Solden

You should not expect common sense from top athletes when they are quarantined during the high season. Their profession is already insecure enough and a level of form is champion capriciousness. It is therefore not surprising that a study by the FIFPro shows that not a few football players are depressed. They crave the ball, the sirens in the stands, a close-up on television. But the corona crisis has even put their eyelashes on hold.

I am amazed at the pacifist resilience of football players and cyclists. The lockdown leads nowhere to exuberant grimness. Footballers are often accused of being selfish money grabbers, but in this radical crisis they show their developed civic sense. Cristiano Ronaldo donated 1 million euros for the corona victims, Axel Witsel transferred 100,000 euros to a Liège hospital. Not a trifle, though.

But top athletes must have a perspective, and they don't get that. The course of European football competitions is still up in the air. The organization of the Tour says that La Grande Boucle will be ridden in September, but virologists call that Roman joy. Riders will probably be moping in their backyard torn apart. They feel like disposable items. The self-image also crashes into the ravine.

The price of corona is high.

It is time for a final crisis consultation, there must at least be clarity. Everything is disrupted, including the transfer system. That puts some clubs in need of money, but what is worse, footballers see their commercial value halved. Corona has caused early sales. That may sound nice, but it isn't. The transfer market also needs objective criteria. At least in an attempt to do so.

The suspension of competitions and competitions tests the mental toughness of football players and riders. Always good for big newspaper articles and quasi-literature, but it doesn't help the sport. Half veterans shudder at the last flag, talents lose the courage to subject their bodies to self-discipline. The consequences of the corona crisis will last for a while.

It would be nice if fans and enthusiasts would also take care of the mental state of their heroes. It is precisely in these difficult times that they should be celebrated and applauded. The corona silence hurts doubly. And testosterone is not a medicine for loneliness and feelings of uselessness. If, on top of that, there is also doubt about the survival of the team or the club, belief in the future wavers.

The hearts wither and the legs sour. Reach out to them, our heroes!

* * *

A column written by Hugo Camps for Van Steenbrugge Mediation
Image Hugo Camps © Michiel Hendryckx

en_GBEN

Sölden

Il ne faut pas s'attendre à du bon sens de la part des athlètes de haut niveau lorsqu'ils sont mis en quarantaine pendant la haute saison. Leur métier est déjà assez précaire et un niveau de forme est champion des caprices. Il n'est donc pas étonnant qu'une étude de la FIFPro montre que pas mal de footballeurs sont déprimés. Ils raffolent du bal, des sirènes dans les tribunes, d'un gros plan à la télévision. Mais la crise corona a même mis leurs cils en attente.

Je suis étonné de la résilience pacifiste des footballeurs et des cyclistes. Le verrouillage ne mène nulle part à une grimace exubérante. Les footballeurs sont souvent accusés d'être des accapareurs d'argent égoïstes, mais dans cette crise radicale, ils montrent leur sens civique développé. Cristiano Ronaldo a fait don de 1 million d'euros pour les victimes du corona, Axel Witsel a transféré 100 000 euros à un hôpital liégeois. Pas une bagatelle, cependant.

Mais les athlètes de haut niveau doivent avoir une perspective, et ils ne la comprennent pas. Le déroulement des compétitions européennes de football est toujours en suspens. L'organisation du Tour dit que La Grande Boucle sera courue en septembre, mais les virologues appellent cela la joie romaine. Les coureurs se morfondront probablement dans leur arrière-cour déchirée. Ils se sentent comme des articles jetables. L'image de soi s'écrase également dans le ravin.

Le prix du corona est élevé.

C'est l'heure d'une ultime consultation de crise, il faut au moins qu'il y ait de la clarté. Tout est perturbé, y compris le système de transfert. Cela met certains clubs en manque d'argent, mais ce qui est pire, les footballeurs voient leur valeur commerciale réduite de moitié. Corona a provoqué des ventes précoces. Cela peut sembler bien, mais ce n'est pas le cas. Le marché des transferts a également besoin de critères objectifs. Au moins pour tenter de le faire.

La suspension des compétitions et des compétitions met à l'épreuve la force mentale des joueurs et des coureurs de football. Toujours bon pour les gros articles de journaux et la quasi-littérature, mais cela n'aide pas le sport. Les demi vétérans frémissent au dernier drapeau, les talents perdent le courage de soumettre leur corps à l'autodiscipline. Les conséquences de la crise corona dureront un certain temps.

Ce serait bien si les fans et les passionnés s'occupaient également de l'état mental de leurs héros. C'est précisément en ces temps difficiles qu'ils doivent être célébrés et applaudis. Le silence corona fait doublement mal. Et la testostérone n'est pas un médicament contre la solitude et le sentiment d'inutilité. Si, en plus, il y a aussi un doute sur la survie de l'équipe ou du club, la croyance en l'avenir vacille.

Les cœurs se fanent et les jambes s'aigrent. Contactez-les, nos héros !

* * *

Une chronique écrite par Hugo Camps pour Médiation Van Steenbrugge
Image Hugo Camps © Michiel Hendryckx

fr_BEFR