directors is limited in scope, please read in our previous post that the cap seems to be a measure for nothing. Moreover, statutory exoneration clauses or indemnification clauses are no longer valid in any case. So definitely consider insurance for your directors' liability.
  • Directors are no longer allowed to participate in the deliberation and voting on the agenda items in which they have a conflict of interest. They must disclose this conflict of interest to the other directors in advance. In addition, to prevent abuse, the abstention must be explicitly noted, under penalty of – in certain circumstances – the nullity of the board decision and the liability of the directors involved.
  • From now on, directors can no longer be associated with the company in that capacity by an employment contract.
  • Attention for boards of directors in which a person sits in several capacities (eg on the one hand as a natural person and on the other hand as a permanent representative of a legal person). This is no longer valid. The permanent representative must be a natural person who is not yet seated in another capacity, on pain of the invalidity of the board decision. So appoint a new permanent representative in good time!
  • A BV can only make a profit distribution if it passes the net asset test and the liquidity test, ie if its net assets do not become negative after the distribution and if the company can still pay its reasonably foreseeable debts after the distribution for a period of twelve months. It is recommended that every decision of the governing body to distribute profits is thoroughly documented. Wrongful distributions can be recovered from shareholders. The directors also risk being held liable.
  • The issue of new shares requires, on pain of nullity, a report prepared by the board of directors in which the determined issue price is justified and the consequences for the equity and membership rights of the shareholders are described. If the company has a statutory auditor, he must confirm the financial and accounting data from this report. Shareholders may waive this reporting obligation for the board of directors, except in the case of a contribution in kind.
  • Statutory transfer restrictions must be reported in the share register and conflicting transfers are not objectionable to the company or to third parties. If a shareholders' agreement contains transfer restrictions, these must be entered in the share register at the request of a shareholder. Don't forget to do this!

Some notable changes for the cvba

  • Under the new code, the cvba will become a CV. Consequently, from now on a cvba must use the legal form CV on invoices and other documents.
  • What is new in the CAC, however, is that this legal form is reserved for companies with a genuine cooperative idea [*3]. The non-cooperative CVBAs must convert into a BV (or another legal form) before 1 January 2024.

Pending this transformation, the mandatory provisions of the BV (and therefore not the CV!) apply to the non-cooperative CVBAs. In other words: without an amendment to the articles of association, a non-cooperative cvba will thus have to call itself a CV, but will be subject to the mandatory provisions of BV law (as described in the previous point). Cooperative CVBAs, on the other hand, must apply the mandatory provisions of the CV.

Are you unsure whether you should apply the provisions of the BV or the CV from now on? Inform yourself in good time.

…BUT YOUR ARTICLES STILL TAKE PRIORITY OVER THE ADDITIONAL LAW!

The provisions of the CAC that are not mandatory in nature do not yet automatically apply. Your articles of association may therefore still deviate from the new law. Mind you, in view of the modernization and flexibility that the new code entails, this is not necessarily a good thing. The more flexible provisions of the CAC do not apply if your articles of association paraphrase the old, usually stricter law.

Consider, for example, the written decision-making of the administrative body. The new law provides that the board of directors may meet in writing, subject to unanimity, unless the articles of association prohibit this. Under the old law, a board of directors could only meet in writing under exceptional, urgent circumstances motivated in the light of the company's interests, and then only if the company's articles of association allowed this. If your articles of association allow written decision-making, they will probably have adopted these (strict) conditions. In that case, you cannot now invoke the more flexible new law.

The CAC provides for a number of other optional provisions that will only come into effect as soon as your articles of association provide for this, e.g. free transferability of the shares in the BV, multiple voting rights, preferential dividends, cancellation of the pre-emptive right in the BV, exclusion and withdrawal at the expense of the company's assets, etc.

If you want to fully enjoy the benefits of the CAC, you must therefore adjust the articles of association of your company.

IN SHORT: TIME IS (NOT) ON YOUR SIDE

The phased entry into force of the CAC gives companies and associations sufficient time to adapt their articles of association to this change. However, time is not necessarily a blessing in this context. The complexity surrounding the applicable legal rules (see point 1) and the statutory stumbling blocks that stand in the way of the application of the usually modern, flexible new law (see point 2) may do your company more harm than good.

OUR ADVICE?

Join the story of the WVV. Have your articles of association examined and opt for clarity, flexibility and modernisation. In the end, no one escapes an amendment to the articles of association, and in our opinion it is absolutely true: better early than late.

* * *

[*1] Companies and associations that were established after 1 May 2019 or that have since voluntarily submitted to the CAC (the so-called opt-in) fall outside the scope of this contribution. Only the CAC applies to these companies and associations. Associations are also not included in this contribution.

