THE PLANNED REFORMS WITHIN THE CRIMINAL EXECUTION LANDSCAPE

Through various channels, our Minister of Justice Vincent Van Quickenborne announced his plans to effectively carry out short prison sentences from 1 December 2021. With these plans, Minister Van Quickenborne wants to put an end to the feeling of impunity. But is this hint of impunity justified and what are the future plans?

The answer to the first question must be sought in the law of 17 May 2006 on the external legal position of those convicted of a custodial sentence. This law stipulates that the interpretation of the execution of sentences up to and including three years belongs to the 'penal enforcement judge', and of sentences over three years to the sentence enforcement court. However, the provisions regarding the introduction of the office of the 'sentencing judge' have never entered into force. This legal lacuna means that for the execution of sentences of up to three years, it is necessary to refer to various ministerial circulars, and that decisions regarding the execution of sentences are taken by the prison director or the detention management directorate.

Prison sentences of up to three years

In principle, it can be argued that prison sentences of up to three years are currently not effectively carried out through detention in prison[1]. Provided certain conditions are met, these penalties will be carried out via electronic monitoring, the so-called 'ankle strap'.

Prison sentences of more than three years

In the case of these sentences, the detention management directorate (in the case of an entertainment permit or penitentiary leave), or the sentence enforcement court (in the case of limited detention, electronic surveillance or conditional release) will decide whether to grant any modalities for the execution of the sentence. Conditions are attached to the granting of these punishment execution modalities, as well as a period during which one remains in detention before these modalities can be requested and granted. After having carried out 1/3 of the sentence in detention – 2/3 in the case of legal repetition – a convicted person is eligible for conditional release.

Future plans for sentences of three years or less

On April 17, 2019, another bill was approved to effectively introduce the office of the 'penal enforcement judge'. This would mean that certain sentences under three years would generally no longer be enforced through electronic surveillance. Staff less than 18 months should in principle be effectively executed in prison, but immediately – and prior to presenting themselves to prison – a request can be made to the 'penal enforcement judge' to obtain electronic surveillance or limited detention. If one is sentenced to a prison sentence of more than 18 months, the convicted person can only request early release after having spent 1/3 of this sentence in detention. Six months before that, a request can be made to the 'sentencing judge' to be allowed to carry out the remaining sentence via electronic surveillance or limited detention.

This bill was originally supposed to enter into force on December 1, 2020. In view of the Covid measures, the entry into force was first postponed to April 1, 2021 and then postponed to December 1, 2021.

A previous article already discussed the problem of prison overcrowding in Belgium (see previous article written by mr. Berfin Altinisik). To make his plans workable, Minister Van Quickenborne has promised to build new prisons and says that with the reform of the Criminal Code - which should come into force in 2022 - it will no longer be possible to enter the lowest category of prisons. to impose a custodial sentence.

However, the question arises whether the execution of short prison sentences should be a priority within the judiciary. At least to what extent people will be able to effectively act as this will increase our prison population enormously and Belgium is already one of the worst students in Europe in terms of prison overcrowding. Feed for discussion.


[1] In the case of certain sexual offenses against minors for which an effective sentence of 1-3 years has been imposed, the detention management directorate will, after conducting an investigation by the psychosocial service and following advice from the prison management, judge whether the imposed prison sentence can be carried out via electronic surveillance. A similar system applies to terrorism or violent extremism, in these cases an expert will first be consulted with regard to these issues. During these investigations and counseling, the convict remains in prison.

en_GBEN

LES RÉFORMES ENVISAGÉES DANS LE PAYSAGE DE L'EXÉCUTION PÉNALE

Par divers canaux, notre ministre de la Justice Vincent Van Quickenborne a annoncé son intention d'exécuter efficacement de courtes peines de prison à partir du 1er décembre 2021. Avec ces plans, le ministre Van Quickenborne veut mettre fin au sentiment d'impunité. Mais ce soupçon d'impunité est-il justifié et quels sont les projets futurs ?

