Promise is promised: will the Belgian court keep the government to its international climate promises?

Six years ago, the non-profit organization Climate Case, an initiative of 11 well-known Flemish people, sued the federal government and the three regions for their (negligent) climate policy. Meanwhile, more than 58,000 other "concerned citizens" joined the cause. The trial on the merits (finally) starts today.

In concrete terms, Climate Case demands that the court oblige the four governments of our country to take the necessary measures to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions by 42 to 48% by 2025 compared to 1990 levels, by 55 to 65% by 2030 and to completely eliminate them by 2050. neutralize. According to the non-profit association, Belgium does not comply with its (legally non-binding) international commitments to combat global warming, despite their scientifically proven urgency. This lack of government action would be a violation of the government's duty of care. A careful government can be expected to effectively protect its citizens against the harmful effects of global warming, according to Climate Case. The (legally binding) fundamental right to life and respect for private and family life of its co-claimants would also be violated by this inadequate climate policy. Previously, the European Court of Human Rights based itself on this latter principle in the environmental case surrounding Heathrow Airport.

With this, the non-profit organization Climate Case is following the Dutch Urgenda foundation. Urgenda made history in 2015 when it was able to convince the court to oblige the Dutch State to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by at least 25% by the end of 2020 compared to 1990. This first on a global level caused quite a stir in political and legal circles. It was assumed that the claim would already fail if such a class action was inadmissible, in which case the public interest is not served. In addition, it was believed that the separation of powers prevented the court from ruling on such a “political” claim.

The Dutch court, strengthened by the International Convention of Aarhus that prescribes access to justice in environmental matters, however, declared the claim admissible and recalled that the purpose of the separation of powers consists in providing checks and balances between the three powers. . On that basis, the judge must protect citizens against a failing government policy. Now that the court established that the Dutch State had not made sufficient efforts to protect its citizens from dangerous global warming, a legislative order was required. It is remarkable that the court did not fall for the fact that the Netherlands had no legally binding obligation to do what Urgenda demanded.

This precedent (as well as the recent ruling in the French climate case) is of course very good news for the Belgian Climate Case, which raises a similar argument and is confronted with the same legal objections. However, it remains to be seen whether the Belgian court is prepared to go as far as its foreign colleagues.

In any case, the climate challenge facing our governments is not in the least historic. However, the Climate Case is not convinced that they (want to) see the urgency of this and asks that they be forced to take far-reaching action through a conviction under the forfeiture of a penalty of 1 million euros per month of delay. Even if the judge grants that demand, it will not be an easy task to achieve the objectives set by Climate Case. So no doubt to be continued.

en_GBEN

Beloofd is beloofd: houdt de Belgische rechter de overheid aan haar internationale klimaatbeloftes?

Il y a six ans, l'asbl Climate Case, une initiative de 11 Flamands connus, a poursuivi le gouvernement fédéral et les trois régions pour leur politique climatique (négligeable). Pendant ce temps, plus de 58 000 autres "citoyens concernés" se sont joints à la cause. Le procès au fond commence (enfin) aujourd'hui.

Concrètement, Climate Case demande au tribunal d'obliger les quatre gouvernements de notre pays à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour réduire nos émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 42 à 48% d'ici 2025 par rapport aux niveaux de 1990, de 55 à 65% d'ici 2030 et de les éliminer complètement. d'ici 2050. neutraliser. Selon l'asbl, la Belgique ne respecte pas ses engagements internationaux (juridiquement non contraignants) de lutte contre le réchauffement climatique, malgré leur urgence scientifiquement prouvée. Cette absence d'action gouvernementale violerait le devoir de diligence du gouvernement. On peut s'attendre à ce qu'un gouvernement prudent protège efficacement ses citoyens contre les effets nocifs du réchauffement climatique, selon Climate Case. Le droit fondamental (juridiquement contraignant) à la vie et au respect de la vie privée et familiale de ses co-demandeurs serait également violé par cette politique climatique inadéquate. Auparavant, la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme s'était fondée sur ce dernier principe dans l'affaire environnementale entourant l'aéroport d'Heathrow.

Avec cela, l'organisation à but non lucratif Climate Case suit la fondation néerlandaise Urgenda. Urgenda est entrée dans l'histoire en 2015 lorsqu'elle a réussi à convaincre le tribunal d'obliger l'État néerlandais à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre d'au moins 25% d'ici fin 2020 par rapport à 1990. Cette première au niveau mondial a fait grand bruit dans les débats politiques et juridiques. cercles. On a supposé que la réclamation échouerait déjà si un tel recours collectif était irrecevable, auquel cas l'intérêt public n'est pas servi. De plus, on pensait que la séparation des pouvoirs empêchait le tribunal de statuer sur une telle réclamation « politique ».

La juridiction néerlandaise, renforcée par la Convention internationale d'Aarhus qui prescrit l'accès à la justice en matière d'environnement, a toutefois déclaré la demande recevable et rappelé que le but de la séparation des pouvoirs consiste à prévoir des freins et contrepoids entre les trois pouvoirs. Sur cette base, le juge doit protéger les citoyens contre une politique gouvernementale défaillante. Maintenant que le tribunal a établi que l'État néerlandais n'avait pas fait suffisamment d'efforts pour protéger ses citoyens contre le réchauffement climatique dangereux, une ordonnance législative s'imposait. Il est remarquable que le tribunal n'ait pas craqué pour le fait que les Pays-Bas n'avaient aucune obligation juridiquement contraignante de faire ce qu'exigeait Urgenda.

Ce précédent (ainsi que le récent jugement dans l'affaire climatique française) est bien sûr une très bonne nouvelle pour l'affaire climatique belge, qui soulève un argument similaire et est confronté aux mêmes objections juridiques. Reste cependant à savoir si la juridiction belge est prête à aller aussi loin que ses confrères étrangers.

En tout cas, le défi climatique auquel sont confrontés nos gouvernements n'a rien d'historique. Cependant, l'Affaire Climat n'est pas convaincue qu'ils (veulent) voir l'urgence de cela et demande qu'ils soient contraints de prendre des mesures de grande envergure par une condamnation sous peine de confiscation d'une astreinte de 1 million d'euros par mois de retard. Même si le juge accorde cette exigence, il ne sera pas facile d'atteindre les objectifs fixés par le Climate Case. Donc sans aucun doute à suivre.

fr_BEFR