tourists

In his column entitled 'BAS' (De Morgen, 11 May 2020) Hans Vandeweghe takes a hard look at the arbitrators of the Belgian Arbitration Court for Sport.

He says that those arbitrators are lawyers without exception and calls them “tourists, trained to make a hundred and one arguments to sow confusion”.

Quite apart from Vandeweghe's very subjective impressions of the expertise of these lawyer-arbitrators and the fact that new documents may still be used for the BAS, it is wrong that all members of the BAS consist of lawyers. There are numerous magistrates, professors, financial experts, physicians and corporate lawyers who appear on the list of BAS arbitrators. They are admitted to this list by a nomination committee made up of magistrates and professors. Moreover, the BAS is subject to the arbitration rules of the Judicial Code and claims can be brought against the arbitral decisions before a civil court. Not exactly a tourist club I think.

The author, on the other hand, praises the licensing commission. He says that this committee is chaired by an experienced professional judge (which is correct) but then Hans Vandeweghe completes his sentence as follows:and its members (the Licensing Committee) include the license manager, about whom everyone agrees that the man knows his job, a civil-law notary and a company auditor, both with years of experience”.

The author's second mistake is that the license manager is not a member of the licensing committee at all, and certainly shouldn't be.

The license manager belongs to the “Licensing Department of the Belgian Football Association” which should be completely independent of all parties involved. That is literally what it says in the Federal Regulations.

To this end, this license manager must sign a declaration of independence every year. His job is to give advice to the licensing committee, but he is absolutely not allowed to judge, as the author of the column wrongly suggests, which is a fundamental difference.

The misunderstanding is probably due to the perception that is created, now that the current license manager dares to give the impression of deliberation and above all to dispose.

Many clubs (small or amateur) have problems with the amount of power the license manager possesses.

On closer inspection, the license manager accumulates several jobs. In addition to being a license manager, he is also a calendar manager, but above all, with his own company, he is a director and CFO of the NV Pro League, the vehicle that was set up within the non-profit organization Pro League to be able to exploit the television rights of the professional clubs, among other things.

Optimizing the (financial) interests of existing professional clubs within a commercial context and at the same time providing independent advice on applications from amateur clubs to obtain a professional license is at least capable of creating an appearance of partiality. That independence gets a further blow when this license manager literally and figuratively argues against the clubs on the side of the KBVB in front of the BAS.

With cumulative powers, the Royal Belgian Football Association has never had major problems. The chairman of the KBVB is the chairman of a top club, same story with the Pro League.

After all, the interests of the own club do not always align with the interests of the umbrella association.

After the shameless end of the bribery affair (KVM – Waasland-Beveren) last year, the sometimes strange pirouettes within the federal public prosecutor's office, the doubting status of the referees and these unhealthy cumulative effects, the Association may well be able to cope in the corona era.reset”.

This will not work with the members of the BAS burning down as tourists.

A new codex, independent leadership, a referee corps and federal prosecutor's office, each of which comes under a separate agency and has a separate statute, and transparent structures are desperately needed to ensure credibility within football.

en_GBEN

Toeristen

Dans sa rubrique intitulée 'BAS' (De Morgen, le 11 mai 2020) Hans Vandeweghe porte un regard critique sur les arbitres du Tribunal arbitral du sport belge.

Il dit que ces arbitres sont des avocats sans exception et les appelle «touristes, entraînés à faire cent et un arguments pour semer la confusion”.

Indépendamment des impressions très subjectives de Vandeweghe sur l'expertise de ces avocats-arbitres et du fait que de nouveaux documents peuvent encore être utilisés pour le BAS, il est faux que tous les membres du BAS soient constitués d'avocats. De nombreux magistrats, professeurs, experts financiers, médecins et juristes d'entreprise figurent sur la liste des arbitres du BAS. Ils sont admis sur cette liste par une commission de nomination composée de magistrats et de professeurs. De plus, le BAS est soumis aux règles d'arbitrage du Code judiciaire et des réclamations peuvent être formées contre les décisions arbitrales devant un tribunal civil. Pas exactement un club touristique je pense.

L'auteur, en revanche, fait l'éloge de la commission des licences. Il dit que ce comité est présidé par un juge professionnel expérimenté (ce qui est correct) mais ensuite Hans Vandeweghe complète sa phrase comme suit :et parmi ses membres (la Commission des Licences) figurent le gestionnaire de licence, dont tout le monde s'accorde à dire que l'homme connaît son métier, un notaire et un commissaire aux comptes, tous deux avec des années d'expérience ».

La deuxième erreur de l'auteur est que le gestionnaire de licence n'est pas du tout membre du comité des licences, et ne devrait certainement pas l'être.

Le gestionnaire de licence appartient au «Service des Licences de l'Association Belge de Football” qui devrait être complètement indépendant de toutes les parties impliquées. C'est littéralement ce que dit la réglementation fédérale.

A cet effet, ce gestionnaire de licence doit signer chaque année une déclaration d'indépendance. Son travail consiste à donner des conseils au comité des licences, mais il n'a absolument pas le droit de juger, comme le suggère à tort l'auteur de la chronique, ce qui est une différence fondamentale.

L'incompréhension est probablement due à la perception qui se crée, maintenant que l'actuel gestionnaire de licence ose donner l'impression de délibération et surtout de disposer.

De nombreux clubs (petits ou amateurs) ont des problèmes avec la quantité de pouvoir dont dispose le gestionnaire de licence.

A y regarder de plus près, le gestionnaire de licence cumule plusieurs emplois. En plus d'être gestionnaire de licence, il est également gestionnaire de calendrier, mais surtout, avec sa propre entreprise, il est directeur et directeur financier de la NV Pro League, le véhicule qui a été mis en place au sein de l'asbl Pro League. pouvoir exploiter les droits télévisuels des clubs professionnels, entre autres.

Optimiser les intérêts (financiers) des clubs professionnels existants dans un contexte commercial et en même temps fournir des conseils indépendants sur les demandes des clubs amateurs pour obtenir une licence professionnelle est au moins susceptible de créer une apparence de partialité. Cette indépendance reçoit un coup supplémentaire lorsque ce gestionnaire de licence argumente au propre comme au figuré contre les clubs du côté du KBVB devant le BAS.

Avec des pouvoirs cumulatifs, l'Association Royale Belge de Football n'a jamais eu de problèmes majeurs. Le président de la KBVB est le président d'un club de haut niveau, même histoire avec la Pro League.

Après tout, les intérêts du propre club ne correspondent pas toujours aux intérêts de l'association faîtière.

Après la fin éhontée de l'affaire de corruption (KVM – Waasland-Beveren) l'année dernière, les pirouettes parfois étranges au sein du parquet fédéral, le statut douteux des arbitres et ces effets cumulatifs malsains, l'Association pourrait bien faire face en l'ère corona.réinitialiser”.

Cela ne fonctionnera pas si les membres de la BAS brûlent en tant que touristes.

Un nouveau codex, une direction indépendante, un corps d'arbitres et un bureau du procureur fédéral, chacun relevant d'une agence distincte et ayant un statut distinct, et des structures transparentes sont désespérément nécessaires pour assurer la crédibilité du football.

fr_BEFR