Human Rights Unltd. Fried van Hoof Award

Human Rights Unltd. Fried van Hoof Award

“The news of his death drew a dark gray curtain over the sunny Sunday. Perhaps also for the rest of the week, the following months. The mourning will stretch far, become timeless. Professor emeritus, mr. GJH van Hoof is no more. The European flag above the Human Rights Court can certainly be flown at half-mast. Professor van Hoof was undoubtedly one of the most important driving forces behind the realization of the Convention for Fundamental Rights and Freedoms of Man”, writes Walter Van Steenbrugge on 21 May 2014. The death of Professor van Hoof is hard on him. And not only him.

Not much later, the office, together with some of the professor's close friends, decided to open the Human Rights Unltd. – Create Fried van Hoof aWard. The capitalization of the W has everything to do with the name of the professor's widow, Marion Ward. The prize will always go to a person or organization that has made an exceptional contribution to human rights. This can be very broad: from a literary publication or a music composition to setting up a project.

Nominees

On Saturday October 10, the jury decided on the five nominees:

One of these nominees will therefore be the first to receive the Fried van Hoof aWard on 8 December in the Vooruit in Ghent. The award itself is the beautiful sculpture 'Blind and Deaf and Dumb' by artist Marc Leyman.

Fried Van Hoof

To outline Professor van Hoof and the European Convention on Fundamental Rights and Freedoms of Man, we further quote from Walter Van Steenbrugge's In Memoriam. The words sometimes sound horribly topical. The work of Fried van Hoof is certainly not over.

“This Treaty has established and internationalized the basic rights of every citizen after the horrors of World War II. After all, the world war had made it clear that countries were able to annihilate other countries and their citizens by violating their basic rights and randomly exterminating entire groups of people. The improbable barbarity of the Holocaust forced us to work together on an international basis to never allow war again.

The most basic thing to achieve this goal was an enshrinement of inalienable rights in a treaty text that was accepted by all the countries of the Council of Europe as a legal instrument with a higher effect than each member state's own laws. In addition, each State accepted that the Human Rights Court would interpret these treaty texts and that each country would comply with the rulings of this supranational court.

This double principle has had an inestimable impact on prosperity and well-being within Europe, especially in comparison with the other continents where the execution of death sentences, bloody discrimination and other forms of barbarism (think of Guantanamo, among others) is still topical. to be.

It was Van Hoof who, as co-author of the basic manual ("Theory and Practice of the European Convention on Human Rights"), explained the Convention and taught citizens the value of these European regulations, who, as a lawyer, interpreted the European rules of the game in concrete cases. and, as a professor, taught students perhaps the most important lessons in democracy in plain language.

Professor van Hoof also possessed the gift of the word. Both the written and the spoken word, as an effective weapon against oppression, abuse of power and arbitrariness.

Van Hoofs' strength also lay in his appearance. He lived upright, not stooped, and certainly not courtly. He often gave many an eloquent accuser the stutter.

His vision of the European Convention on Human Rights was always based on the basic idea of integral legal protection for everyone, without distinction as to rank, position, race, sex or ideological conviction.

Van Hoof commented on and made concrete the right to life, to a safe family and family life, as a result of which the death penalty disappeared over time in the member states and many intra-family problems were solved in a humane way.”

“The European citizen owes a huge debt to the patrons of this Treaty – of which G. van Hoof was the most prominent in the Low Countries. Often invisible, but all the more pertinent. The protection that citizens enjoy today could never be realized without the strict regulations and interpretation of the Convention on Human Rights. The different Member States would never have realized this, because they are isolated and trapped by their own, often entrenched and short-sighted, positions.”

“G. van Hoof was also a source of inspiration. He underlined the need for a high-quality and courageous legal profession. When you, as a lawyer, showed some trepidation and asked him for advice on whether you could take creative, somewhat rebellious, positions, Van Hoof avoided hearing that question and answered, with a wink to Robert Badinter, with the words “défendre c' est pas aimer”.

The death of helmsman van Hoof will surely lead to a steering wheel break, his supporters paralyze.

Professor van Hoof made the impossible possible in silence.”

Fried van Hoof Foundation

Marion van Hoof-Ward – Prof. dr. em. Pieter Van Dijk – Prof. dr. Dr Barbara Oomen – Prof. dr. Dr. Yves Haeck – Em. Councilor Henri Heimans – Prof. dr. dr. Joachim Meese – mr. Walter Van Steenbrugge

en_GBEN

Human Rights Unltd. Fried van Hoof Award

Human Rights Unltd. Fried van Hoof Award

« La nouvelle de sa mort a tiré un rideau gris foncé sur le dimanche ensoleillé. Peut-être aussi pour le reste de la semaine, les mois suivants. Le deuil s'étirera loin, deviendra intemporel. Professeur émérite, M. GJH van Hoof n'est plus. Le drapeau européen au-dessus de la Cour des droits de l'homme peut certainement être mis en berne. Le professeur van Hoof a sans aucun doute été l'un des moteurs les plus importants de la réalisation de la Convention relative aux droits fondamentaux et aux libertés de l'homme », écrit Walter Van Steenbrugge le 21 mai 2014. La mort du professeur van Hoof est dure pour lui. Et pas seulement lui.