La réponse à la première question doit être recherchée dans la loi du 17 mai 2006 relative à la situation juridique externe des condamnés à une peine privative de liberté. Cette loi stipule que l'interprétation de l'exécution des peines jusqu'à trois ans inclus appartient au « juge de l'application des peines », et des peines supérieures à trois ans au tribunal de l'application des peines. Cependant, les dispositions relatives à l'introduction de la fonction de « juge des peines » ne sont jamais entrées en vigueur. Cette lacune juridique fait que pour l'exécution des peines allant jusqu'à trois ans, il faut se référer à diverses circulaires ministérielles, et que les décisions concernant l'exécution des peines sont prises par le directeur de la prison ou la direction de gestion de la détention.

Des peines de prison allant jusqu'à trois ans

En principe, on peut affirmer que les peines de prison allant jusqu'à trois ans ne sont actuellement pas effectivement exécutées par la détention en prison[1]. Sous réserve que certaines conditions soient remplies, ces pénalités seront exécutées via une surveillance électronique, ce que l'on appelle la « sangle de cheville ».

Des peines de prison de plus de trois ans

Dans le cas de ces peines, la direction de gestion de la détention (dans le cas d'une autorisation de spectacle ou d'un congé pénitentiaire), ou le tribunal de l'application des peines (dans le cas d'une détention limitée, d'une surveillance électronique ou d'une libération conditionnelle) décidera d'accorder des modalités pour l'exécution de la peine. Des conditions sont attachées à l'octroi de ces modalités d'exécution des peines, ainsi qu'une période pendant laquelle on reste en détention avant que ces modalités puissent être demandées et accordées. Après avoir exécuté 1/3 de sa peine en détention – 2/3 en cas de récidive légale – une personne condamnée est éligible à la libération conditionnelle.

Projets futurs pour les peines de trois ans ou moins

Le 17 avril 2019, un autre projet de loi a été approuvé pour la mise en place effective de la fonction de « juge de l'exécution pénale ». Cela signifierait que certaines peines de moins de trois ans ne seraient généralement plus exécutées par surveillance électronique. Le personnel de moins de 18 mois devrait en principe être effectivement exécuté en prison, mais immédiatement – et avant de se présenter en prison – une demande peut être adressée au « juge de l'application des peines » pour obtenir une surveillance électronique ou une détention limitée. Si l'on est condamné à une peine d'emprisonnement de plus de 18 mois, le condamné ne peut demander une libération anticipée qu'après avoir passé 1/3 de cette peine en détention. Six mois avant cela, une demande peut être faite au « juge de la peine » pour être autorisé à exécuter la peine restante via la surveillance électronique ou la détention limitée.

Ce projet de loi devait initialement entrer en vigueur le 1er décembre 2020. Compte tenu des mesures Covid, l'entrée en vigueur a d'abord été reportée au 1er avril 2021 puis reportée au 1er décembre 2021.

Un article précédent abordait déjà le problème de la surpopulation carcérale en Belgique (voir article précédent écrit par M. Berfin Altinisik). Pour rendre ses plans réalisables, le secrétaire d'État Van Quickenborne a promis de construire de nouvelles prisons et affirme qu'avec la réforme du Code pénal - qui devrait entrer en vigueur en 2022 - il ne sera plus possible d'entrer dans la catégorie la plus basse des prisons. d'imposer une peine privative de liberté.

Cependant, la question se pose de savoir si l'exécution de courtes peines de prison doit être une priorité au sein de la justice. Au moins dans quelle mesure les gens pourront agir efficacement car cela augmentera énormément notre population carcérale et la Belgique est déjà l'un des pires élèves d'Europe en termes de surpopulation carcérale. Alimenter la discussion.


[1] Dans le cas de certaines infractions sexuelles sur mineurs pour lesquelles une peine effective de 1 à 3 ans a été prononcée, la direction de gestion de la détention jugera, après enquête du service psychosocial et avis de la direction pénitentiaire, si la peine d'emprisonnement prononcée la peine peut être exécutée par surveillance électronique. Un système similaire s'applique au terrorisme ou à l'extrémisme violent, dans ces cas un expert sera d'abord consulté sur ces questions. Au cours de ces enquêtes et conseils, le condamné reste en prison.

fr_BEFR