FLEXIBILITY FOR THE GENERAL MEETING REMOTE EVEN AFTER THE CORONACRISIS

In view of the mandatory home work and the required 'social distance', many companies have had difficulties in organizing meetings that would have taken place in a pre-corona era.

Think, for example, of organizing a general meeting of shareholders, whether or not extraordinary. The Companies and Associations Code (CCS) already provided for the possibility of having a general meeting take place remotely by means of an electronic means of communication, but this provided that the company had expressly included this possibility in its articles of association.

During the Corona crisis, it turned out that few companies had included this option in their statutes, so the government came to the rescue.

Temporary flexibility

In the royal decree of 9 April 2020, a temporary provided for relaxation that allowed each company to organize the general meeting remotely, also without statutory authorization.

Temporary became permanent

This temporary relaxation was warmly welcomed by the business world and proved to be particularly useful and efficient in practice. Because of the broad support, the legislator has therefore adopted this temporary rule perpetuated. Consequently, since December 24, 2020 (entry into force of the law of December 20, 2020), it is always possible to hold a general meeting of shareholders remotely, even if the company's articles of association do not expressly provide for this possibility. From now on, this possibility follows directly from the law. This not only applies to private, cooperative and public limited companies, but also to non-profit organizations and non-profit organizations.

Now that the articles of association are no longer decisive, the choice for organizing a general meeting rests with the governing body. However, the amendment to the law does not affect the continued possibility of each shareholder to physically participate in the general meeting.

In addition, the members of the bureau must still be physically present at the general meeting. Since the members of the bureau are responsible for the signing of the minutes and the valid composition of the general meeting, they are prohibited from participating in the general meeting electronically. The same prohibition also applied to the administrative body and the statutory auditor, but this restriction has been lifted by the law of 20 December 2020.

No sophisticated electronics required

It should also be clarified that a remote general meeting does not require any technological feats at all. The now well-known communication platforms such as Teams, Webex, Skype, ... are sufficient to successfully conduct a remote general meeting. As long as the electronic means of communication enables the company to verify the identity of the shareholders and the shareholders in turn 'be able to take direct, simultaneous and uninterrupted knowledge of the discussion during the meeting' as well as being able to exercise their voting rights and ask questions during the deliberation, the remote general meeting will be valid.

Alternative option

Finally, we would like to remind you of an alternative possibility for holding a general meeting remotely. For example, the general meeting can also be held in full in writing if all shareholders agree on the agenda items. Since the law of 20 December 2020, an amendment to the articles of association is the only exception for which the unanimous written decision-making cannot be used.

Decision

The legislator has permanently built in extra flexibility for organizing remote general meetings. For obvious reasons in today's increasingly digitized world, we strongly applaud these implemented legislative changes.

Do you have questions about remote conferencing or is your company facing other legal difficulties? Our team is available for all your questions.

en_GBEN

FLEXIBILITÉ POUR L'ASSEMBLÉE GÉNÉRALE À DISTANCE MÊME APRÈS LA CRISE DU CORONACRE

Compte tenu du travail à domicile obligatoire et de la «distance sociale» requise, de nombreuses entreprises ont eu des difficultés à organiser des réunions qui auraient eu lieu à une époque pré-corona.

Pensez par exemple à organiser une assemblée générale des actionnaires, qu'elle soit extraordinaire ou non. Le Code des sociétés et des associations (CCS) prévoyait déjà la possibilité de convoquer une assemblée générale à distance au moyen d'un moyen de communication électronique, mais celui-ci prévoyait que la société avait expressément prévu cette possibilité dans ses statuts.

Pendant la crise du Corona, il s'est avéré que peu d'entreprises avaient inclus cette option dans leurs statuts, le gouvernement est donc venu à la rescousse.

Flexibilité temporaire

Dans l'arrêté royal du 9 avril 2020, un temporaire prévu un assouplissement qui a permis à chaque entreprise d'organiser l'assemblée générale à distance, également sans autorisation légale.

Le temporaire est devenu permanent

Cette détente temporaire a été chaleureusement accueillie par le monde des affaires et s'est avérée particulièrement utile et efficace dans la pratique. En raison du large soutien, le législateur a donc adopté cette règle temporaire perpétué. En conséquence, depuis le 24 décembre 2020 (entrée en vigueur de la loi du 20 décembre 2020), il est toujours possible de tenir une assemblée générale des actionnaires à distance, même si les statuts de la société ne prévoient pas expressément cette possibilité. Désormais, cette possibilité découle directement de la loi. Cela s'applique non seulement aux sociétés privées, coopératives et anonymes, mais également aux organisations à but non lucratif et aux organisations à but non lucratif.

Maintenant que les statuts ne sont plus déterminants, le choix d'organiser une assemblée générale revient au Conseil d'administration. Toutefois, la modification de la loi n'affecte pas le maintien de la possibilité pour chaque actionnaire de participer physiquement à l'assemblée générale.

En outre, les membres du bureau doivent toujours être physiquement présents à l'assemblée générale. Les membres du bureau étant responsables de la signature des procès-verbaux et de la composition valable de l'assemblée générale, il leur est interdit de participer à l'assemblée générale par voie électronique. La même interdiction s'appliquait également à l'organe administratif et au commissaire aux comptes, mais cette restriction a été levée par la loi du 20 décembre 2020.

Aucune électronique sophistiquée requise

Il convient également de préciser qu'une assemblée générale à distance ne nécessite aucune prouesse technologique. Les plateformes de communication désormais bien connues telles que Teams, Webex, Skype, ... sont suffisantes pour mener à bien une assemblée générale à distance. Tant que les moyens de communication électroniques permettent à la société de vérifier l'identité des actionnaires et des actionnaires à tour de rôle 'être capable de prendre connaissance directe, simultanée et ininterrompue de la discussion pendant la réunion' outre la possibilité d'exercer leur droit de vote et de poser des questions lors de la délibération, l'assemblée générale à distance sera valable.

Option alternative

Enfin, nous souhaitons vous rappeler une possibilité alternative de tenir une assemblée générale à distance. Par exemple, l'assemblée générale peut également se tenir intégralement par écrit si tous les actionnaires sont d'accord sur les points à l'ordre du jour. Depuis la loi du 20 décembre 2020, une modification des statuts est la seule exception pour laquelle le prise de décision écrite à l'unanimité Ne peut pas être utilisé.

Décision

Le législateur a intégré en permanence une flexibilité supplémentaire pour l'organisation des assemblées générales à distance. Pour des raisons évidentes dans le monde de plus en plus numérisé d'aujourd'hui, nous applaudissons vivement ces changements législatifs mis en œuvre.

Vous avez des questions sur la conférence à distance ou votre entreprise fait face à d'autres difficultés juridiques ? Notre équipe est disponible pour toutes vos questions.

fr_BEFR