the legislator will ban certain general terms and conditions between companies from 1 December 2020

In principle, parties are free to include the stipulations they want in a contract. This principle has already been curtailed in the past by the legislator who banned certain terms in contracts between businesses and consumers (B2C). From 1 December 2020, the freedom of contract between companies (B2B) will now also be limited.

The legislator introduces three categories of “unlawful” terms.

In the first place, a black list" of 4 stipulations which are absolutely forbidden. It concerns stipulations:

  1. on the basis of which the contracting partner waives any means of redress;
  2. which grant the unilateral right to interpret the other stipulations in the general terms and conditions or agreement;
  3. that provide for an irrevocable commitment of the co-contracting party, while the performance of its own services is subject to a condition, the realization of which depends solely on its own will;
  4. on the basis of which the contracting partner accepts other terms that he was not actually able to take cognizance of before concluding the agreement.

In addition, a gray list” drawn up. This list contains 8 clauses[1] suspected of being unlawful. In other words: these stipulations are prohibited, unless it can be proved that these stipulations are nevertheless acceptable, for example on the basis of concrete circumstances showing that the parties really had the will to include these stipulations in the agreement. This includes stipulations that limit the means of proof that the contracting partner can rely on, that give the right to unilaterally change the terms of the agreement without valid reason, that release the company from its liability for intent or gross negligence, etc.

Finally, the legislator introduced a ban on “apparently unbalanced terms”. It concerns an open standard on the basis of which clauses can be challenged that, for example, provide for "excessively" high damages, which grant the right to dissolve the agreement even in the event of a "slight" breach of contract, etc.

If the court considers a clause to be unlawful, that clause will be declared null and void and will not be taken into account when assessing the dispute.

It is therefore advisable for companies to adjust their general terms and conditions as soon as possible or to have them checked for the possible presence of prohibited or possibly unlawful clauses.

* * *

[1] 8 stipulations:

1) grant the company the right to unilaterally change the price, features or terms of the contract without valid reason;
2) tacitly extend or renew a fixed-term contract, without giving a reasonable notice period;
3) transfer, without consideration, the economic risk to one party if it normally rests with the other undertaking or another party to the contract;
4) improperly exclude or limit the legal rights of one party in the event of total or partial breach of contract or default by the other company of any of its contractual obligations;
5) without prejudice to article 1184 of the Civil Code, the parties commit without giving a reasonable notice period;
6) release the company from its liability for its intent, gross negligence or that of its employees or, except in case of force majeure, for the non-performance of the essential obligations that are the subject of the agreement;
7) limit the means of evidence that the other party can rely on;
8) or in the event of non-performance or delay in the performance of the other party's obligations, fix amounts of damages that are manifestly disproportionate to the harm that may be suffered by the company.

en_GBEN

le législateur interdira certaines conditions générales entre entreprises à compter du 1er décembre 2020

En principe, les parties sont libres d'inclure les stipulations qu'elles souhaitent dans un contrat. Ce principe a déjà été bridé par le passé par le législateur qui a interdit certaines clauses des contrats entre entreprises et consommateurs (B2C). A partir du 1er décembre 2020, la liberté contractuelle entre entreprises (B2B) sera désormais également limitée.

Le législateur introduit trois catégories de termes « illégaux ».

En premier lieu, un "liste noire" de 4 clauses qui sont absolument interdits. Il s'agit de stipulations :

  1. au motif que le cocontractant renonce à tout recours ;
  2. qui accordent le droit unilatéral d'interpréter les autres stipulations des conditions générales ou du contrat ;
  3. qui prévoient un engagement irrévocable du cocontractant, alors que l'exécution de ses propres prestations est soumise à une condition dont la réalisation dépend de sa seule volonté ;
  4. sur la base desquelles le cocontractant accepte d'autres conditions dont il n'a effectivement pas pu prendre connaissance avant la conclusion du contrat.

De plus "liste grise" dressé. Cette liste contient 8 articles[1] soupçonné d'être illégal. En d'autres termes : ces stipulations sont interdites, sauf s'il peut être prouvé que ces stipulations sont néanmoins acceptables, par exemple sur la base de circonstances concrètes démontrant que les parties avaient réellement la volonté d'inclure ces stipulations dans l'accord. Cela inclut les stipulations qui limitent les moyens de preuve sur lesquels le cocontractant peut s'appuyer, qui donnent le droit de modifier unilatéralement les termes de l'accord sans motif valable, qui libèrent l'entreprise de sa responsabilité pour intention ou négligence grave, etc.

Enfin, le législateur a introduit une interdiction de « termes apparemment déséquilibrés ». Il s'agit d'une norme ouverte sur la base de laquelle peuvent être contestées des clauses prévoyant, par exemple, des dommages-intérêts « excessivement » élevés, qui accordent le droit de résilier le contrat même en cas de rupture « légère » du contrat, etc.

Si le tribunal estime qu'une clause est illégale, cette clause sera déclarée nulle et non avenue et ne sera pas prise en compte dans l'appréciation du litige.

Il est donc conseillé aux entreprises d'adapter au plus vite leurs conditions générales ou de les faire contrôler pour la présence éventuelle de clauses interdites ou éventuellement illicites.

* * *

[1] 8 clauses :

1) accorder à la société le droit de modifier unilatéralement le prix, les caractéristiques ou les termes du contrat sans motif valable ;
2) prolonger ou renouveler tacitement un contrat à durée déterminée, sans préavis raisonnable ;
3) transférer, sans contrepartie, le risque économique à une partie s'il incombe normalement à l'autre entreprise ou à une autre partie au contrat ;
4) exclure ou limiter indûment les droits légaux d'une partie en cas de rupture totale ou partielle du contrat ou de manquement de l'autre société à l'une quelconque de ses obligations contractuelles ;
5) sans préjudice de l'article 1184 du Code civil, les parties s'engagent sans préavis raisonnable ;
6) dégager la société de sa responsabilité pour son intention, sa faute lourde ou celle de ses préposés ou, sauf cas de force majeure, pour l'inexécution des obligations essentielles faisant l'objet du contrat ;
7) limiter les moyens de preuve sur lesquels l'autre partie peut s'appuyer ;
8) soit en cas d'inexécution ou de retard dans l'exécution des obligations de l'autre partie, fixer des montants de dommages et intérêts manifestement disproportionnés par rapport au préjudice qui pourrait être subi par la société.

fr_BEFR