Is it possible to collect account information with a view to a bank repossession?

Recently, the law offers creditors the possibility to collect information about the banks where their debtors have an account (Article 1447/1 of the Judicial Code, introduced by the Law of 18 June 2018). This is particularly useful for those who want to carry out a seizure on bank accounts. However, for privacy reasons, the conditions are relatively strict.

Creditors who want to take advantage of this opportunity will have to exercise some patience. The entry into force of this new legal provision has been postponed. For the time being, the deadline was set at June 30, 2020.

Master Cedric Haspeslagh recently wrote a contribution in the Rechtskundig Weekblad (RW 2019-20, ep. 12, 442) on the Kafkaian foregoing around the date of entry into force. Below is the text of that contribution.

For questions about this, please contact Van Steenbrugge Advocaten (info@vsadvocaten.be). We have a corporate law department with experience in attachment and recovery law.

You can subscribe to the newsletter of the office if you want to stay informed about this problem and about other developments in corporate, sports and criminal law.

The European Bank garnishment or EAPO Regulation (EU No. 655/2014) contains an important innovation that allows creditors to verify in a cross-border context which bank accounts a debtor owns. For privacy reasons, the conditions are relatively strict, especially if one does not yet have an enforceable title (Article 14 EAPO Regulation; E. DIRIX, “European bank repossession is coming”, RW 2015-16, ep. 21, 802; K. BROECKX, “The European Bank Repossession Regulation” in P. TAELMAN and B. ALLEMEERSCH (eds.), The civil process reformed again, Antwerp, Intersentia, 2019, 192-198, no. 38-48).
This information option was also introduced for purely Belgian attachment procedures
(Artt. 1447/1 – 1447/2 Ger.W.) Creditors who want to use this option, however, will have to search for the exact entry into force of these articles of law. This search goes through various sources of law and testifies to a less transparent legislative technique, which was acknowledged to a certain extent by the Minister of Justice (Report of the Second Lecture, Parl.St. Kamer 2018-2019, no. 54-3303/11, 32-33).
Initially, the entry into force was planned on January 1, 2019. This was postponed to at the last minute “the date of commissioning of the CAP2” (art. 201 of the law of June 18, 2018, BS 2 July 2018, as amended by art. 192 of the law of December 21, 2018, BS 31 December 2018).
An amendment clarifies what this means. Within the National Bank of Belgium (hereinafter: “NBB”) consists of a central contact point for accounts and financial contracts (hereinafter: “CAP1”). The intended account information can be requested via this system, which can be supplemented if necessary by a direct query of the bank(s) concerned. This information can only be requested by the Management Committee of the National Chamber of Bailiffs, at the request of the attachment judge (art. 555/1, §1, 25° and §2 Judiciary).
However, the CAP1 is not automated and somewhat cumbersome. The data is only updated once a year and requests for information are made in writing. The NBB is currently working on an automated and permanently updated version that will contain real-time information (CAP2). This will make it possible to provide account information quickly. Pending the new system, and in order to avoid being overwhelmed by the CAP1 and the Belgian banks, its entry into force was linked to the commissioning of the CAP2 (Amendment No 64 (S. BECQ), Parl.St. Kamer 2018-2019). , no. 54-3303/2).
The question remains when the CAP2 will go into production. The aforementioned sources do not clarify this. Neither does the NBB's website. The answer can be found in the report to the King in a Royal Decree of 23 June 2019 (in implementation of Article 322, § 3, first paragraph of the ITC 1992, Belgian Official Gazette 5 July 2019). This shows that the NBB has provisionally selected 30 June 2020 as the date on which the CAP2 will go into production. However, the report warns that it is difficult to determine the exact date. After all, there may be disorders that can delay the start of production, such as “the unexpected unavailability of certain key persons indispensable to the development, conception or programming errors that only come to light during the ultimate testing phase, etc.” For reasons of legal certainty, the Council of State did not consider it a good thing to have a law enter into force on the basis of factual elements of which the persons concerned will not necessarily be aware. In order to meet this requirement, the NBB has undertaken to inform the various centralizing organizations or, failing that, the concerned information rights holders in good time of the precise date on which the CAP2 will go into production.
Barring setbacks, the possibility of obtaining account information may therefore be expected in the relatively short term. The experiences with the long wait for the entry into force of the Central File of Seizure Messages and the Pledge Register do indeed prompt a controlled enthusiasm. For the time being, creditors remain dependent on existing sources of capital (see, for example, E. DIRIX, Seizure in APR, Mechelen, Kluwer, 2018, 105, no. 126).

C. HASPESLAGH, “Can one already submit a request for account information for a bank attachment (art. 1447/1 Judicial Code)? Please be patient, at least until June 30, 2020”, RW 2019-20, ep. 12, 442

en_GBEN

Is het mogelijk om rekeninginformatie in te winnen met het oog op een bankbeslag?

Depuis peu, la loi offre aux créanciers la possibilité de collecter des informations sur les banques où leurs débiteurs ont un compte (article 1447/1 du code judiciaire, introduit par la loi du 18 juin 2018). Ceci est particulièrement utile pour ceux qui souhaitent effectuer une saisie sur des comptes bancaires. Cependant, pour des raisons de confidentialité, les conditions sont relativement strictes.

Les créanciers qui souhaitent profiter de cette opportunité devront faire preuve de patience. L'entrée en vigueur de cette nouvelle disposition légale a été reportée. Pour le moment, la date limite était fixée au 30 juin 2020.