[*2] On the understanding that these companies must conform their articles of association to the CAC with the next amendment of the articles of association from 1 January 2020.

[*3] Article 6:1 of the CAC defines the cooperative idea as meeting the needs of its shareholders or third interested parties and/or developing their economic and social activities, including by concluding agreements with them on the supply of goods, the provision of services or the execution of works in the context of the activity that the cooperative company carries out or has carried out.

en_GBEN

Wat als uw statuten nog niet zijn aangepast?

Depuis le 1er janvier 2020, le nouveau Code des sociétés et associations s'applique à toutes les sociétés et associations

Au tournant de l'année, la deuxième phase de l'entrée en vigueur du nouveau Code des sociétés et des associations (CCA) est également annoncée. A partir du 1er janvier 2020, le CAC s'appliquera à toutes les entreprises et associations [*1]. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que toutes les entreprises devaient adapter leurs statuts au CAC d'ici le 1er janvier 2020. Le législateur a accordé un délai jusqu'au 1er janvier 2024 pour cette [*2]. Mais ce retard est-il une malédiction ou une bénédiction ?

TOUTEFOIS, LE DROIT IMPERATIF PREND LA PRIORITÉ SUR VOS ARTICLES…

Si vous n'avez pas encore modifié les statuts de votre société, la prudence est de mise. Les dispositions impératives du CAC relatives à votre société priment désormais sur vos statuts. Informez-vous donc en temps utile sur la validité juridique de vos statuts sous la nouvelle loi, et ne partez pas du principe que les décisions de votre organe d'administration ou de votre assemblée générale ont été prises légalement sous le nouveau CAC.

Quelques changements marquants pour la sprl

Une SPRL est automatiquement soumise aux dispositions impératives de la BV. L'incertitude est un avantage dans ce domaine : après tout, le législateur n'a pas déterminé de manière exhaustive quelles dispositions sont de nature impérative. L'exposé des motifs au CAC fournit une certaine orientation.

  • Désormais, chaque sprl doit utiliser la forme juridique BV sur les factures et autres documents.
  • Les administrateurs de sociétés et d'associations sont désormais solidairement responsables de toutes les erreurs commises par les administrateurs dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions. Sous l'ancien régime, la responsabilité solidaire n'existait que pour les infractions à la loi ou aux statuts. Bien que la responsabilité des administrateurs soit limitée, veuillez lire dans notre précédent post que le plafond semble être une mesure pour rien. Par ailleurs, les clauses statutaires d'exonération ou d'indemnisation ne sont plus valables dans tous les cas. Pensez donc à souscrire à une assurance responsabilité civile de vos administrateurs.
  • Les administrateurs ne sont plus autorisés à participer à la délibération et au vote sur les points de l'ordre du jour pour lesquels ils sont en conflit d'intérêts. Ils doivent divulguer au préalable ce conflit d'intérêts aux autres administrateurs. En outre, pour éviter les abus, l'abstention doit être expressément constatée sous peine, dans certaines circonstances, de nullité de la décision du conseil et de la responsabilité des administrateurs concernés.
  • Désormais, les administrateurs ne peuvent plus être associés à la société en cette qualité par un contrat de travail.
  • Attention aux conseils d'administration dans lesquels une personne siège à plusieurs titres (par exemple en tant que personne physique d'une part et en tant que représentant permanent d'une personne morale d'autre part). Ce n'est plus valable. Le représentant permanent doit être une personne physique qui ne siège pas encore à un autre titre, sous peine de nullité de la décision du conseil. Désignez donc un nouveau représentant permanent en temps utile !
  • Une BV ne peut distribuer de bénéfices que si elle réussit le test de l'actif net et le test de liquidité, c'est-à-dire si ses actifs nets ne deviennent pas négatifs après la distribution et si la société peut encore payer ses dettes raisonnablement prévisibles après la distribution pendant une période de douze mois. Il est recommandé que chaque décision de l'organe directeur de distribuer des bénéfices soit soigneusement documentée. Les distributions injustifiées peuvent être récupérées auprès des actionnaires. Les administrateurs risquent également d'être tenus responsables.
  • L'émission d'actions nouvelles nécessite, à peine de nullité, un rapport dressé par le conseil d'administration dans lequel le prix d'émission déterminé est justifié et les conséquences sur le capital et les droits sociaux des actionnaires sont décrites. Si la société dispose d'un commissaire aux comptes, celui-ci doit confirmer les données financières et comptables de ce rapport. Les actionnaires peuvent renoncer à cette obligation de déclaration au conseil d'administration, sauf en cas d'apport en nature.
  • Les restrictions légales de transfert doivent être signalées dans le registre des actions et les transferts contradictoires ne sont pas répréhensibles pour la société ou pour des tiers. Si un pacte d'actionnaires contient des restrictions de transfert, celles-ci doivent être inscrites au registre des actions à la demande d'un actionnaire. N'oubliez pas de le faire !

