The criminal court in Ghent convicted the Belgian branch of the Jehovah's Witnesses for inciting hatred and discrimination against their ex-members.

In a groundbreaking and strongly motivated judgment of 16.03.2021, the criminal court in Ghent ruled that the worldwide shunning policy that the Witnesses propagate and have applied with regard to the 'renegades' constitutes a violation of the Anti-discrimination (criminal) law. The Witnesses were sentenced to a fine of €96,000 and provisional damages to 10 civil parties.

By 'shunning' is meant the religious obligation to avoid and completely ignore apostates (ie ex-believers who have left the faith of the Witnesses), under the watchful eye of a sophisticated and strict social control mechanism.

In practice, this means, among other things, that grandparents are denied any contact with their grandchildren, that mother, fathers, sisters or brothers are no longer invited to weddings, that partners live completely side by side under the same roof, ...

This causes social dramas, suicides and post traumatic stress syndromes. It would be cut for less if all the trusting ties built up over the years within the very closed community of the Witnesses (in which one is not allowed to associate with non-Witnesses according to the faith) would suddenly be completely cut.

The judge described this policy as "socially disturbing", and stated that "blatantly" the most fundamental fundamental rights of the excluded ex-believers were violated, causing "deeply human and irreparable damage". The judge found the many witness statements in the criminal file "downright shocking".

According to the judge, the Witnesses not only incite discrimination, but also hatred and even violence.

VSA office assisted 4 civil parties in their fight against the shunning policy. Footage submitted by them, calling on prominent speakers of the Witnesses at a convention with thousands of audience members to “avoid apostates like the plague,” could not be ignored, the court said.

The civil parties are glad that the judge did not listen to the arguments of the Witnesses that their non-profit organization in Kraainem cannot be held responsible for the shunning policy, and that the individual believers would decide in good conscience for themselves which one we should choose. exclude the organization.

The judge followed the argument of the civil parties that the VZW cannot hide behind the fact that the instructions come from the head office in the USA, and that the VZW should be placed under its own responsibility as a co-perpetrator. According to the judge, the teachings propagated in Belgium by the VZW in Kraainem undermine every individual freedom of conscience on the part of the faithful.

The Witnesses' attempt to base their policy on their own religious freedom (Art. 9 ECHR) failed with a clear verdict: religious freedom can be restricted, including to safeguard the rights and freedoms of others. In our constitutional state, the primacy of the law applies. Religious rules are not above the law in our society. .

The bourgeois parties hope with this first victory that it would finally become clear to the Witnesses that the shunning policy is fundamentally contrary to the pluralistic values of our democratic society, and that the way in which it excludes ex-believers from the organization is punishable.

They also hope that the believers will feel empowered by this condemnation to resist the obligation to completely turn their backs on their loved ones. After all, the bourgeois parties are convinced that their own relatives and friends of the past would act differently in good conscience if the shunning policy were not ordered so decisively.

The shunning policy has already been discredited in a large number of countries, but until now the first criminal conviction worldwide has been awaited.

Belgium is therefore putting itself on the map as a guardian of human rights, and hopefully the reasoning in the judgment – which is based on ECtHR case law – can also convince foreign judges to tackle the international problem.

The Witnesses have time to appeal the verdict until 16.04.2021 at the latest.

Let's wait and see.

en_GBEN

Le tribunal correctionnel de Gand a condamné la branche belge des Témoins de Jéhovah pour incitation à la haine et à la discrimination contre leurs ex-membres.

Dans un jugement révolutionnaire et fortement motivé du 16.03.2021, le tribunal pénal de Gand a statué que la politique d'évitement mondiale que les Témoins propagent et ont appliquée à l'égard des « renégats » constitue une violation de la loi anti-discrimination (pénale). Les Témoins ont été condamnés à une amende de 96 000 € et à des dommages-intérêts provisoires à 10 parties civiles.

Par « rejet » on entend l'obligation religieuse d'éviter et d'ignorer complètement les apostats (c'est-à-dire les ex-croyants qui ont quitté la foi des Témoins), sous l'œil vigilant d'un mécanisme de contrôle social sophistiqué et strict.

En pratique, cela signifie, entre autres, que les grands-parents se voient refuser tout contact avec leurs petits-enfants, que mère, pères, sœurs ou frères ne sont plus invités aux mariages, que les partenaires vivent complètement côte à côte sous le même toit, ...

Cela provoque des drames sociaux, des suicides et des syndromes de stress post-traumatique. Elle serait coupée à moindre coût si tous les liens de confiance tissés au fil des années au sein de la communauté très fermée des Témoins (dans laquelle il n'est pas permis de s'associer avec des non-Témoins selon la foi) étaient soudainement complètement coupés.

Le juge a qualifié cette politique de "socialement dérangeante" et a déclaré que "de manière flagrante" les droits fondamentaux les plus fondamentaux des ex-croyants exclus avaient été violés, causant "des dommages profondément humains et irréparables". Le juge a trouvé les nombreuses déclarations de témoins dans le dossier pénal « carrément choquantes ».

Selon le juge, les Témoins incitent non seulement à la discrimination, mais aussi à la haine et même à la violence.

Le bureau de VSA a assisté 4 parties civiles dans leur lutte contre la politique d'évitement. Les images soumises par eux, appelant d'éminents orateurs des Témoins lors d'une convention avec des milliers de spectateurs à "éviter les apostats comme la peste", ne pouvaient être ignorées, a déclaré le tribunal.

Les parties civiles sont heureuses que le juge n'ait pas écouté les arguments des Témoins selon lesquels leur organisation à but non lucratif à Kraainem ne peut être tenue pour responsable de la politique d'évitement, et que les croyants individuels décideraient en toute conscience pour eux-mêmes lequel nous devrions choisir, exclure l'organisation.

Le juge a suivi l'argument des parties civiles selon lequel la VZW ne peut se cacher derrière le fait que les instructions proviennent du siège social aux USA, et que la VZW devrait être placée sous sa propre responsabilité en tant que coauteur. Selon le juge, les enseignements propagés en Belgique par le VZW à Kraainem portent atteinte à toute liberté de conscience individuelle des fidèles.

La tentative des Témoins de fonder leur politique sur leur propre liberté religieuse (art. 9 CEDH) a échoué avec un verdict clair : la liberté religieuse peut être restreinte, y compris pour protéger les droits et libertés d'autrui. Dans notre État de droit, la primauté de la loi s'applique. Les règles religieuses ne sont pas au-dessus des lois dans notre société. .

Les partis bourgeois espèrent avec cette première victoire qu'il deviendrait enfin clair pour les Témoins que la politique d'évitement est fondamentalement contraire aux valeurs pluralistes de notre société démocratique, et que la manière dont elle exclut les ex-croyants de l'organisation est punissable.

Ils espèrent aussi que les croyants se sentiront habilités par cette condamnation à résister à l'obligation de tourner complètement le dos à leurs proches. Après tout, les partis bourgeois sont convaincus que leurs propres parents et amis du passé agiraient différemment en toute bonne conscience si la politique d'évitement n'était pas ordonnée de manière aussi décisive.

La politique d'évitement a déjà été discréditée dans un grand nombre de pays, mais jusqu'à présent la première condamnation pénale mondiale était attendue.

La Belgique se positionne donc sur la carte en tant que gardienne des droits de l'homme et, espérons-le, le raisonnement de l'arrêt - qui se base sur la jurisprudence de la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme - pourra également convaincre les juges étrangers de s'attaquer au problème international.

Les Témoins ont le temps de faire appel du verdict jusqu'au 16 avril 2021 au plus tard.

Attendons voir.

fr_BEFR