Discover the possibilities of a private foundation

When organizing an asset and transferring it to the next generation, a company structure is often used. Where until recently a partnership was advised as the main technique, today a private foundation is also a useful instrument. What exactly is a (private) foundation?

Next to an foundation of public utility (for example the Foundation against Cancer), which aims at the public interest, there is also a private foundation.

The private foundation also has a disinterested aim, but does not aim at any public benefit. The private foundation can be used in legal transactions in two ways: either as a certification vehicle or as a pure private foundation.

Private foundation as a certification vehicle

As a certification vehicle, the private foundation can be used to achieve a separation between the legal rights and the economic rights attached to shares. For example, the technique of certification offers the possibility to transfer the economic ownership of a (family) company or group of companies to the next generation, while the legal rights attached to the shares, such as the voting right at the general meeting, are still can be exercised by the transferors through the board of directors of the private foundation (retention). Even after the death of the transferors, the legal rights will be exercised by the board of directors of the private foundation. In this way, the Belgian private foundation can offer an alternative to a trust office foundation established under Dutch law.

A pure private foundation

A purely private foundation is not an issuer of certificates but a full owner of its assets. Contrary to the situation in which it acts as a certification vehicle, there is therefore no separation of legal and economic ownership of the contributed assets. The founder wishes to use all or part of his assets for the realization of a certain disinterested goal. This may relate, for example, to the promotion of the interests of certain persons (and their heirs), or the preservation of a family patrimony (for example, an art collection) over the generations.

You can find more information about the private foundation in the next issue of both VZW Actueel and Accountancy & Taxation. In these articles, Mr. Stefan De Plus, among other things, the characteristics of the private foundation.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you would like more information about the private foundation and its possible application in your situation.

stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be

en_GBEN

Découvrez les possibilités d'une fondation privée

Lors de l'organisation d'un actif et de son transfert à la génération suivante, une structure d'entreprise est souvent utilisée. Là où jusqu'à récemment un partenariat était conseillé comme technique principale, aujourd'hui une fondation privée est également un instrument utile. Qu'est-ce qu'une fondation (privée) exactement ?

A côté d'un fondation d'utilité publique (par exemple la Fondation contre le cancer), qui vise l'intérêt général, il existe également une fondation privée.

Le Fondation privée a également un but désintéressé, mais ne vise pas un bien public. La fondation privée peut être utilisée dans les transactions juridiques de deux manières : soit en tant que véhicule de certification, soit en tant que pure fondation privée.

Fondation privée comme véhicule de certification

En tant que véhicule de certification, la fondation privée peut être utilisée pour réaliser une séparation entre les droits légaux et les droits économiques attachés aux actions. Par exemple, la technique de certification offre la possibilité de transférer la propriété économique d'une entreprise (familiale) ou d'un groupe d'entreprises à la génération suivante, tandis que les droits légaux attachés aux actions, comme le droit de vote à l'assemblée générale, sont peut encore être exercé par les cédants par l'intermédiaire du conseil d'administration de la fondation privée (rétention). Même après le décès des cédants, les droits légaux seront exercés par le conseil d'administration de la fondation privée. De cette manière, la fondation privée belge peut offrir une alternative à une fondation fiduciaire de droit néerlandais.

Une pure fondation privée

Une fondation purement privée n'est pas un émetteur de certificats mais un propriétaire à part entière de ses actifs. Contrairement à la situation dans laquelle il agit en tant que véhicule de certification, il n'y a donc pas de séparation de la propriété juridique et économique des actifs apportés. Le fondateur souhaite utiliser tout ou partie de ses actifs pour la réalisation d'un certain but désintéressé. Il peut s'agir, par exemple, de la promotion des intérêts de certaines personnes (et de leurs héritiers), ou de la préservation d'un patrimoine familial (par exemple, une collection d'art) au fil des générations.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations sur la fondation privée dans le prochain numéro de VZW Actueel et de Comptabilité et fiscalité. Dans ces articles, M. Stefan De Plus, entre autres, les caractéristiques de la fondation privée.

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez plus d'informations sur la fondation privée et son application possible dans votre situation.

stefan.deplus@vsadvocaten.be

fr_BEFR