Quelques changements notables pour la cvba

  • Sous le nouveau code, la cvba deviendra un CV. Par conséquent, une cvba doit désormais utiliser la forme juridique CV sur les factures et autres documents.
  • Ce qui est cependant nouveau dans le CAC, c'est que cette forme juridique est réservée aux entreprises ayant une véritable idée coopérative [*3]. Les CVBA non coopératives doivent se transformer en BV (ou autre forme juridique) avant le 1er janvier 2024.

En attendant cette transformation, les dispositions impératives de la BV (et donc pas du CV !) s'appliquent aux CVBA non coopératives. En d'autres termes : sans modification des statuts, une cvba non coopérative devra donc s'appeler CV, mais sera soumise aux dispositions impératives de la loi BV (telles que décrites au point précédent). Les CVBA coopératives, quant à elles, doivent appliquer les dispositions impératives du CV.

Vous ne savez pas si vous devez désormais appliquer les dispositions du BV ou du CV ? Informez-vous à temps.

…MAIS VOS ARTICLES PRENENT TOUJOURS LA PRIORITÉ SUR LA LOI SUPPLÉMENTAIRE !

Les dispositions du CAC qui ne sont pas de nature impérative ne s'appliquent pas encore automatiquement. Vos statuts peuvent donc encore déroger à la nouvelle loi. Attention, compte tenu de la modernisation et de la flexibilité qu'implique le nouveau code, ce n'est pas forcément une bonne chose. Les dispositions plus souples du CAC ne s'appliquent pas si vos statuts paraphrasent l'ancienne loi, généralement plus stricte.

Considérons, par exemple, la prise de décision écrite de l'organe administratif. La nouvelle loi prévoit que le conseil d'administration peut se réunir par écrit, à l'unanimité, sauf si les statuts l'interdisent. En vertu de l'ancienne loi, un conseil d'administration ne pouvait se réunir par écrit que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles et urgentes motivées par l'intérêt de la société, et ce uniquement si les statuts de la société le permettaient. Si vos statuts permettent une prise de décision écrite, ils auront probablement adopté ces conditions (strictes). Dans ce cas, vous ne pouvez plus invoquer la nouvelle loi plus souple.

Le CAC prévoit un certain nombre d'autres dispositions facultatives qui n'entreront en vigueur que dès que vos statuts le prévoient, par exemple la libre cessibilité des actions de la BV, les droits de vote multiples, les dividendes préférentiels, la suppression du droit préférentiel de souscription droit dans la BV, exclusion et retrait aux frais de l'actif de la société, etc.

Si vous souhaitez profiter pleinement des avantages du CAC, vous devez donc adapter les statuts de votre société.

EN BREF : LE TEMPS EST (PAS) DE VOTRE CTÉ

L'entrée en vigueur progressive du CAC donne aux entreprises et associations suffisamment de temps pour adapter leurs statuts à cette évolution. Cependant, le temps n'est pas nécessairement une bénédiction dans ce contexte. La complexité entourant les règles juridiques applicables (voir point 1) et les obstacles statutaires qui s'opposent à l'application du nouveau droit généralement moderne et flexible (voir point 2) peuvent faire plus de mal que de bien à votre entreprise.

NOTRE CONSEIL ?

Rejoignez l'histoire de la WVV. Faites réviser vos statuts et optez pour la clarté, la flexibilité et la modernisation. Au final, personne n'échappe à une modification des statuts, et à notre avis c'est tout à fait vrai : mieux vaut tôt que tard.

* * *

[*1] Les entreprises et associations créées après le 1er mai 2019 ou qui se sont depuis volontairement soumises au CAC (appelées opt-in) ne sont pas couvertes par cette cotisation. Seul le CAC s'applique à ces entreprises et associations. Les associations ne sont pas non plus incluses dans cette contribution.

[*2] Etant entendu que ces sociétés devront conformer leurs statuts au CAC avec la prochaine modification des statuts à compter du 1er janvier 2020.

[*3] L'article 6:1 du CAC définit l'idée coopérative comme répondant aux besoins de ses actionnaires ou des tiers intéressés et/ou développant leurs activités économiques et sociales, y compris en concluant avec eux des accords portant sur la fourniture de biens, la prestation de services ou la l'exécution de travaux dans le cadre de l'activité que la société coopérative exerce ou a exercée.

fr_BEFR