SPORTS SPONSORSHIP

Sponsorship is ubiquitous in the sports world and a number of media reports have recently appeared about it. Think of the reporting about the (circumstances of the) termination of the sponsorship contract between Nike and Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior and the extension of the sponsorship contract by Quick.Step for the cycling team of the same name. In addition, as a result of the upcoming EURO 2020, we will also see our Red Devils reappear in numerous advertising campaigns from official sponsors of the Royal Belgian Football Association.

This offers us the opportunity to briefly reflect on 'sports sponsorship'.

The sponsorship contract: no specific legal framework

There is no specific national legal regulation for (sports) sponsorship contracts. In the absence of a specific legislative framework, a sponsorship contract is drawn up without form and the content must fall back on the provisions of general contract law and the common law provisions from, for example, contracting or renting.

Parties to the sponsorship contract

A sponsorship contract is concluded between a sponsor (the party paying a fee) and a sponsored (the party that agrees to the promotional association and receives compensation for it). This often involves a private company (for example a bank or drinks producer) that sponsors a sports federation, sports club or individual top athlete.

Mutual Commitments

A sponsorship contract implies mutual commitments on the part of the sponsor and sponsor.

In terms of sponsored, this mainly concerns:

  • an association agreement: the establishment of a promotional association between (products of the) sponsor and the sponsorship object;
  • publicizing the promotional association: ensuring media attention and promoting the association;
  • an image commitment: refraining from inappropriate behavior that could negatively affect the sponsor's image (eg, deliberate doping use);
  • a loyalty commitment: to a constructive cooperation and to refrain from negative statements about the sponsor.

For the sponsor it concerns:

  • paying a sponsorship fee (in cash and/or in kind) to the sponsor;
  • an image commitment: refraining from inappropriate behavior that could negatively affect the sponsor's image (eg acting fraudulently);
  • a loyalty commitment: an equivalent commitment as in respect of the sponsored person.

Building on the mutual commitments, the sponsorship agreement therefore provides for, for example, the modalities of the sponsorship compensation to be received/paid and the stipulations of circumstances that offer one of the parties the possibility to terminate the sponsorship agreement immediately (for example as a result of doping practices or fraudulent acts).

Sponsorship and taxation

Sponsoring is in principle, subject to certain conditions, 100% tax-deductible as a professional expense if the sponsorship gives rise to publicity for the company (eg logo or name on clothing or boarding).

In principle, VAT is also deductible. A distinction must be made in this regard, depending on whether sponsorship is in cash or in kind.

In the case of sponsorship 'in cash', the VAT is fully deductible if the advertising character can be demonstrated and on receipt of a compliant invoice. In the case of sponsorship 'in kind', the VAT on the purchase invoice of the freely transferred property is deductible if the price does not exceed 50.00 euros (excl. VAT). If the value is higher, the VAT can only be recovered if the advertising character is proven and both the sponsor (for the delivery of the goods) and the sponsor (for the advertising) draw up an invoice.

summarizing

Sports sponsorship is a complex matter in which several things must be taken into account.

A sponsorship contract leads to extra income for the sponsor, while the sponsor can strengthen his image within a specific target audience. In addition, sponsorship on the part of the sponsor is fiscally advantageous, provided certain conditions are met.

It is therefore advisable to pay the necessary attention to drawing up an accurate sponsorship agreement if one wants to avoid conflicts or discussions, between contracting parties or with the tax authorities.

en_GBEN

PARRAINAGE SPORTIF

Le sponsoring est omniprésent dans le monde du sport et de nombreux reportages médiatiques ont récemment fait son apparition à son sujet. Pensez au reportage sur la (circonstances de) la résiliation du contrat de sponsoring entre Nike et Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior et la prolongation du contrat de sponsoring par Quick.Step pour l'équipe cycliste du même nom. De plus, à la suite du prochain EURO 2020, nous verrons également nos Diables rouges réapparaître dans de nombreuses campagnes publicitaires des sponsors officiels de la Royal Belgian Football Association.

Cela nous offre l'opportunité de réfléchir brièvement sur le « sponsoring sportif ».

Le contrat de parrainage : pas de cadre juridique spécifique

Il n'existe pas de réglementation juridique nationale spécifique pour les contrats de sponsoring (sportif). En l'absence de cadre législatif spécifique, un contrat de parrainage est établi sans forme et le contenu doit se rabattre sur les dispositions du droit général des contrats et les dispositions de droit commun issues, par exemple, de la contractualisation ou de la location.

Parties au contrat de parrainage

Un contrat de parrainage est conclu entre un parrain (la partie payant des frais) et un parrainé (la partie qui accepte l'association promotionnelle et reçoit une compensation pour cela). Il s'agit souvent d'une entreprise privée (par exemple une banque ou un producteur de boissons) qui sponsorise une fédération sportive, un club sportif ou un athlète de haut niveau individuel.

Engagements mutuels

Un contrat de parrainage implique des engagements mutuels de la part du parrain et du parrain.

En termes de sponsorisés, cela concerne principalement :

  • un accord d'association : l'établissement d'une association promotionnelle entre (les produits du) parrain et l'objet du parrainage ;
  • faire connaître l'association promotionnelle : assurer l'attention médiatique et promouvoir l'association ;
  • un engagement d'image : s'abstenir de tout comportement inapproprié qui pourrait nuire à l'image du sponsor (par exemple, usage délibéré de dopage) ;
  • un engagement de loyauté : à une coopération constructive et à s'abstenir de déclarations négatives sur le parrain.

Pour le parrain il s'agit :

  • payer des frais de parrainage (en espèces et/ou en nature) au parrain ;
  • un engagement d'image : s'abstenir de tout comportement inapproprié qui pourrait nuire à l'image du sponsor (par exemple agir frauduleusement) ;
  • un engagement de fidélité : un engagement équivalent à celui de la personne parrainée.

S'appuyant sur les engagements mutuels, la convention de parrainage prévoit donc, par exemple, les modalités de l'indemnité de parrainage à percevoir/verser et les stipulations des circonstances qui offrent à l'une des parties la possibilité de résilier immédiatement la convention de parrainage (par exemple résultant de pratiques de dopage ou d'actes frauduleux).

Mécénat et fiscalité

Le parrainage est en principe, sous certaines conditions, 100% déductible fiscalement en tant que dépense professionnelle si le parrainage donne lieu à une publicité pour l'entreprise (ex : logo ou nom sur les vêtements ou le bardage).

En principe, la TVA est également déductible. Une distinction doit être faite à cet égard, selon que le parrainage est en espèces ou en nature.

En cas de parrainage « en espèces », la TVA est entièrement déductible si le caractère publicitaire peut être démontré et à réception d'une facture conforme. En cas de mécénat « en nature », la TVA sur la facture d'achat du bien librement cédé est déductible si le prix n'excède pas 50,00 euros (hors TVA). Si la valeur est supérieure, la TVA ne peut être récupérée que si le caractère publicitaire est prouvé et que le commanditaire (pour la livraison des marchandises) et le commanditaire (pour la publicité) établissent une facture.

résumer

Le sponsoring sportif est une affaire complexe dans laquelle plusieurs éléments doivent être pris en compte.

Un contrat de parrainage génère un revenu supplémentaire pour le parrain, tandis que le parrain peut renforcer son image auprès d'un public cible spécifique. De plus, le parrainage de la part du parrain est fiscalement avantageux, pourvu que certaines conditions soient remplies.

Il convient donc d'apporter l'attention nécessaire à la rédaction d'un contrat de mécénat précis si l'on veut éviter des conflits ou des discussions, entre cocontractants ou avec l'administration fiscale.

fr_BEFR