Maître Cedric Haspeslagh a récemment écrit une contribution dans le Rechtskundig Weekblad (RW 2019-20, ep. 12, 442) sur le précédent kafkaïen vers la date d'entrée en vigueur. Ci-dessous le texte de cette contribution.

Pour toute question à ce sujet, veuillez contacter Van Steenbrugge Advocaten (info@vsadvocaten.be). Nous disposons d'un service de droit des sociétés avec une expérience en droit de la saisie et du recouvrement.

Vous pouvez vous inscrire à la newsletter du cabinet si vous souhaitez rester informé de cette problématique et des autres évolutions en droit des sociétés, du sport et pénal.

Le règlement européen sur la saisie-arrêt bancaire ou EAPO (UE n° 655/2014) contient une innovation importante qui permet aux créanciers de vérifier dans un contexte transfrontalier quels comptes bancaires un débiteur possède. Pour des raisons de confidentialité, les conditions sont relativement strictes, surtout si l'on n'a pas encore de titre exécutoire (article 14 Règlement OEAB ; E. DIRIX, « European Bank Repossession is coming », RW 2015-16, ep. 21, 802 ; K. BROECKX, « Le règlement européen sur la reprise de possession bancaire » in P. TAELMAN et B. ALLEMEERSCH (dir.), Le procès civil réformé à nouveau, Anvers, Intersentia, 2019, 192-198, n° 38-48).
Cette option d'information a également été introduite pour les procédures de saisie purement belges
(Artt. 1447/1 – 1447/2 Ger.W.) Les créanciers qui souhaitent faire usage de cette faculté attendent toutefois une recherche pour l'entrée en vigueur exacte de ces articles de loi. Cette recherche passe par diverses sources de droit et témoigne d'une technique législative moins transparente, ce qui a été reconnu dans une certaine mesure par le ministre de la Justice (Compte rendu de la deuxième conférence, Parl.St. Kamer 2018-2019, n° 54-3303 /11, 32-33).
Initialement, l'entrée en vigueur était prévue le 1er janvier 2019. Celle-ci a été repoussée à la dernière minute. « la date de mise en service du CAP2 » (art. 201 de la loi du 18 juin 2018, BS 2 juillet 2018, tel que modifié par l'art. 192 de la loi du 21 décembre 2018, BS 31 décembre 2018).
Un amendement précise ce que cela signifie. Au sein de la Banque nationale de Belgique (ci-après : « NBB » consiste en un point de contact central pour les comptes et les contrats financiers (ci-après : « CAP1 »). Les informations de compte prévues peuvent être demandées via ce système, qui peuvent être complétées si nécessaire par une interrogation directe de la ou des banque(s) concernée(s). Ces informations ne peuvent être demandées que par le Comité de gestion de la Chambre nationale des Huissiers de justice, à la demande du juge des saisies (art. 555/1, §1, 25° et §2 Judiciaire).
Cependant, le CAP1 n'est pas automatisé et quelque peu encombrant. Les données ne sont mises à jour qu'une fois par an et les demandes d'informations sont formulées par écrit. La BNB travaille actuellement sur une version automatisée et mise à jour en permanence qui contiendra des informations en temps réel (CAP2). Cela permettra de fournir rapidement des informations sur le compte. En attendant le nouveau système, et afin d'éviter d'être submergé par le CAP1 et les banques belges, son entrée en vigueur était liée à la mise en service du CAP2 (Amendement n°64 (S. BECQ), Parl.St. Kamer 2018-2019 ). , n° 54-3303/2).
La question demeure quand le CAP2 entrera en production. Les sources susmentionnées ne précisent pas cela. Le site Internet de la BNB non plus. La réponse se trouve dans le rapport au Roi dans un arrêté royal du 23 juin 2019 (en exécution de l'article 322, § 3, premier alinéa du CIR 1992, Moniteur belge du 5 juillet 2019). Cela montre que la BNB a provisoirement retenu le 30 juin 2020 comme date de mise en production du CAP2. Cependant, le rapport avertit qu'il est difficile de déterminer la date exacte. Après tout, il peut y avoir des troubles qui peuvent retarder le démarrage de la production, tels que « l'indisponibilité inattendue de certaines personnes clés indispensables aux erreurs de développement, de conception ou de programmation qui ne se révèlent qu'au cours de la phase ultime de test, etc. Pour des raisons de sécurité juridique, le Conseil d'État n'a pas jugé bon de faire entrer en vigueur une loi sur la base d'éléments factuels dont les personnes concernées n'auront pas nécessairement connaissance. Afin de répondre à cette exigence, la BNB s'est engagée à informer en temps utile les différents organismes centralisateurs ou, à défaut, les titulaires de droits d'information concernés de la date précise à laquelle le CAP2 entrera en production.
Sauf contretemps, la possibilité d'obtenir des informations sur les comptes peut donc être attendue à relativement court terme. Les expériences de la longue attente de l'entrée en vigueur du Fichier central des messages de saisie et du Registre des gages suscitent en effet un enthousiasme maîtrisé. Pour l'heure, les créanciers restent dépendants des sources de capitaux existantes (voir par exemple E. DIRIX, Seizure in APR, Malines, Kluwer, 2018, 105, n° 126).

C. HASPESLAGH, « Peut-on déjà introduire une demande de renseignements sur un compte pour une saisie bancaire (art. 1447/1 Code judiciaire) ? Veuillez patienter, au moins jusqu'au 30 juin 2020 », RW 2019-20, épisode 12, 442

fr_BEFR