BEING FORGOTTEN: A HUMAN RIGHT (Pt. 1)

Usually it's nice to be remembered. However, for some it may be essential to be forgotten, such as for Mr G.

Mr G. was convicted in 1994 for causing a fatal traffic accident. Le Soir published an article on this case in 1994, in which G.'s full name was mentioned. In 2008 . created Le Soir a digital, searchable version of its archives (dating back to 1989). G. wrote to the newspaper in 2010 with the request either to remove the article in question from its archives or to remove his name from the article, invoking the “right to be forgotten”: G. was after all a doctor, so that his (future) patients could easily find the incriminating article by a simple search on his name.

He-who-must-not-be-named

Le Soir refused, whereupon G. the (then) publisher of Le Soir, mr. HURBAIN, before the Belgian court. The court of first instance decided in favor of G. and ordered Hurbain to anonymize the article, after which Hurbain appealed. Also before the appellate judges and even the Court of Cassation, the publisher of Le Soir bone. It Court of Cassation extended “the right to be forgotten” in the context of this dispute unequivocally forward to newspaper archives (Cass. April 29, 2016, C.15.0052.F) and stated plainly that it was “right to (digitally) forget” is inherent in the right to respect for private life.

mr. Hurbain eventually approached the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) with the statement that the order of the Belgian courts to anonymize the archived digital article is a mockery of his right to freedom of expression, freedom of the press and freedom of information. .

To be (or not to be) forgotten?

Be on June 22, 2021 the ECtHR's judgment in this case (Hubain v. Belgium). The judgment sheds a clearer light on the scope of the “right to be forgotten” in the online sphere and provides clear touchstones that should be used when weighing this right against the publisher's and the public's right to freedom of expression.

The Court emphasizes that national courts should be particularly vigilant in granting such requests for anonymization or alteration of the digital version of an archive, although keeping online archives available to the public is not an absolute right. According to the ECtHR, six criteria must be taken into account in this balancing act:

  1. Contribution to a debate of general interest; According to the Court, the inclusion of a document in the digital archives has a different influence on a debate of general interest than the initial publication of the article. Mentioning G. (who was not a public figure) in a road safety article 20 years after the events described did not contribute to a public interest debate;
  2. The reputation of the data subject and the purpose of the article; G. was not a public figure and the offenses for which he was convicted received no media attention at the time (ie 1994) except in Le Soir. The digital archiving of an article about the committed offense may not lead to a kind of “virtual criminal record” for the person concerned. This is all the more important when the person concerned, as in this case G., has served his sentence and has been formally rehabilitated. However, the article created a "virtual criminal record" for him, now that it was prominently displayed every time someone looked up his name online;
  3. The data subject's behavior towards the media; At no point did G. contact the media to publicize his situation, neither when the article first appeared in 1994, nor when it was made available online in 2008;
  4. The content, form and effect of the publication; The scope of digital archives is greater and the consequences for the privacy of the named persons are thus more far-reaching (than with physical archives). These effects are amplified by virtual search engines. As for the impact of the publication in question, a search for G.'s name on the website of Le Soir or Google the article to the top, so that keeping the article online would seriously damage G.'s reputation indefinitely, while ex-prisoners should be given the opportunity to rebuild their lives over time, without having to are confronted with the mistakes of their past.
  5. How the information was obtained and its veracity; The Court emphasized that it was not contested that the original disclosure of the information in question had been lawful;  
  6. The seriousness of the measure imposed on the applicant; According to the Court, the nature of the measure imposed in this case safeguarded the integrity of the archived article, since only the online version of the article had to be anonymised, whereby the publisher was allowed to retain the original digital and paper archives. So it was not the article itself, but its accessibility on the newspaper's website le soir, which was affected by the measure. According to the Court, the anonymization of G. in the online article did not constitute an excessively strict sanction, so that the freedom of expression of Mr. Hurbain was not disproportionately affected.

With these six criteria, the ECtHR again seeks to reconcile with its previous case law (Axel Springer v. Germany) and concludes that the right to freedom of expression (Art. 10 ECHR) of the publisher and the public was not violated in this case and the right to respect for private life (Art. 8 ECHR) prevails. The Court also emphasizes that this conclusion cannot be interpreted as an obligation for the (online) media to systematically purify their archives and that they should only do so in response to a concrete (and justified) individual request to do so.

These touchstones can also be usefully used in the context of deletion requests in accordance with art. 17(1)(c) of the General Data Protection Regulation. Under this provision, it is possible to request the erasure of personal data in search engines, insofar as the operator of the search engine in question does not have “serious justified reasons” can demonstrate for refusing such request for erasure. To make this assessment, in accordance with the European “guidelines”, inspiration is drawn from the balance that the ECtHR seeks in press matters.

... To be continued

Only one of the seven judges who examined the case voiced a dissenting voice: for example, Judge Pavli fears that with this decision the Court will open the doors to indiscriminate and unrestrained censorship of press archives. According to him, the decision of his six colleagues is at odds with the ECtHR's own established case law on the integrity and essential role of press archives, as well as with the growing consensus in Europe on the application of the “right to be forgotten”.

