Where do you think our morals come from? Online dialogue with Mia De Schampelaere and Walter van Steenbrugge

Date: Tuesday 13 April 2021 20:00

Region: Antwerp

Location: Zoom

Type: Talk evening

Organiser: An organization of the Humanist Association (Flanders) in collaboration with the VKMO – Catholic Network (Netherlands)


The new publication The tamed man (Gompel&Svacina Publishers) is a unique project with contributions from 140 (known and unknown) authors from Flanders and the Netherlands with diverse cultural and ideological backgrounds. Edited by historian Martin Harlaar.

Based on the book, the Humanist Association (Flanders) and the VKMO Katholiek Netwerk (Netherlands) are organizing a series of dialogues with two authors or speakers each with expertise in the themes of ethics and living together.

On Tuesday evening, April 13, lawyer and politician (CD&V) Mia De Schampelaere will have a conversation with lawyer Walter Van Steenbrugge. They, too, are addressing the two pressing questions that are at the heart of this series of dialogues:

What is the origin of morality?

How can people with divergent religious and ideological views still live together harmoniously?

Following the conversation, participants can ask questions via the Q&A feature of the online webinar.

the speakers

Mia De Schampelaere is a lawyer and has a long track record in Belgian politics, including as a Christian Democratic representative, senator, councilor and alderman (CD&V).

We are all vulnerable and no one can escape the brokenness of existence. How do we remain good and courageous when others envy and deceive us, when we can hardly make ends meet to stay alive, when we are threatened with physical or psychological violence? That is a great human challenge. Too big for humans alone?

Walter Van Steenbrugge is a Belgian lawyer, author and criminal lawyer. He gained fame following the murder of veterinarian Karel Van Noppen and recently appeared in the media as a lawyer for general practitioner Joris Van Hove in the notorious euthanasia process involving Tine Nys.

It will be important to teach today's children this international treaty text (the European Convention on Human Rights, ed.) as the basis for a valuable life, rather than being stuffed from birth with absurd expectations and other religious fantasies, often labeled as morality.

Registrations and info

Participation is free, you can register via this link. After registration, participants will receive a link for the Zoom session via email.

More information: secretariat Humanist Association, secretariat@humanistischeverbond.be, T 03 233 70 32 (during working hours).

en_GBEN

D'où pensez-vous que notre morale vient ? Dialogue en ligne avec Mia De Schampelaere et Walter van Steenbrugge

Date : mardi 13 avril 2021 20:00

Région : Anvers

Lieu: Zoom

Type : Soirée de conversation

Organisateur : Une organisation de l'Association Humaniste (Flandre) en collaboration avec le VKMO – Réseau Catholique (Pays-Bas)


La nouvelle parution L'homme apprivoisé (Gompel&Svacina Publishers) est un projet unique avec des contributions de 140 auteurs (connus et inconnus) de Flandre et des Pays-Bas avec des origines culturelles et idéologiques diverses. Edité par l'historien Martin Harlaar.

Sur la base du livre, l'Association Humaniste (Flandre) et le VKMO Katholiek Netwerk (Pays-Bas) organisent une série de dialogues avec deux auteurs ou intervenants ayant chacun une expertise sur les thèmes de l'éthique et du vivre ensemble.

Mardi soir 13 avril, l'avocate et politicienne (CD&V) Mia De Schampelaere s'entretiendra avec l'avocate Walter Van Steenbrugge. Eux aussi abordent les deux questions pressantes qui sont au cœur de cette série de dialogues :

Quelle est l'origine de la morale ?

Comment des personnes ayant des opinions religieuses et idéologiques divergentes peuvent-elles encore vivre ensemble harmonieusement ?

Après la conversation, les participants peuvent poser des questions via la fonction Q&R du webinaire en ligne.

les haut-parleurs

Mia De Schampelaere est avocate et a une longue expérience dans la politique belge, notamment en tant que représentante chrétienne-démocrate, sénatrice, conseillère et échevin (CD&V).

Nous sommes tous vulnérables et personne ne peut échapper à la brisure de l'existence. Comment rester bon et courageux quand les autres nous envient et nous trompent, quand nous avons du mal à joindre les deux bouts pour rester en vie, quand nous sommes menacés de violences physiques ou psychologiques ? C'est un grand défi humain. Trop grand pour les humains seuls ?

Walter Van Steenbrugge est un avocat, auteur et pénaliste belge. Il est devenu célèbre après le meurtre du vétérinaire Karel Van Noppen et est récemment apparu dans les médias en tant qu'avocat du médecin généraliste Joris Van Hove dans le cadre du célèbre processus d'euthanasie impliquant Tine Nys.

Il sera important d'enseigner aux enfants d'aujourd'hui ce texte de traité international (la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme, éd.) comme la base d'une vie précieuse, plutôt que d'être bourré dès la naissance d'attentes absurdes et d'autres fantasmes religieux, souvent qualifiés de moralité.

Inscriptions et infos

La participation est gratuite, vous pouvez vous inscrire via ce relier. Après l'inscription, les participants recevront un lien pour la session Zoom par e-mail.

Plus d'informations : secrétariat de l'Association Humaniste, secretariat@humanistischeverbond.be, T 03 233 70 32 (pendant les heures de travail).

fr_BEFR