Peu de temps après, le bureau, avec quelques amis proches du professeur, a décidé d'ouvrir Human Rights Unltd. – Créez le prix Fried van Hoof. La majuscule du W a tout à voir avec le nom de la veuve du professeur, Marion Ward. Le prix sera toujours décerné à une personne ou à une organisation qui a apporté une contribution exceptionnelle aux droits de l'homme. Cela peut être très large : d'une publication littéraire ou d'une composition musicale à la mise en place d'un projet.

Nominés

Le samedi 10 octobre, le jury a décidé des cinq nominés :

L'un de ces nominés sera donc le premier à recevoir le Fried van Hoof aWard le 8 décembre au Vooruit de Gand. Le prix lui-même est la magnifique sculpture « Aveugles et sourds-muets » de l'artiste Marc Leyman.

Fried Van Sabot

Pour décrire le professeur van Hoof et la Convention européenne des droits fondamentaux et des libertés de l'homme, nous citons en outre In Memoriam de Walter Van Steenbrugge. Les mots sonnent parfois horriblement d'actualité. L'œuvre de Fried van Hoof n'est certainement pas terminée.

« Ce traité a établi et internationalisé les droits fondamentaux de chaque citoyen après les horreurs de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Après tout, la guerre mondiale avait clairement montré que les pays étaient capables d'anéantir d'autres pays et leurs citoyens en violant leurs droits fondamentaux et en exterminant au hasard des groupes entiers de personnes. L'improbable barbarie de l'Holocauste nous a obligés à travailler ensemble sur une base internationale pour ne plus jamais permettre la guerre.

La chose la plus fondamentale pour atteindre cet objectif était une inscription des droits inaliénables dans un texte de traité qui a été accepté par tous les pays du Conseil de l'Europe comme un instrument juridique ayant un effet supérieur à celui des propres lois de chaque État membre. En outre, chaque Etat a accepté que la Cour des Droits de l'Homme interprète ces textes conventionnels et que chaque pays se conforme aux arrêts de cette juridiction supranationale.

Ce double principe a eu un impact inestimable sur la prospérité et le bien-être au sein de l'Europe, surtout en comparaison avec les autres continents où l'exécution des condamnations à mort, les discriminations sanglantes et autres formes de barbarie (pensez à Guantanamo, entre autres) est toujours d'actualité. être.

C'est Van Hoof qui, en tant que co-auteur du manuel de base (« Théorie et pratique de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme »), a expliqué la Convention et enseigné aux citoyens la valeur de ces réglementations européennes, qui, en tant que juriste, ont interprété les règles du jeu européennes dans des cas concrets.

Le professeur van Hoof possédait également le don de la parole. Tant l'écrit que la parole, comme une arme efficace contre l'oppression, l'abus de pouvoir et l'arbitraire.

La force de Van Hoofs résidait également dans son apparence. Il vivait debout, pas voûté et certainement pas courtois. Il a souvent donné le bégaiement à beaucoup d'accusateurs éloquents.

Sa vision de la Convention européenne des droits de l'homme a toujours été fondée sur l'idée de base d'une protection juridique intégrale pour chacun, sans distinction de rang, de position, de race, de sexe ou de conviction idéologique.

Van Hoof a commenté et concrétisé le droit à la vie, à une vie familiale et familiale sûre, à la suite de laquelle la peine de mort a disparu au fil du temps dans les États membres et de nombreux problèmes intrafamiliaux ont été résolus de manière humaine.

« Le citoyen européen a une dette énorme envers les mécènes de ce traité – dont G. van Hoof était le plus éminent aux Pays-Bas. Souvent invisible, mais d'autant plus pertinent. La protection dont les citoyens jouissent aujourd'hui ne pourrait jamais être réalisée sans les réglementations et l'interprétation strictes de la Convention des droits de l'homme. Les différents États membres ne l'auraient jamais réalisé, car ils sont isolés et piégés par leurs propres positions, souvent enracinées et à courte vue. »

"G. van Hoof a également été une source d'inspiration. Il a souligné la nécessité d'une profession juridique de haute qualité et courageuse. Lorsque vous, en tant qu'avocat, vous avez montré une certaine appréhension et lui avez demandé conseil pour savoir si vous pouviez prendre des positions créatives, quelque peu rebelles, Van Hoof a évité d'entendre cette question et a répondu, avec un clin d'œil à Robert Badinter, par les mots « défendre c' ». est pas aimer ».

La mort du barreur van Hoof entraînera sûrement une casse du volant, ses supporters paralysent.

Le professeur van Hoof a rendu l'impossible possible en silence.

Fondation Fried van Hoof

Marion van Hoof-Ward – Prof. dr. em. Pieter Van Dijk – Prof. dr. Dr Barbara Oomen – Prof. dr. Dr Yves Haeck – Ém. Conseiller Henri Heimans – Prof. dr. Dr Joachim Meese – m. Walter Van Steenbrugge

fr_BEFR