Also the publisher of Le Soir (once again) did not accept this judgment of the ECtHR and requested a referral of the case to the Grand Chamber of the ECtHR. On October 11, 2021, a five-person team decided ECtHR 'referral panel' to refer the matter to the full Grand Chamber. A sensitive and for the time being unresolved debate that will undoubtedly spark the plenary session of the Grand Chamber on 9 March 2022 in Strasbourg.

Serious matter of public interest: quid for JC and others c. Belgium ?

It is highly exceptional that cases are referred to the Grand Chamber (composed of 17 judges) with a view to re-evaluation. The applicant must be able to demonstrate that the casea serious matter of public interest'  Re, 'which, by their very nature and their legal, social and political implications, could seriously affect the extent and scope of the protection afforded by the Convention”. Statistics show that only 5% of all referral requests are granted. In the business Hurbain v Belgium the European Court apparently considered the social importance to be great enough for a referral.

This offers interesting perspectives for the possible referral of the case JC and others t. Belgium,On October 12, 2021, in this case, the ECtHR ruled that the immunity of the Holy See takes precedence over the right of survivors of sexual abuse to have their case heard by an independent civil court. The victims will try to obtain the referral to the Grand Chamber. It remains to be seen whether the referral panel will also find the social interest in this file significant enough.

en_GBEN

ÊTRE OUBLIÉ : UN DROIT DE L'HOMME (Pt. 1)

D'habitude, c'est agréable d'être rappelé. Cependant, pour certains, il peut être essentiel de se faire oublier, comme pour M. G.

MG fut condamné en 1994 pour avoir causé un accident mortel de la circulation. Le Soir publie un article sur cette affaire en 1994, dans lequel le nom complet de G. est mentionné. En 2008. créé Le Soir une version numérique consultable de ses archives (datant de 1989). G. a écrit au journal en 2010 avec la demande soit de retirer l'article en question de ses archives, soit de retirer son nom de l'article, invoquant le «droit à l'oubli» : G. était après tout médecin, si bien que ses (futurs) patients pouvaient facilement trouver l'article incriminé par une simple recherche sur son nom.

Celui qui ne doit pas être nommé

Le Soir refusé, sur quoi G. l'éditeur (alors) de Le Soir, Monsieur. HURBAIN, devant le tribunal belge. Le tribunal de première instance a tranché en faveur de G. et a ordonné à Hurbain d'anonymiser l'article, après quoi Hurbain a fait appel. Devant également les juges d'appel et même la Cour de cassation, l'éditeur de Le Soir OS. Ce Cour de cassation élargi "le droit à l'oubli" dans le cadre de ce litige transmettre sans équivoque aux archives de journaux (Cass. 29 avril 2016, C.15.0052.F) et a déclaré clairement que c'était "droit d'oublier (numériquement)» est inhérent au droit au respect de la vie privée.

M. Hurbain a finalement approché la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme (CEDH) en déclarant que l'ordonnance des tribunaux belges d'anonymiser l'article numérique archivé est une parodie de son droit à la liberté d'expression, à la liberté de la presse et à la liberté d'information. .

Être (ou ne pas être) oublié ?

Soyez le 22 juin 2021 l'arrêt de la Cour EDH dans cette affaire (Hubain c. Belgique). L’arrêt éclaire plus clairement la portée de la «droit à l'oubli" dans la sphère en ligne et fournit des pierres de touche claires qui devraient être utilisées pour évaluer ce droit par rapport au droit de l'éditeur et du public à la liberté d'expression.

La Cour souligne que les juridictions nationales doivent être particulièrement vigilantes lorsqu'elles accèdent à de telles demandes d'anonymisation ou de modification de la version numérique d'une archive, bien que la mise à disposition du public d'archives en ligne ne soit pas un droit absolu. Selon la Cour EDH, six critères doivent être pris en compte dans cet exercice d'équilibre :

