BANKRUPTCY AND DIRECTOR'S LIABILITY (PART 1): CAN AN ALREADY ISSUE PROVIDE REMEDY?

As a director you bear many responsibilities. You may be held liable if you make a mistake in the performance of these responsibilities. This is done both by the company itself and by third parties. This is the so-called directors' liability. But what in case of bankruptcy? Is the driver's liability always in jeopardy? Can a director invoke previously granted discharges with regard to the appointed bankruptcy trustee?

The liability of a director is not automatically jeopardized in the event of bankruptcy of the company. The 'ordinary' grounds for directors' liability remain applicable. This may include:

  • the common managerial error: for example using the company's credit card for private purposes, failing to take out the necessary insurance policies, insufficiently supervising the daily director, etc.
  • the violation of the statutes of the company: for example acting outside the management powers that have been expressly limited by the articles of association,…
  • infringement of the company law: for example non-compliance with the conflict of interest regulation, failure to publish the resignation of a director,…

The general meeting of shareholders exercises control over the directors. When approving the annual accounts, the general meeting of shareholders will in principle vote on the granting of discharge to the directors with regard to the past financial year. By granting discharge, the shareholders indicate that they are of the opinion that the directors performed their duties correctly in the past financial year and that no liability claim will follow from the company. The discharge thus only has effect with regard to the company. Third parties (eg creditors) retain their right to file a claim on the basis of directors' liability.

The question arises as to whether the director can also invoke a discharge that has already been granted in the event of bankruptcy of the company. 

When a company is declared bankrupt, a trustee is appointed. In concrete terms, the question arises whether a discharge that has already been given to the curator can be countered. If this were the case, the trustee in bankruptcy cannot file a claim for directors' liability with regard to the financial year to which the discharge relates.

In order to determine whether the trustee in bankruptcy is bound by a previously granted discharge, the role of the trustee in bankruptcy should be examined in more detail. The bankruptcy trustee does not only represent the company, but also has the task, among other things, to realize the assets of the bankrupt company (the “bankruptcy estate”), in order to pay the creditors and to divide any surplus between the shareholders. When the trustee acts on behalf of the bankruptcy estate, he exercises the common rights of the creditors.

Around the objectivity of a valid discharge, it is therefore important to know whether the trustee is acting on behalf of the company (1) or for the benefit of the bankruptcy estate (2). In the first case, the bankruptcy trustee acts within the framework of internal liability and it can be assumed that a (valid) discharge that has already been granted is also objectionable to the bankruptcy trustee. However, in the second case, the trustee must be regarded as acting for a third party and not for the company. In that case, the trustee in bankruptcy puts forward a claim on behalf of the joint creditors. Consequently, the discharge already granted to the directors by the shareholders is not objectionable to the trustee in this situation (Cass. 18 June 2021, RW 2021-22, ep. 23, 901). 

Despite a valid discharge, the trustee is thus in a position to file a claim for directors' liability insofar as this is for the benefit of the joint creditors of the bankrupt company.

In addition to the ordinary grounds for directors' liability, as explained above, there is also the special bankruptcy liability due to gross negligence. This special ground for liability on the part of directors, and how to avoid it, will be further explained in a later blog (part 2).

Are you concerned that your directors' liability may be jeopardized, whether or not in the context of bankruptcy? Feel free to contact us (maren.deracourt@vsadvocaten.be).

en_GBEN

FAILLITE ET RESPONSABILITÉ DE L'ADMINISTRATEUR (PARTIE 1) : UN DÉJÀ PROBLÈME PEUT-IL Y RÉPARER ?

En tant que directeur, vous assumez de nombreuses responsabilités. Vous pouvez être tenu responsable si vous commettez une erreur dans l'exercice de ces responsabilités. Cela est fait à la fois par l'entreprise elle-même et par des tiers. C'est ce qu'on appelle la responsabilité des administrateurs. Mais qu'en est-il en cas de faillite ? La responsabilité du conducteur est-elle toujours en jeu ? Un administrateur peut-il invoquer des décharges précédemment accordées à l'égard du syndic de faillite nommé ?

