The bankruptcy of the bankrupt is put into perspective. Can a bankrupt have a legal remedy himself?

When a company is declared bankrupt, it loses the authority to manage and dispose of its assets. A trustee is appointed, who alone is authorized to realize that capital and pay the creditors. This has consequences for, among other things, the manner of litigation by a creditor and a bankrupt company.

Creditor position

A company that has a claim against a bankrupt debtor must declare its claim in time in the bankruptcy. The trustee will either accept this claim – and pay it if sufficient money is available – or dispute it. Summons of the bankrupt himself are in principle not necessary to receive payment. Everything goes through the curator.

In certain cases it may still be necessary to summon a bankrupt natural person (an independent entrepreneur or sole proprietorship) to obtain payment. For example, because a creditor has forgotten to declare his claim in time in the bankruptcy. However, the subsequent ruling cannot be used against the trustee. The judgment can be used against the bankrupt itself if two conditions are met. First, the bankrupt may not obtain forgiveness of his debts. Secondly, he must have assets that are not bankrupt, with which he can pay his debts. The first condition requires a timely and reasoned opposition to the remission (Article XX.173, §3 of the Code of Economic Law). The second condition will be fulfilled relatively quickly for bankruptcies that were opened from 1 May 2018. The new income of the bankrupts fall outside the scope of bankruptcy (Article XX.110, §3, second paragraph of the Code of Economic Law).

Bankrupt's position

Due to the bankruptcy, a bankrupt company can no longer freely choose to conduct proceedings. In principle, this decision rests with the trustee. However, there are exceptions. For example, the bankrupt natural person can initiate proceedings himself relating to his new business activity.

The Court of Cassation in a judgment of 11 October 2018 (AR F.15.0055.F) confirmed an additional exception. When a creditor starts or continues proceedings against a bankrupt debtor, instead of against the bankruptcy trustee, the bankrupt has the right to use a legal remedy (such as an appeal) against a judgment that is unfavorable to him. He does not need permission from the curator for this.

This cassation case law guarantees the right of access to the court. The judgment was delivered by Mr. Cedric Haspeslagh discussed in the Rechtskundig Weekblad (RW 2020-21, issue 18, 702-705).

Do not hesitate to contact us if you would like advice on whether or not to litigate against your bankrupt debtor. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten has a corporate cell who can assist you in matters such as bankruptcy law and attachment law.

info@vsadvocaten.be

en_GBEN

Beschikkingsonbevoegdheid van de gefailleerde gerelativeerd. Kan een gefailleerde zelf een rechtsmiddel aanwenden?

Lorsqu'une entreprise est déclarée en faillite, elle perd le pouvoir de gérer et de disposer de ses actifs. Un syndic est nommé, seul habilité à réaliser ce capital et à payer les créanciers. Cela a des conséquences sur, entre autres, le mode de litige par un créancier et une entreprise en faillite.

Position de créancier

Une entreprise qui a une réclamation contre un débiteur en faillite doit déclarer sa réclamation à temps dans la faillite. Le syndic acceptera cette réclamation – et la paiera si suffisamment d'argent est disponible – ou la contestera. L'assignation du failli lui-même n'est en principe pas nécessaire pour recevoir le paiement. Tout passe par le conservateur.

Dans certains cas, il peut encore être nécessaire d'assigner une personne physique en faillite (un entrepreneur indépendant ou une entreprise individuelle) pour obtenir le paiement. Par exemple, parce qu'un créancier a oublié de déclarer sa créance à temps dans la faillite. Cependant, la décision subséquente ne peut être utilisée contre le syndic. Le jugement peut être utilisé contre le failli lui-même si deux conditions sont remplies. Premièrement, le failli ne peut obtenir la remise de ses dettes. Deuxièmement, il doit avoir des actifs au-delà de la faillite, avec lesquels il peut payer ses dettes. La première condition exige une opposition opportune et motivée à la remise (article XX.173, §3 du Code de droit économique) La deuxième condition sera remplie relativement rapidement pour les faillites ouvertes à partir du 1er mai 2018. Les nouveaux revenus de les faillis n'entrent pas dans le champ de la faillite (article XX.110, §3, deuxième alinéa du Code de droit économique).

La position du failli

Du fait de la faillite, une entreprise en faillite ne peut plus librement choisir d'engager une procédure. En principe, cette décision appartient au syndic. Cependant, il existe des exceptions. Par exemple, la personne physique en faillite peut engager elle-même une procédure relative à sa nouvelle activité commerciale.

La Cour de cassation dans un arrêt du 11 octobre 2018 (AR F.15.0055.F) a confirmé une exception supplémentaire. Lorsqu'un créancier entame ou poursuit des poursuites contre un débiteur failli, au lieu de contre le syndic, le failli a le droit d'exercer un recours judiciaire (comme un appel) contre un jugement qui lui est défavorable. Il n'a pas besoin de l'autorisation du conservateur pour cela.

Cette jurisprudence de cassation garantit le droit d'accès au tribunal. Le jugement a été rendu par M. Cedric Haspeslagh discuté dans le Rechtskundig Weekblad (RW 2020-21, numéro 18, 702-705).

N'hésitez pas à nous contacter si vous souhaitez être conseillé pour poursuivre ou non votre débiteur en faillite. Van Steenbrugge Advocaten a un cellule d'entreprise qui peut vous assister dans des domaines tels que le droit de la faillite et le droit des saisies.

info@vsadvocaten.be

fr_BEFR