Can an employer require an employee to be vaccinated against COVID-19?

The COVID-19 vaccination campaign has now started and a large number of employees mainly from the healthcare sector have already been vaccinated. However, it also appears that a small minority of employees refuse to be vaccinated.

Thus, the question arises whether an employer can oblige an employee to be vaccinated against COVID-19?

Although there are voices to make vaccination against the coronavirus mandatory, the current Belgian (welfare) legislation does not currently provide for a vaccination obligation against COVID-19. Therefore, an employer cannot oblige an employee to be vaccinated against the corona virus.

In the interest of the health of the employee and the continuity of the company, it is of course advisable for an employer to make his employees aware and to encourage them to be vaccinated as much as possible. An employer can opt to offer the vaccine to its employees free of charge. The free vaccination is also exempt from taxes and social security contributions.

Can an employee be fired if he refuses to be vaccinated? As mentioned, there is no legal obligation to vaccinate against the COVID-19 virus in Belgium (yet). If an employee refuses to be vaccinated, this cannot constitute a contractual breach of contract. If an employer were to still dismiss an employee who refuses to be vaccinated, he runs the risk that this dismissal will be regarded as manifestly unreasonable (cf. Collective Labor Agreement 109) or even as discriminatory. Consequently, the employer risks having to pay compensation to the employee. Dismissal based on a vaccination refusal is therefore not recommended.

In the context of its well-being policy, an employer will therefore have to provide other prevention measures in the fight against the spread of the COVID-19 virus in the workplace (cf. Generic Guide of the FPS WASO) and ensure that these regulations are followed. complied with. Only if an employee systematically disregarded these obligations could a dismissal be justified.

en_GBEN

Un employeur peut-il exiger qu'un employé se fasse vacciner contre la COVID-19 ?

La campagne de vaccination COVID-19 a maintenant commencé et un grand nombre d'employés principalement du secteur de la santé ont déjà été vaccinés. Cependant, il apparaît également qu'une petite minorité de salariés refuse de se faire vacciner.

Ainsi, la question se pose de savoir si un employeur peut obliger un salarié à se faire vacciner contre le COVID-19 ?

Bien qu'il y ait des voix pour rendre la vaccination contre le coronavirus obligatoire, la législation belge actuelle (sociale) ne prévoit actuellement pas d'obligation de vaccination contre le COVID-19. Par conséquent, un employeur ne peut pas obliger un employé à se faire vacciner contre le virus corona.

Dans l'intérêt de la santé du salarié et de la continuité de l'entreprise, il est bien entendu conseillé à un employeur de sensibiliser ses salariés et de les inciter à se faire vacciner autant que possible. Un employeur peut choisir d'offrir gratuitement le vaccin à ses employés. La vaccination gratuite est également exonérée d'impôts et de cotisations sociales.

Un salarié peut-il être licencié s'il refuse de se faire vacciner ? Comme mentionné, il n'y a pas (encore) d'obligation légale de se faire vacciner contre le virus COVID-19 en Belgique. Si un employé refuse de se faire vacciner, cela ne peut constituer une rupture contractuelle de contrat. Si un employeur devait encore licencier un salarié qui refuse de se faire vacciner, il court le risque que ce licenciement soit considéré comme manifestement déraisonnable (cf. CCT 109) voire discriminatoire. Par conséquent, l'employeur risque de devoir verser une indemnité au salarié. Le licenciement sur la base d'un refus de vaccination n'est donc pas recommandé.

Dans le cadre de sa politique de bien-être, un employeur devra donc prévoir d'autres mesures de prévention dans la lutte contre la propagation du virus COVID-19 sur le lieu de travail (cf. Guide Générique du SPF WASO) et s'assurer que ces réglementations sont respectées. Ce n'est qu'en cas de non-respect systématique de ces obligations par un salarié qu'un licenciement peut être justifié.

fr_BEFR