Le responsabilité d'un administrateur n'est pas automatiquement compromis en cas de faillite de l'entreprise. Les motifs « ordinaires » de responsabilité des administrateurs restent applicables. Cela peut inclure :

  • la erreur managériale courante: par exemple utiliser la carte de crédit de l'entreprise à des fins privées, ne pas avoir souscrit les assurances nécessaires, encadrer insuffisamment le directeur au quotidien, etc.
  • la violation des statuts de la société : par exemple agir en dehors des pouvoirs de gestion expressément limités par les statuts,…
  • infraction du loi d'entreprise: par exemple non-respect de la réglementation sur les conflits d'intérêts, non-publication de la démission d'un administrateur,…

L'assemblée générale des actionnaires exerce le contrôle sur les administrateurs. Lors de l'approbation des comptes annuels, l'assemblée générale des actionnaires se prononcera en principe sur l'octroi de décharge aux administrateurs au titre de l'exercice écoulé. En donnant décharge, les actionnaires indiquent qu'ils sont d'avis que les administrateurs ont exercé correctement leur mandat au cours de l'exercice écoulé et qu'aucune action en responsabilité ne s'ensuivra contre la société. La décharge n'a donc d'effet qu'à l'égard de l'entreprise. Les tiers (par exemple les créanciers) conservent leur droit de déposer une réclamation sur la base de la responsabilité des administrateurs.

La question se pose de savoir si le dirigeant peut également invoquer une décharge déjà accordée en cas de faillite de l'entreprise. 

Lorsqu'une entreprise est déclarée en faillite, un syndic est nommé. Concrètement, la question se pose de savoir si une décharge déjà donnée au conservateur peut être contré. Si tel était le cas, le syndic de faillite ne peut engager une action en responsabilité des administrateurs à l'égard de l'exercice auquel se rapporte la décharge.

Afin de déterminer si le syndic de faillite est lié par une libération préalablement accordée, le rôle du syndic de faillite doit être examiné plus en détail. Le syndic de faillite ne représente pas seulement la société, mais a également pour tâche, entre autres, de réaliser les actifs de la société en faillite (la « masse de la faillite »), afin de payer les créanciers et de répartir l'excédent éventuel entre les actionnaires . Lorsque le syndic agit au nom de la masse de la faillite, il exerce les droits communs des créanciers.

Autour du objectivité d'une décharge valide, il est donc important de savoir si le syndic agit au nom de la société (1) ou au profit de la masse de la faillite (2). Dans le premier cas, le syndic de faillite agit dans le cadre de la responsabilité interne et on peut supposer qu'une décharge (valide) déjà accordée est également répréhensible pour le syndic de faillite. Toutefois, dans le second cas, le syndic doit être considéré comme agissant pour un tiers et non pour la société. Dans ce cas, le syndic de faillite fait valoir une créance au nom des créanciers solidaires. Par conséquent, la décharge déjà accordée aux administrateurs par les actionnaires n'est pas opposable au syndic dans cette situation (Cass. 18 juin 2021, RW 2021-22, ép. 23, 901). 

Malgré une décharge valable, le syndic est donc en mesure d'exercer une action en responsabilité des administrateurs dans la mesure où celle-ci est au profit des créanciers solidaires de la société en faillite.

En plus des motifs ordinaires de responsabilité des administrateurs, comme expliqué ci-dessus, il y a aussi le responsabilité spéciale en cas de faillite en raison d'une négligence grave. Ce motif particulier de responsabilité de la part des administrateurs, et comment l'éviter, sera expliqué plus en détail dans un blog ultérieur (partie 2).

Vous craignez que la responsabilité de vos administrateurs ne soit engagée, que ce soit dans le cadre d'une faillite ou non ? N'hésitez pas à nous contacter (maren.deracourt@vsadvocaten.be).

fr_BEFR