  1. Contribution à un débat d'intérêt général ; Selon la Cour, l'inclusion d'un document dans les archives numériques a une influence différente sur un débat d'intérêt général que la publication initiale de l'article. La mention de G. (qui n'était pas une personnalité publique) dans un article sur la sécurité routière 20 ans après les événements décrits n'a pas contribué à un débat d'intérêt public ;
  2. La réputation de la personne concernée et le but de l'article ; G. n'était pas une personnalité publique et les délits pour lesquels il a été condamné n'ont pas retenu l'attention des médias à l'époque (c'est-à-dire en 1994), sauf en Le Soir. L'archivage numérique d'un article sur l'infraction commise ne peut pas conduire à une sorte de «casier judiciaire virtuel» pour la personne concernée. Ceci est d'autant plus important que la personne concernée, comme en l'espèce G., a purgé sa peine et a été formellement réhabilitée. Cependant, l'article a créé un "casier judiciaire virtuel" pour lui, maintenant qu'il était affiché bien en évidence chaque fois que quelqu'un cherchait son nom en ligne;
  3. Le comportement de la personne concernée envers les médias ; A aucun moment G. n'a contacté les médias pour faire connaître sa situation, ni lors de la première parution de l'article en 1994, ni lors de sa mise en ligne en 2008 ;
  4. Le contenu, la forme et l'effet de la publication; La portée des archives numériques est plus grande et les conséquences pour la vie privée des personnes nommées sont donc plus importantes (que pour les archives physiques). Ces effets sont amplifiés par les moteurs de recherche virtuels. Quant à l'impact de la publication en cause, une recherche du nom de G. sur le site de Le Soir ou Google l'article vers le haut, de sorte que le maintien de l'article en ligne porterait gravement atteinte à la réputation de G. indéfiniment, tandis que les ex-détenus devraient avoir la possibilité de reconstruire leur vie dans la durée, sans avoir à être confrontés aux erreurs de leur passé.
  5. Comment l'information a été obtenue et sa véracité; La Cour a souligné qu'il n'était pas contesté que la divulgation initiale des informations en question avait été licite ;  
  6. La gravité de la mesure imposée au requérant ; Selon la Cour, la nature de la mesure imposée dans cette affaire préservait l'intégrité de l'article archivé, puisque seule la version en ligne de l'article devait être rendue anonyme, l'éditeur étant autorisé à conserver les archives numériques et papier originales. Ce n'était donc pas l'article lui-même, mais son accessibilité sur le site du journal le soir, qui a été touché par la mesure. Selon la Cour, l'anonymisation de G. dans l'article en ligne ne constituait pas une sanction trop sévère, de sorte que la liberté d'expression de M. Hurbain n'a pas été affecté de manière disproportionnée.

Avec ces six critères, la Cour EDH cherche à nouveau à se réconcilier avec sa jurisprudence antérieure (Axel Springer c. Allemagne) et conclut que le droit à la liberté d'expression (art. 10 CEDH) de l'éditeur et du public n'a pas été violé en l'espèce et que le droit au respect de la vie privée (art. 8 CEDH) prévaut. La Cour souligne également que cette conclusion ne saurait être interprétée comme une obligation pour les médias (en ligne) d'épurer systématiquement leurs archives et qu'ils ne devraient le faire qu'en réponse à une demande individuelle concrète (et justifiée) en ce sens.

Ces pierres de touche peuvent également être utilement utilisées dans le cadre de demandes de suppression conformément à l'art. 17(1)(c) du Règlement général sur la protection des données. En vertu de cette disposition, il est possible de demander l'effacement des données personnelles dans les moteurs de recherche, à condition que l'opérateur du moteur de recherche en question n'ait pas "raisons sérieuses justifiées» peut démontrer pour avoir refusé une telle demande d'effacement. Pour procéder à cette évaluation, conformément aux européenne "des lignes directrices", l'inspiration est tirée de l'équilibre recherché par la Cour EDH en matière de presse.

... À suivre

Un seul des sept juges qui ont examiné l'affaire a exprimé une voix dissidente : par exemple, le juge Pavli craint qu'avec cette décision la Cour n'ouvre les portes à une censure aveugle et effrénée des archives de presse. Selon lui, la décision de ses six collègues est en contradiction avec la jurisprudence établie de la Cour EDH sur l'intégrité et le rôle essentiel des archives de presse, ainsi qu'avec le consensus croissant en Europe sur l'application de la «droit à l'oubli”.

Aussi l'éditeur de Le Soir (encore une fois) n'a pas accepté cet arrêt de la Cour EDH et a demandé le renvoi de l'affaire devant la Grande Chambre de la Cour EDH. Le 11 octobre 2021, une équipe de cinq personnes a décidé "Comité de référence" de la CEDH de renvoyer l'affaire à l'ensemble de la Grande Chambre. Un débat sensible et pour l'instant non tranché qui suscitera sans doute la session plénière de la Grande Chambre le 9 mars 2022 à Strasbourg.

Affaire grave d'intérêt public : quid pour JC et autres c. Belgique ?

Il est tout à fait exceptionnel que des affaires soient renvoyées devant la Grande Chambre (composée de 17 juges) en vue d'une réévaluation. Le demandeur doit être en mesure de démontrer que le casune question grave d'intérêt public »  concerne, 'qui, par leur nature même et leurs implications juridiques, sociales et politiques, pourraient gravement affecter l'étendue et la portée de la protection offerte par la Convention ». Les statistiques montrent que seulement 5% de toutes les demandes de recommandation sont accordées. Dans le business Hurbain contre Belgique la Cour européenne a apparemment considéré que l'importance sociale était suffisamment grande pour justifier un renvoi.

Cela offre des perspectives intéressantes pour l'éventuel renvoi de l'affaire JC et autres t. Belgique,Le 12 octobre 2021, dans cette affaire, la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme a statué que l'immunité du Saint-Siège prévaut sur le droit des victimes d'abus sexuels à faire entendre leur cause par un tribunal civil indépendant. Les victimes tenteront d'obtenir le renvoi devant la Grande Chambre. Reste à savoir si le panel de saisine trouvera également l'intérêt social de ce dossier suffisamment significatif.

fr_BEFR