KBVB Federal Regulations are illegal.

Title 8 of the Federal Regulations of the Royal Belgian Football Association regulates the activities of football brokers. For example, the KBVB prescribes that brokers can stipulate exclusivity. However, as Walter Van Steenbrugge and Dean Braeckman conclude, both the Flemish decree and the Brussels ordinance that specifically relate to private employment provision prohibit such exclusivity clauses. In addition, players can never be obliged to pay compensation for the early termination of a brokerage agreement.

Article B8.27 of the Federal Regulations clarifies which elements broker agreements must at least contain in order for them to be opposable to the RBFA. For example, they must state 'whether or not the mediation activity is exclusive'. In view of that provision, football agents, who usually base their brokerage agreements on the Federal Regulations, assume that they may stipulate exclusivity. A clear mention of it in the agreement seems to be the only condition. Virtually every football brokerage agreement therefore contains such an exclusivity clause that prohibits the player in question from using another broker during the term of the agreement. If the player nevertheless uses another agent, he will be liable to pay compensation which is generally equal to the amount that the agent would normally receive had he been able to negotiate the employment contract between the club and the player.
However, article B8.30 of the Federal Regulations states that a player can 'cancel' the brokerage agreement at any time. Although that provision does not expressly state this, it can be inferred that brokers are not allowed to claim compensation from players who have terminated the brokerage agreement early. If that were the case, Article B8.30 would after all add nothing to the normal contract law principles, as a result of which the early termination of a fixed-term contract (without justifiable reason) is accompanied by the payment of a severance payment.
It is therefore somewhat surprising to find that players are entitled to terminate their agreement at any time in accordance with the Federal Regulations on the one hand, but on the other hand can be bound by an exclusivity clause.

DECREE AND ORDINANCE
In Flanders, the Decree of 10 December 2010 on private employment mediation applies. That decree applies to football agents and even contains a separate chapter 3/1 with a number of additional conditions that apply specifically to sports agents.
Article 5, 16° of the decree prohibits exclusivity clauses: 'The agency that provides private employment services does not make it a condition that the persons for whom the agency has acted as an intermediary, the agency will have to act in every new mediation.' In addition, Article 5, 20° of the Decree states that a broker is not entitled to compensation if the employee (in this case the player) prematurely stops the broker's intermediation activity.
Furthermore, Article 23, 7° and 8° of the Flemish Decree even make it punishable to demand exclusivity or to claim compensation for early termination of the brokerage agreement. Violations can be punished with administrative fines of 50 to 500 euros.
The prohibition on exclusivity clauses is prescribed even more clearly in Article 6, 10° of the Brussels ordinance of 14 July 20211 on the mixed management of the labor market: 'When carrying out employment activities, the institutions are obliged not to subject these activities to an exclusivity clause. '
The Walloon Decree of 3 April 2009 on the registration and recognition of employment agencies, on the other hand, does not contain any similar provisions.
Importantly, this legislation is of public order or (according to some authors) of mandatory law. That the provisions protect the public interest is apparent not only from the criminal sanctions provided for, but also from the explanatory memorandum to the Flemish decree: 'The draft therefore includes provisions that are intended to protect employees and job seekers against possible abuse. (…) Since these provisions also form the legal basis of the socio-economic fabric of our society and therefore of our labor market, they can be regarded as belonging to Belgian public order.'
As a result, the contracting parties cannot deviate from the provisions that prohibit exclusivity. It is also not possible to deviate from this in the Federal Regulations of the KBVB. After all, in view of the mandatory nature of the provisions in the decree and the ordinance, exclusivity clauses are absolutely or at least relatively null and void.


VOID
Players can conclude several parallel broker agreements for the territory of Flanders and Brussels. In addition, they can also terminate brokerage agreements, insofar as they relate to the mediation in Flanders and Brussels, at any time without owing any compensation to the broker. Brokers can therefore conclude a brokerage agreement with a player if they think they can mediate an employment contract for them with a club located in Flanders or Brussels, even if that player has already concluded a brokerage agreement with another broker. After all, any exclusivity clause contained therein is null and void.
In our view, this has the positive consequence that players, who often enter into a brokerage agreement at a very young age, cannot be hindered and guided in their career by the bad or good relationships of their brokers with certain clubs.
Since the Federal Regulations contain a different (illegal) arrangement that seems to allow exclusivity clauses, players often appear to respect the exclusivity included in the brokerage agreement in practice. In our view, an amendment to the Federal Regulations is necessary in order to remove this legal uncertainty and to actually obtain the protection envisaged by the legislator. Only a clear provision in the Federal Regulations prohibiting exclusivity clauses will be able to put a stop to this practice.

en_GBEN

Les règlements fédéraux du KBVB sont illégaux.

Le titre 8 du Règlement fédéral de l'Association royale belge de football réglemente les activités des courtiers en football. Par exemple, la KBVB prescrit que les courtiers peuvent stipuler l'exclusivité. Cependant, comme le concluent Walter Van Steenbrugge et Dean Braeckman, tant le décret flamand que l'ordonnance bruxelloise qui concernent spécifiquement l'emploi privé interdisent de telles clauses d'exclusivité. De plus, les joueurs ne peuvent jamais être obligés de payer une indemnité pour la résiliation anticipée d'un contrat de courtage.

