Don't forget your obligations under the UBO register!

In recent years there has been a lot of talk about the introduction of the UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner) register. This was a direct consequence of the implementation of the anti-money laundering guidelines in Belgian law. The modalities of this UBO register were elaborated in the Royal Decree of 30 July 2018, which was amended by the Royal Decree of 23 September 2020.

In the context of the UBO register, there are two important obligations that must be fulfilled no later than 30 April 2021.

1) Addition of supporting documents

Pursuant to the Royal Decree of September 23, 2020, entities obliged to provide information (companies, associations, foundations, etc.) must add supporting documents with regard to the information registered in the UBO register. They decide for themselves which documents they wish to add, but according to the administration, the following documents certainly qualify: extract from the share register, articles of association, shareholders' agreement, notarial deed, ... .

This obligation has been in effect since October 11, 2020. Entities subject to disclosure that had already completed their registration in the UBO register before October 11, 2020, enjoy a tolerance period until April 30, 2021.

2) Annual confirmation of the registered information

The entities obliged to provide information also have an additional obligation to annually confirm the correctness of the information registered in the UBO register. In this way, the accuracy and correctness of the UBO register is guaranteed.

The period for confirmations starts to run from the last change in the UBO register. For registrations that were carried out before April 30, 2020, an automatic confirmation was entered by the administration on April 30, 2020. Entities subject to reporting obligations that had therefore performed their registration in the UBO register before April 30, 2020 must enter the information in the UBO for the first time. -register on April 30, 2021.

In addition to this annual confirmation, it should not be forgotten that there is in any case an obligation to register any change to the registered information in the UBO register within one month after the change.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you would like additional information or assistance with this legal obligation! (stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be)

en_GBEN

Vergeet uw verplichtingen in het kader van het UBO-register niet!

Ces dernières années, on a beaucoup parlé de l'introduction du registre UBO (Ultimate Beneficial Owner). Il s'agit d'une conséquence directe de la mise en œuvre des lignes directrices anti-blanchiment en droit belge. Les modalités de ce registre UBO ont été précisées dans l'arrêté royal du 30 juillet 2018, qui a été modifié par l'arrêté royal du 23 septembre 2020.

Dans le cadre du registre UBO, il existe deux obligations importantes qui doivent être remplies au plus tard le 30 avril 2021.

1) Ajout de pièces justificatives

En application de l'arrêté royal du 23 septembre 2020, les entités tenues de fournir des informations (entreprises, associations, fondations, etc.) doivent joindre des pièces justificatives concernant les informations inscrites au registre UBO. Ils décident eux-mêmes des documents qu'ils souhaitent ajouter, mais selon l'administration, les documents suivants sont certainement éligibles : extrait du registre des actions, statuts, pacte d'actionnaires, acte notarié, ... .

Cette obligation est en vigueur depuis le 11 octobre 2020. Les entités soumises à déclaration ayant déjà effectué leur inscription au registre UBO avant le 11 octobre 2020, bénéficient d'une période de tolérance jusqu'au 30 avril 2021.

2) Confirmation annuelle des informations enregistrées

Les entités tenues de fournir des informations ont également une obligation supplémentaire de confirmer chaque année l'exactitude des informations enregistrées dans le registre UBO. De cette manière, l'exactitude et l'exactitude du registre UBO sont garanties.

Le délai de confirmation commence à courir à compter de la dernière modification du registre UBO. Pour les inscriptions effectuées avant le 30 avril 2020, une confirmation automatique a été saisie par l'administration le 30 avril 2020. Les entités soumises à des obligations déclaratives qui s'étaient donc inscrites au registre UBO avant le 30 avril 2020 doivent saisir les informations dans le UBO pour la première fois. -Inscrivez-vous le 30 avril 2021.

En plus de cette confirmation annuelle, il ne faut pas oublier qu'il existe en tout état de cause une obligation d'enregistrer toute modification des informations enregistrées dans le registre UBO dans un délai d'un mois après la modification.

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez des informations complémentaires ou une assistance concernant cette obligation légale ! (stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be)

fr_BEFR