Useful use of terms and conditions

In a previous contribution we drew attention to the fact that the general terms and conditions of companies (B2B) are due for an update as a result of new legislation. General terms and conditions remain the pre-eminent instrument for creating a clear legal framework for the commercial transactions that the company enters into with its customers. For example, provisions can be included about the payment term, interest and compensation due in the event of non-compliance with the payment obligation, limitations of liability, the competent courts in the event of a dispute, etc.

Just as important as having general terms and conditions that are up to date and valid is that these terms and conditions are also effectively opposable against the co-contracting party. This requires that the contracting partner has been informed of the general terms and conditions before concluding the agreement and has also accepted them. If this is not the case, the general terms and conditions cannot be applied in their entirety.

For example, it is not sufficient to send the general terms and conditions together with the invoice or with an order confirmation. In those cases, the customer has only become aware of the general terms and conditions after the agreement has been concluded.

It is best that the general terms and conditions are signed by the customer prior to the provision of services by the company. In many cases, however, this is difficult to work in practice.

Companies that want to be able to make good use of their general terms and conditions would therefore do well to:

  • to publish the general terms and conditions in full on their website;
  • to send the general terms and conditions with offers;
  • to refer on the front of the invoice (in bold and in a box) to the general terms and conditions stated on the back.

In addition, general terms and conditions must be drawn up in a language that is clear and understandable to the customer. In practice, this means that the general terms and conditions must be drawn up in the language of correspondence between the company and its customer. For example, if a Belgian company has Spanish customers but the working language between them is English, the general terms and conditions must be drawn up in English.

If the general terms and conditions are not accepted by the customer before the conclusion of the agreement or if they are not drawn up in the official language, they will not be enforceable.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you would like advice on your terms and conditions. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten has a business unit that can assist you in this regard. (info@vsadvocaten.be)

en_GBEN

Nuttig gebruik van algemene voorwaarden

Dans un cotisation précédente nous attirons l'attention sur le fait que les conditions générales des entreprises (B2B) doivent faire l'objet d'une mise à jour suite à une nouvelle législation. Les conditions générales restent l'instrument par excellence pour créer un cadre juridique clair pour les transactions commerciales que l'entreprise conclut avec ses clients. Par exemple, des dispositions peuvent être incluses concernant le délai de paiement, les intérêts et indemnités dus en cas de non-respect de l'obligation de paiement, les limitations de responsabilité, les tribunaux compétents en cas de litige, etc.

Tout aussi important que d'avoir des conditions générales à jour et valables est que ces conditions soient également effectivement opposables au cocontractant. Cela suppose que le cocontractant ait été informé des conditions générales avant de conclure le contrat et qu'il les ait également acceptées. Si tel n'est pas le cas, les conditions générales ne pourront être appliquées dans leur intégralité.

Par exemple, il ne suffit pas d'envoyer les conditions générales avec la facture ou avec une confirmation de commande. Dans ces cas, le client n'a pris connaissance des conditions générales qu'après la conclusion du contrat.

Il est préférable que les conditions générales soient signées par le client préalablement à la fourniture des services par la société. Dans de nombreux cas, cependant, cela est difficile à travailler dans la pratique.

Les entreprises qui souhaitent pouvoir faire bon usage de leurs conditions générales feraient donc bien de :

  • de publier les conditions générales dans leur intégralité sur leur site Internet ;
  • envoyer les conditions générales avec les offres ;
  • de se référer au recto de la facture (en gras et dans un encadré) aux conditions générales énoncées au verso.

En outre, les conditions générales doivent être rédigées dans une langue claire et compréhensible pour le client. En pratique, cela signifie que les conditions générales doivent être rédigées dans la langue de correspondance entre l'entreprise et son client. Par exemple, si une entreprise belge a des clients espagnols mais que la langue de travail entre eux est l'anglais, les conditions générales doivent être rédigées en anglais.

Si les conditions générales ne sont pas acceptées par le client avant la conclusion du contrat ou si elles ne sont pas rédigées dans la langue officielle, elles ne seront pas exécutoires.

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez des conseils sur vos conditions générales. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten dispose d'une unité commerciale qui peut vous aider à cet égard. (info@vsadvocaten.be)

fr_BEFR