L'article B8.27 du Règlement fédéral précise quels éléments les contrats de courtage doivent au moins contenir pour qu'ils soient opposables à la RBFA. Par exemple, ils doivent indiquer « si l'activité de médiation est exclusive ou non ». Au vu de cette disposition, les agents de football, qui fondent généralement leurs contrats de courtage sur le Règlement fédéral, partent du principe qu'ils peuvent stipuler l'exclusivité. Une mention claire dans l'accord semble être la seule condition. Presque tous les contrats de courtage de football contiennent donc une telle clause d'exclusivité qui interdit au joueur en question de faire appel à un autre courtier pendant la durée du contrat. Si le joueur fait néanmoins appel à un autre agent, il sera redevable d'une indemnité qui est généralement égale au montant que l'agent aurait normalement perçu s'il avait pu négocier le contrat de travail entre le club et le joueur.
Cependant, l'article B8.30 du Règlement fédéral stipule qu'un joueur peut « annuler » le contrat de courtage à tout moment. Bien que cette disposition ne le précise pas expressément, on peut en déduire que les courtiers ne sont pas autorisés à réclamer une indemnité aux joueurs qui ont résilié le contrat de courtage de manière anticipée. Si tel était le cas, l'article B8.30 n'ajouterait finalement rien aux principes normaux du droit des contrats, en vertu desquels la résiliation anticipée d'un contrat à durée déterminée (sans motif valable) s'accompagne du versement d'une indemnité de départ. .
Il est donc quelque peu surprenant de constater que les joueurs ont le droit de résilier leur contrat à tout moment conformément à la réglementation fédérale d'une part, mais d'autre part peuvent être liés par une clause d'exclusivité.

DECRET ET ORDONNANCE
En Flandre, l'arrêté du 10 décembre 2010 relatif à la médiation privée en matière d'emploi s'applique. Ce décret s'applique aux agents de football et contient même un chapitre 3/1 distinct avec un certain nombre de conditions supplémentaires qui s'appliquent spécifiquement aux agents sportifs.
L'article 5, 16° du décret interdit les clauses d'exclusivité : « L'agence qui fournit des services privés d'emploi n'impose pas aux personnes pour lesquelles l'agence a agi comme intermédiaire, l'agence d'agir à chaque nouvelle médiation. ' De plus, l'article 5, 20° du décret précise qu'un courtier n'a pas droit à une indemnité si le salarié (en l'occurrence le joueur) arrête prématurément l'activité d'intermédiation du courtier.
Par ailleurs, les articles 23, 7° et 8° du décret flamand rendent même punissable l'exigence d'exclusivité ou la revendication d'une indemnité pour rupture anticipée du contrat de courtage. Les infractions peuvent être sanctionnées par des amendes administratives de 50 à 500 euros.
L'interdiction des clauses d'exclusivité est prescrite encore plus clairement à l'article 6, 10° de l'ordonnance bruxelloise du 14 juillet 20211 relative à la gestion mixte du marché du travail : « Lorsqu'elles exercent des activités de travail, les institutions sont tenues de ne pas soumettre ces activités à une clause d'exclusivité.
L'arrêté wallon du 3 avril 2009 relatif à l'enregistrement et à la reconnaissance des agences pour l'emploi ne contient en revanche aucune disposition similaire.
Il est important de noter que cette législation est d'ordre public ou (selon certains auteurs) de loi impérative. Que les dispositions protègent l'intérêt public ressort non seulement des sanctions pénales prévues, mais aussi de l'exposé des motifs du décret flamand : « Le projet comprend donc des dispositions qui visent à protéger les salariés et les demandeurs d'emploi contre d'éventuels abus. (…) Ces dispositions constituant également la base juridique du tissu socio-économique de notre société et donc de notre marché du travail, elles peuvent être considérées comme relevant de l'ordre public belge.
Par conséquent, les parties contractantes ne peuvent déroger aux dispositions interdisant l'exclusivité. Il n'est pas non plus possible de s'en écarter dans le règlement fédéral de la KBVB. En effet, compte tenu du caractère impératif des dispositions du décret et de l'ordonnance, les clauses d'exclusivité sont de nullité absolue ou du moins relative.


ANNULER
Les joueurs peuvent conclure plusieurs accords de courtiers parallèles pour le territoire de la Flandre et de Bruxelles. En outre, ils peuvent également résilier les contrats de courtage, dans la mesure où ils concernent la médiation en Flandre et à Bruxelles, à tout moment sans devoir aucune indemnité au courtier. Les courtiers peuvent donc conclure un contrat de courtage avec un joueur s'ils pensent pouvoir négocier pour eux un contrat de travail avec un club situé en Flandre ou à Bruxelles, même si ce joueur a déjà conclu un contrat de courtage avec un autre courtier. Après tout, toute clause d'exclusivité qui y est contenue est nulle et non avenue.
Selon nous, cela a pour conséquence positive que les joueurs, qui concluent souvent un contrat de courtage à un très jeune âge, ne peuvent pas être freinés et guidés dans leur carrière par les mauvaises ou bonnes relations de leurs courtiers avec certains clubs.
Étant donné que la réglementation fédérale contient une réglementation différente (illégale) qui semble autoriser des clauses d'exclusivité, les joueurs semblent souvent respecter l'exclusivité incluse dans l'accord de courtage dans la pratique. À notre avis, une modification de la réglementation fédérale est nécessaire afin de lever cette insécurité juridique et d'obtenir effectivement la protection envisagée par le législateur. Seule une disposition claire du Règlement Fédéral interdisant les clauses d'exclusivité pourra mettre un terme à cette pratique.

fr_BEFR