Forgot to declare a claim in bankruptcy?

The Court of Cassation rushes to the aid of mortgage creditors and other separatists

The Court of Cassation creates clarity in bankruptcy law. Mortgage creditors do not have to file a claim in order to receive payment from the sale proceeds of the mortgaged property.

In two recent cassation judgments of 16.01.2020 (C.19.0298.N) and 12.03.2020 (C.19.0437.N) settled the discussion on whether or not mortgage creditors and other separatists[1] must file a claim in bankruptcy in order to be eligible for payout.

In a contribution by mr. Cedric Haspeslagh in the Journal for Insolvency and Attachment Law (TIBR) these judgments are discussed.

In principle, separatists are obliged to submit a claim statement in good time in order to be eligible for payments in connection with a bankruptcy (art. XX.155 and XX.165 CEL; Cass. 17 September 2015, C.15.0143.N).

According to a first purport, the lack of declaration leads to a total loss of the (privi) right to payment, both inside and outside the estate (Orb. Gent (Dendermonde dept.) 31 December 2018, TIBR 2019, ep. 2, RS-4). According to a second tenor, a declaration is not necessary in order to receive payment from the proceeds of the preferential collateral (the mortgaged real estate that is located outside the bankruptcy estate, in a sub-estate). According to this view, a declaration is only required to receive payment within the bankruptcy estate for any non-privileged balance of the claim (Ghent 8 April 2019, T.Not. 2019, ep. 9, 784).

The Court of Cassation confirms the latter tenor. In the judgment of 12.03.2020, it was unequivocally ruled that mortgage and secured creditors who did not declare their claim in a timely manner cannot be excluded from the ranking or distribution of the proceeds of the sale of their senior collateral, since in a judicial sale their rights transfer by operation of law on the price pursuant to Article 1326 of the Judicial Code.

In both judgments, the Court of Cassation clarifies that “creditors who fail to declare their claims, … under Article 72, paragraph 1, are ineligible for any distribution from the estate” (own underlining). Separatists who fail to submit a claim declaration on time are therefore not entitled to a claim “any distribution from the estate”, but beyond. In other words, apart from the bankruptcy estate, the lack of declaration for separatists does not have the consequences referred to in art. XX.165 WER.

* * *

[1]Separatists are mortgage, pledge and special secured creditors. In principle, during a situation of concurrence or collective liquidation, such as bankruptcy, they can continue to exercise their rights of recourse and they retain their privileged rights to their 'separate' or collateral separated from the (bankruptcy) estate (mortgaged immovable property, pledged movable property, etc.)

en_GBEN

Aangifte van schuldvordering in faillissement vergeten?

La Cour de cassation se précipite au secours des créanciers hypothécaires et autres séparatistes

La Cour de cassation clarifie le droit des faillites. Les créanciers hypothécaires n'ont pas à déposer de réclamation pour recevoir le paiement du produit de la vente du bien hypothéqué.

Dans deux récents arrêts de cassation du 16.01.2020 (C.19.0298.N) et 12.03.2020 (C.19.0437.N) a réglé la discussion sur la question de savoir si les créanciers hypothécaires et autres séparatistes[1] doivent ou non déposer une demande de mise en faillite afin d'être admissibles au remboursement.

Dans une contribution de M. Cedric Haspeslagh au Journal pour le droit de l'insolvabilité et des saisies (TIBR) ces jugements sont discutés.

En principe, les séparatistes sont tenus de déposer une déclaration de créance en temps utile pour pouvoir prétendre aux paiements dans le cadre d'une faillite (art. XX.155 et XX.165 CEL ; Cass. 17 septembre 2015, C.15.0143.N).

Selon une première prétention, l'absence de déclaration entraîne une perte totale du droit (privi) au paiement, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur de la succession (Orb. Gent (Dép. Dendermonde) 31 décembre 2018, TIBR 2019, ép. 2, RS-4). Selon une deuxième teneur, une déclaration n'est pas nécessaire pour recevoir le paiement du produit de la garantie préférentielle (l'immeuble hypothéqué situé en dehors de la masse de la faillite, dans une sous-parc). Selon ce point de vue, une déclaration n'est requise que pour recevoir le paiement au sein de la masse de la faillite pour tout solde non privilégié de la créance (Gand 8 avril 2019, T.Non. 2019, épisode 9, 784).

La Cour de cassation confirme cette dernière teneur. Dans l'arrêt du 12.03.2020, il a été décidé sans équivoque que les créanciers hypothécaires et les créanciers garantis qui n'ont pas déclaré leur créance dans les délais ne peuvent être exclus du classement ou de la répartition du produit de la vente de leurs sûretés de premier rang, car dans un vente leurs droits transfert de plein droit sur le prix en application de l'article 1326 du code judiciaire.

Dans les deux arrêts, la Cour de cassation précise que « les créanciers qui ne déclarent pas leurs créances, … en vertu de l'article 72, paragraphe 1, ne peuvent prétendre à aucune distribution du domaine" (propre soulignement). Les séparatistes qui ne soumettent pas à temps une déclaration de revendication n'ont donc pas droit à une revendication « toute distribution de la succession », mais au-delà. Autrement dit, en dehors de la masse de la faillite, l'absence de déclaration pour les séparatistes n'a pas les conséquences visées à l'art. XX.165 WER.

* * *

[1]Les séparatistes sont les créanciers hypothécaires, les créanciers gagistes et les créanciers garantis spéciaux. En principe, lors d'une situation de concurrence ou de liquidation collective, telle qu'une faillite, ils peuvent continuer à exercer leurs droits de recours et ils conservent leurs droits privilégiés sur leurs « séparés » ou nantissements séparés de la masse (faillite) (biens immobiliers hypothéqués, biens meubles mis en gage, etc.)

fr_BEFR